Tesla - The Nintendo Switch Overlay Menu

fhwyjbd.png

Hey all.
I'd like to introduce to you, Tesla: My answer to the growing need for proper ingame front ends for sysmodules.


What is this?

  • Tesla consists of three individual parts. nx-ovlloader, the Tesla menu and libtesla.
    • nx-ovlloader is basically nx-hbloader ported to run as a sysmodule. It runs in the background and loads overlay NROs (.ovl files) given to it.
    • Tesla Menu is the equivalent to the hbmenu. It's the initial thing loaded by nx-ovlloader and acts as a hub for you to select all other overlays.
    • libtesla is where it becomes interesting for developers. It's an easy to use library that handles layer creation, UI drawing and all the overlay UX. It makes it very easy to create a new overlay for anything
  • A frontend for sysmodules that before required either a homebrew or a config file to change settings or used sounds or the LED to give the user feedback.

What is this not?

  • A tool that lets you create overlays that are always visible. Overlays can get unloaded way to easily for this.
  • An excuse to port absolutely everything to a overlay. Nobody's going to need a title manager overlay. If you consider making a overlay, keep it simple. You don't have a whole lot of memory to work with.


How do I use this?

First of all, download the latest release of nx-ovlloader and the Tesla Menu from the GitHub Release page and extract it onto your SD card.
After a reboot, hold down L and DPad Down and push on the right joy stick to bring up Tesla at any time. Navigation works as you imagine it.
Similar to normal homebrews, you place your .ovl files in the /switch/.overlays folder on your SD card.


Screenshots

W8yN2M6.jpg

fdfWAXw.jpg


Notice

Make sure to use the latest Atmosphere release when trying this as older versions ( as the one SX OS uses too ) probably won't have enough memory available for this to run. Overlays do take a lot of space so nx-ovlloader reserves 6MB. 2MB for framebuffers and around 4MB for overlay developers to use in their overlays.


GitHub

nx-ovlloader: https://github.com/WerWolv/nx-ovlloader
Tesla Menu: https://github.com/WerWolv/Tesla-Menu


For Developers

libtesla: https://github.com/WerWolv/libtesla
Tesla build template: https://github.com/WerWolv/Tesla-Template


Download

nx-ovlloader: https://github.com/WerWolv/nx-ovlloader/releases/latest
Tesla-Menu: https://github.com/WerWolv/Tesla-Menu/releases/latest
EdiZon Overlay: http://werwolv.net/downloads/EdiZonOverlay.zip ( As a little preview for what this is capable of and what EdiZon 4.0.0 will have even more of soon :) )

Special thank especially to averne without him, this would not have been possible!


Obligatory Donation links

GitHub Sponsors https://github.com/sponsors/WerWolv
PayPal https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=KP7XRJAND9KWU&source=url
Patreon https://www.patreon.com/werwolv



Thanks a lot and have fun using and extending it :)
 
Last edited by WerWolv,

m3anmug

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 25, 2019
Messages
85
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
529
Country
United States
Does anyone know if there is a overlay that lets you connect Bluetooth headphones? Every time I go in standby mode I have to hit the home button and go into settings and reconnect every time. It is really annoying.

It would be awesome to just open the menu and connect my headphones.
 
Last edited by m3anmug,

Idrolitina

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2020
Messages
108
Trophies
0
XP
309
Country
Japan
Hi there! I am running ATMS1.2.4 on 13.0.0, tesla was working flawlessly until 30 minutes ago. I toggled cheats for a game, turn it off normally (B), and it does not appear anymore. It just suddenly stop working.

I reinstalled it (first HB Appstore and then manually) with no luck. I did re-add NX ovl. I also made 2 full reboots every time. No luck.

Anyone incurred in this problem? Can someone help?

Thanks!
 

cobjak

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2019
Messages
132
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
218
Country
France
How to correctly uninstall every tesla/overlay files?
I try to install overlay to know fps on gta san andreas definitive edition but every stats appear except fps... And now I have some little frame drops and gta 3 doesn't launch since tesla instalation
 

Ryft

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2013
Messages
609
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Illinois
XP
907
Country
United States
Having a weird issues recently. If my switch has freshly rebooted and I have not used any cheats from the edizon overlay, it will work fine when activating cheats. If I play with cheats on for awhile and then open the overlay again and adjust any cheats, as soon as I close the overlay and start playing, the whole switch crashes with an error screen and I have to reboot. Very frustrating. Any ideas? I've reinstalled tesla and the overlay files.
 

WabiSabi

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 11, 2021
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
17
Country
Japan
help please, whenever I browse a cheat list of any game using tesla, my switch crashes with error 2168-0002. I have the latest atmos, edizon and tesla. any idea what im doing wrong? thank you!

*I have shortened the cheat list and its pretty short now but still happens
 

dsrules

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2005
Messages
7,347
Trophies
1
XP
4,552
Country
help please, whenever I browse a cheat list of any game using tesla, my switch crashes with error 2168-0002. I have the latest atmos, edizon and tesla. any idea what im doing wrong? thank you!

*I have shortened the cheat list and its pretty short now but still happens
try use edizon se, edizon is kind of outdated
 

tebyw

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 3, 2013
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
55
Country
Gambia, The
I was trying to install tesla on cfw 12.1.0 with the latest Atmosphere, but after trasfering the files needed to make it work, it still doesn't show up when I hold L+Dpad Down+Rjoystick. Maybe I have some files that interfere?

Fixed: i downloaded an overlay which added an useless settings.ini file and after deleting it worked just perfect
I had the same problem and deleting the config file in the tesla folder solved it.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: You'd be a zombie still wouldn't need your banking info