Tesla - The Nintendo Switch Overlay Menu

fhwyjbd.png

Hey all.
I'd like to introduce to you, Tesla: My answer to the growing need for proper ingame front ends for sysmodules.


What is this?

  • Tesla consists of three individual parts. nx-ovlloader, the Tesla menu and libtesla.
    • nx-ovlloader is basically nx-hbloader ported to run as a sysmodule. It runs in the background and loads overlay NROs (.ovl files) given to it.
    • Tesla Menu is the equivalent to the hbmenu. It's the initial thing loaded by nx-ovlloader and acts as a hub for you to select all other overlays.
    • libtesla is where it becomes interesting for developers. It's an easy to use library that handles layer creation, UI drawing and all the overlay UX. It makes it very easy to create a new overlay for anything
  • A frontend for sysmodules that before required either a homebrew or a config file to change settings or used sounds or the LED to give the user feedback.

What is this not?

  • A tool that lets you create overlays that are always visible. Overlays can get unloaded way to easily for this.
  • An excuse to port absolutely everything to a overlay. Nobody's going to need a title manager overlay. If you consider making a overlay, keep it simple. You don't have a whole lot of memory to work with.


How do I use this?

First of all, download the latest release of nx-ovlloader and the Tesla Menu from the GitHub Release page and extract it onto your SD card.
After a reboot, hold down L and DPad Down and push on the right joy stick to bring up Tesla at any time. Navigation works as you imagine it.
Similar to normal homebrews, you place your .ovl files in the /switch/.overlays folder on your SD card.


Screenshots

W8yN2M6.jpg

fdfWAXw.jpg


Notice

Make sure to use the latest Atmosphere release when trying this as older versions ( as the one SX OS uses too ) probably won't have enough memory available for this to run. Overlays do take a lot of space so nx-ovlloader reserves 6MB. 2MB for framebuffers and around 4MB for overlay developers to use in their overlays.


GitHub

nx-ovlloader: https://github.com/WerWolv/nx-ovlloader
Tesla Menu: https://github.com/WerWolv/Tesla-Menu


For Developers

libtesla: https://github.com/WerWolv/libtesla
Tesla build template: https://github.com/WerWolv/Tesla-Template


Download

nx-ovlloader: https://github.com/WerWolv/nx-ovlloader/releases/latest
Tesla-Menu: https://github.com/WerWolv/Tesla-Menu/releases/latest
EdiZon Overlay: http://werwolv.net/downloads/EdiZonOverlay.zip ( As a little preview for what this is capable of and what EdiZon 4.0.0 will have even more of soon :) )

Special thank especially to averne without him, this would not have been possible!


Obligatory Donation links

GitHub Sponsors https://github.com/sponsors/WerWolv
PayPal https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=KP7XRJAND9KWU&source=url
Patreon https://www.patreon.com/werwolv



Thanks a lot and have fun using and extending it :)
 
Last edited by WerWolv,

anothertemper

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 12, 2016
Messages
86
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
1,069
Country
FW 10.0.4
AMS 0.13

I updated the latest files from the first page...is this thing working? cuz when I open the menu it says "No cheat loaded", the build of the game (ACNH) is already updated.

The cheat file needs to be named fdc1632048facfbd.txt. Same folder, but different name due to the new version of the game. You'll also need to update your cheats here https://mpql.net/tools/acnh/codes/
 

caUnknown

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 29, 2019
Messages
44
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
294
Country
Canada
Sorry if this has been asked but is anybody else’s cheats for SwSh crash there entire console? Everytime I boot up the game and do the input for Tesla it crashes as soon as I press the cheat option. It doesn’t do this for any other game and I don’t have many cheats in my file.
this was happening to me, what i found that edizon/tesla had cheats turne on, u need to google and find how to turn cheats off when game is loaded, this may solve your problem, it solved mine, if i rememmber right i need to make a change in settings.ini file

