Tesla - The Nintendo Switch Overlay Menu

fhwyjbd.png

Hey all.
I'd like to introduce to you, Tesla: My answer to the growing need for proper ingame front ends for sysmodules.


What is this?

  • Tesla consists of three individual parts. nx-ovlloader, the Tesla menu and libtesla.
    • nx-ovlloader is basically nx-hbloader ported to run as a sysmodule. It runs in the background and loads overlay NROs (.ovl files) given to it.
    • Tesla Menu is the equivalent to the hbmenu. It's the initial thing loaded by nx-ovlloader and acts as a hub for you to select all other overlays.
    • libtesla is where it becomes interesting for developers. It's an easy to use library that handles layer creation, UI drawing and all the overlay UX. It makes it very easy to create a new overlay for anything
  • A frontend for sysmodules that before required either a homebrew or a config file to change settings or used sounds or the LED to give the user feedback.

What is this not?

  • A tool that lets you create overlays that are always visible. Overlays can get unloaded way to easily for this.
  • An excuse to port absolutely everything to a overlay. Nobody's going to need a title manager overlay. If you consider making a overlay, keep it simple. You don't have a whole lot of memory to work with.


How do I use this?

First of all, download the latest release of nx-ovlloader and the Tesla Menu from the GitHub Release page and extract it onto your SD card.
After a reboot, hold down L and DPad Down and push on the right joy stick to bring up Tesla at any time. Navigation works as you imagine it.
Similar to normal homebrews, you place your .ovl files in the /switch/.overlays folder on your SD card.


Screenshots

W8yN2M6.jpg

fdfWAXw.jpg


Notice

Make sure to use the latest Atmosphere release when trying this as older versions ( as the one SX OS uses too ) probably won't have enough memory available for this to run. Overlays do take a lot of space so nx-ovlloader reserves 6MB. 2MB for framebuffers and around 4MB for overlay developers to use in their overlays.


GitHub

nx-ovlloader: https://github.com/WerWolv/nx-ovlloader
Tesla Menu: https://github.com/WerWolv/Tesla-Menu


For Developers

libtesla: https://github.com/WerWolv/libtesla
Tesla build template: https://github.com/WerWolv/Tesla-Template


Download

nx-ovlloader: https://github.com/WerWolv/nx-ovlloader/releases/latest
Tesla-Menu: https://github.com/WerWolv/Tesla-Menu/releases/latest
EdiZon Overlay: http://werwolv.net/downloads/EdiZonOverlay.zip ( As a little preview for what this is capable of and what EdiZon 4.0.0 will have even more of soon :) )

Special thank especially to averne without him, this would not have been possible!


Obligatory Donation links

GitHub Sponsors https://github.com/sponsors/WerWolv
PayPal https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=KP7XRJAND9KWU&source=url
Patreon https://www.patreon.com/werwolv



Thanks a lot and have fun using and extending it :)
 
Last edited by WerWolv,

Spider_Man

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 28, 2015
Messages
3,299
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
3,885
Country
United States
Yes, it works. Don't worry, you can update Atm and FW 13.0.0. They don't affect overlay at all.
i have just updated to atmos 1.1.1 and my tesla isnt working, ive not updated to fw 13 yet as its not required at the moment, but prior to updating atmos tesla was working fine as i used to for cheat overlays.

i have downloaded it again via the hb store rebooted and nothing happens when i boot game.
 

mbushnaq00

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 1, 2021
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
16
Country
United Arab Emirates
i have just updated to atmos 1.1.1 and my tesla isnt working, ive not updated to fw 13 yet as its not required at the moment, but prior to updating atmos tesla was working fine as i used to for cheat overlays.

i have downloaded it again via the hb store rebooted and nothing happens when i boot game.

I have the same issue as well with atmos 1.1.1 and I am also running on fw 13
 

impeeza

¡Kabito!
Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
619
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
843
Country
Colombia
what version of tesla? did you cleanup the atmosphere folder? did you update all your SYSModules? What version of sigpatches do you have? please give us more information to be able to diagnose.
 

Icey

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
432
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
WADE BOGGS CARPET WORLD.
Website
Visit site
XP
406
Country
United States
I deleted all of the old files relevant to atmosphere before I copied over the new ones for 1.2.1 so:
Atmosphere folder
Bootloader folder
Daybreak.nro from the Switch folder
Reboot to payload.nro from the Switch folder

Upgraded firmware to 13.0.0 and everything works but Tesla Menu. Sigpatches are fine, games run fine, it's just Tesla menu doesn't load with L + down + right stick anymore.

Nothing happens.

All of the ovl files and the elf file are still in the .Overlays folder, those weren't touched at all.
 

Tatsuna

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 8, 2020
Messages
52
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
450
Country
United States
It doesn't work on AMS 1.2.1 on my end too.
What I did: deleted the Atmosphere and bootloader folders (the latter was to be replaced because of Hekate on my system), installed fresh Atmosphere, installed the new Switch 13.1.0 update through Daybreak and added sigpatches.

After having all of that done, Tesla Overaly doesn't show up anymore.
I then tried to delete the entirety of the .overlay folder on switch, re-download the latest version of the Overlay through the GitHub page and reinstalled all my previous addons but it still doesn't work.

Has anything changed in Atmosphere that could be breaking Tesla Overlay?
 

rodolfol

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 31, 2021
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
9
Country
United States
On Atmosphere 1.2.2 and 13.1 FW this was the cause for my switch not booting up I formatted and restored SD card 3 times just to figure this was the problem something's going on
 

Mikep90

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 29, 2018
Messages
223
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
1,346
Country
United States
Im trying to get sys-clk to run im keep getting this error sys-clk does not seem to be running, please check that it is correctly installed and enabled. Where would i go to try to get it fix. Im on the latest atmosphere
 

horokeusama

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2011
Messages
368
Trophies
0
Location
Rio de Janeiro
XP
813
Country
Brazil
Im trying to get sys-clk to run im keep getting this error sys-clk does not seem to be running, please check that it is correctly installed and enabled. Where would i go to try to get it fix. Im on the latest atmosphere

I think it's broken on latest firmware/atmosphere, but there seems to be no fix at least for now.

The latest atmosphere broke some other stuff too, like Nintendo Online apps not loading games and some mods installed in the content folder not loading at all (like translations, for example).
 

Balorin

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 16, 2020
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
54
Country
United States
I think it's broken on latest firmware/atmosphere, but there seems to be no fix at least for now.

The latest atmosphere broke some other stuff too, like Nintendo Online apps not loading games and some mods installed in the content folder not loading at all (like translations, for example).
It isn't broken. There's updated Sigpatches that fix whatever the issue was...which suggests it was less Tesla, and more just faulty sigpatches. Once I installed those, it worked just fine. On newest FW/Atmosphere.

It also fixed my Tinfoil issues.
 

horokeusama

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2011
Messages
368
Trophies
0
Location
Rio de Janeiro
XP
813
Country
Brazil
It isn't broken. There's updated Sigpatches that fix whatever the issue was...which suggests it was less Tesla, and more just faulty sigpatches. Once I installed those, it worked just fine. On newest FW/Atmosphere.

It also fixed my Tinfoil issues.
Forget everything I said. I've reinstalled both tesla and sys-clk and they're working fine.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: I hear if you talk too much you have to cut off a finger... What parts do you cut off for other...