Tegra RCM Closing When Injecting

ShawnMacTM

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 13, 2019
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
63
Country
Canada
So, I've side stepped the problem by moving everything I needed to do onto my laptop, but I cant find a single thread anywhere describing my particular problem, so I thought I'd drop it here anyways to see if anyone can help me get to the bottom of it. It seems unique and strange.

Disclaimer: Im pretty literate when it comes to computers and hacking devices etc. So while I wouldnt consider myself a pro/developer level smart, Im definitely not dumb about this sort of stuff.

So, to start with, this computer that is having the issue has worked in the past. I know that doesnt mean much, but I can say that I havent changed anything recently with respects to my Switch stuff on the PC that should be creating this problem.

Firstly, the cord Im using is a known good cord. A fact corroborated by it working on my laptop when working around using this PC.

Secondly, I've made sure the driver for Tegra is installed. I even went and uninstalled it in device manager and then reinstalled it. Further to this, I also repeated this process while also adding a PC reboot in between the deletion and reinstallation of the driver. There was never any issue detecting RCM device either. This was always green when it should be and red when it shouldnt be. No abnormalities there.

Thirdly, the Console is usually in dock mode, so power is not an issue.

What happens is that I put the console into RCM mode so that I could put a new firmware update on the SD card using Tegra Portable 2.6, and I plugged it into my PC using a USB C to A on a USB 3.0 port. The program detected the RCM Device just fine, and I selected the appropriate button in the tools section I believe its called, and tried to push the payload to open the SD card in a window on my PC. As soon as it pushed the payload, the color turned from green to orange, it listed that it had pushed the payload, and then the program closes.

This all happens in a smooth motion so to speak, as there were no hangs or freezes. It all just happens like dominoes and then I started trying to diagnose the problem.

There is no output log either. One is created in the Tegra folder, but it is empty when you open it.

Firstly I tried again cuz I thought I was just an idiot, and same result happened. I then decided to try and just send Fusee to boot up the console and try again later, but the same thing happened again. So rinse and repeat, I try to boot the console again and get the same result.

Now I google, and find a bunch of people complaining of freezing etc, but nothing specifically like my issue. Therefore I start trying to do the solutions that worked for the similar issues none the less, which included reinstalling the driver, rebooting the pc, trying different cords, different ports... you name it, I tried it.

I decided to throw it all onto my laptop and aside from having to download the proper fusee payload (Havent used the laptop for this in forever so my payloads were out of date was all), everything went super smoothly as it should have in the first place.

So anyone have any ideas why this would be happening? If you have any questions Id be happy to answer them!

Thanks for reading and thinking on it!
 

Chaosta

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2020
Messages
460
Trophies
0
XP
503
Country
United States
idk whats going on with tegra but aside from the payload launching issue, you can use hekate's "usb tools" to mount your switchs sd card to pc for file transfers without removing the sd card.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Takokeshi

DKB

S̵̜͎̺̔̊l̷̠̈́͗̾̏͠e̴̲͇͐e̸̹̬̔p̵̧̙̺̦̾̉.̶͚̇̎̄
Member
Joined
May 29, 2015
Messages
2,201
Trophies
1
Location
New York City, Manhattan
XP
4,255
Country
United States
I was having a very similar problem a few days ago. It was my USB ports. My front PC USB-C port wouldn't work, but my monitor USB ports would work. It'd turn green to orange, and hang.
 

ShawnMacTM

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 13, 2019
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
63
Country
Canada
I was having a very similar problem a few days ago. It was my USB ports. My front PC USB-C port wouldn't work, but my monitor USB ports would work. It'd turn green to orange, and hang.
that sounds similar except mine wouldnt hang, it would just close as soon as it went to orange from green.

I did try a different port as well as cord, but I suppose I didnt try all the different ports. Ill try this and see if it changes anything and report back though!

Thanks for the thoughts and insight dude!
 

ShawnMacTM

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 13, 2019
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
63
Country
Canada
idk whats going on with tegra but aside from the payload launching issue, you can use hekate's "usb tools" to mount your switchs sd card to pc for file transfers without removing the sd card.
You mean while the switch is running?

I dont believe I have Hekate anymore since it was seperated from Atmosphere though, although Im a little fuzzy on that part. I seem to remember them splitting somehow and you had to choose one or the other, and I feel that I opted to go the Atmosphere route lol
 

Chaosta

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2020
Messages
460
Trophies
0
XP
503
Country
United States
You mean while the switch is running?

I dont believe I have Hekate anymore since it was seperated from Atmosphere though, although Im a little fuzzy on that part. I seem to remember them splitting somehow and you had to choose one or the other, and I feel that I opted to go the Atmosphere route lol
yea, boot into hekate, go to tools, usb tools then turn it on with switch connected to pc. then switch will pop up on "my computer" just as if you mounted the sd,

can download hekate from here, inject hekate payload, or use fastcfwswitch/deepsea toolbox to boot into hekate from atmosphere.

and nah, hekate is just a bootloader, not a cfw, its always been separate from atmosphere just bc different developers. If you ever saw it together you must of used a repack.
 

ShawnMacTM

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 13, 2019
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
63
Country
Canada
yea, boot into hekate, go to tools, usb tools then turn it on with switch connected to pc. then switch will pop up on "my computer" just as if you mounted the sd,

can download hekate from here, inject hekate payload, or use fastcfwswitch/deepsea toolbox to boot into hekate from atmosphere.

and nah, hekate is just a bootloader, not a cfw, its always been separate from atmosphere just bc different developers. If you ever saw it together you must of used a repack.
I used to use it to boot into atmosphere, so that makes sense. What Im seeing as a split, Im now remembering that it was simply that Hekate couldnt be used to do that anymore. Again, I have a laptop that is able to push all my payloads, so I had no issue completing the task I had originally set out to do.

What Im trying to get to the bottom of now, is why Tegra was simply closing without hanging or freezing, right when I inject a payload *shrug* lol

Thanks for your idea though dude, sorry I didnt catch on at first lmao
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: https://youtu.be/1M4SCvbudCE