Is anyone else experiencing a crash with tesla menu with PMD:RTDX when trying to use cheats? If so, do you have a fix or a work around? My .txt file is pretty small so I know I'm not overloading the menu with too many cheats.
either turn cheats off while loading, or reduce the amount of cheats you have

I have a weird problem with the overlay that makes it very hard to toggle cheats on/off. I have to click A or touch several times for it to work. How can I fix this?
i had same problem, i reduced number of cheats i had in bid.txt file. u can combine cheats that u always use , for example in acnh slot 1x30, slot2x30, slot 3x30, slot 4x50, slot 5x10, they can all be combined under one bracket. i have max 5 cheats in acnh and its working fine, if i push and have more cheats then its start acting and i need to click on cheats couple of times to turn off and on
 
  • Like
Reactions: Queen of SoS

Queen of SoS

Story of Seasons Queen
Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2016
Messages
852
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
1,780
Country
United States
this was happening to me, what i found that edizon/tesla had cheats turne on, u need to google and find how to turn cheats off when game is loaded, this may solve your problem, it solved mine, if i rememmber right i need to make a change in settings.ini file


either turn cheats off while loading, or reduce the amount of cheats you have


i had same problem, i reduced number of cheats i had in bid.txt file. u can combine cheats that u always use , for example in acnh slot 1x30, slot2x30, slot 3x30, slot 4x50, slot 5x10, they can all be combined under one bracket. i have max 5 cheats in acnh and its working fine, if i push and have more cheats then its start acting and i need to click on cheats couple of times to turn off and on
Yea I’ve already done that. The game still crashes. It’s not just the pokemon series games but also the new story of seasons game. And I’ve heard a couple other people having this problem as well with different games. Hopefully it gets fixed but for now I can just boot out of the game and launch edizon to use the cheats.
 

bigdragon2k3

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 16, 2008
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
247
Country
United States
Loving the overlay.

I do have one question is there anyway to increase the width of the overlay to take up more of the screen when it's on?

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
 

rkataoka

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jul 9, 2020
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
23
Country
Brazil
Hi guys, I'm pretty new to the Nintendo Switch hacking scene. I have no prior experience with Switch development, so pardon me if I'm in the wrong place.

I was just looking for a way to translate Japanese characters (Kanji/hiragana/katakana) to roman characters in runtime via OCR while running the Joysound Karaoke App. My parents want to sing their songs in Japanese but they're not able to understand most Kanjis that appear on screen. Wondering if I could use this to do the job...
 

jjjexorcist

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 3, 2019
Messages
74
Trophies
0
XP
525
Country
Thailand
hey guys.
i'm using sxos 3.0.2 and fw 10.0.2
i already installed tesla overlay. when i use the combination button, it's works fine
but when i launch a game (every games that i have, and tinfoil apps) i'm just got a black screen. and i must hard reset and boot again.
and when i deleted the folder in titles folder and in switch folder, the games works normally like before (including tinfoil app)

is there anything to do to fix it? am i missing something?

thanks for helping btw

I have this problem in SXOS 3.03.
I must delete exefs_patch in everywhere(tiltle,sxos)
To work fine again
Anyone has this problem.?
 

Nier

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jul 27, 2020
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
90
Country
United States
Question, when using the overlay, I noticed the WiFi going into an Airplane State, is that a feature of the overlay for protection?
 

bad361

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2018
Messages
1,051
Trophies
0
Location
Moscow
XP
1,668
Country
Russia
Is there any way to spoof the CFW as Atmosphere? I like to keep the SX OS features.
It's not about spoofing, its about lacking certain features that atmosphere has. Ask SX team to implement these features and this will work, in the meantime only using atmos is an option for this and some other stuff. But iirc some people said they had it working on SX OS (but not all features).
 
Last edited by bad361,
General chit-chat
Help Users
    AncientBoi @ AncientBoi: [grabs my official Star Trek Disruptor] come in