talk of a new hackmii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by modshroom128, May 28, 2009.

May 28, 2009

talk of a new hackmii by modshroom128 at 4:49 AM (3,856 Views / 0 Likes) 41 replies

  1. modshroom128
    OP

    Member modshroom128 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,002
    Country:
    United States
    does this mean i can finaly softmod my brand new 4.0 wii :////?
    a quick yes or no will suffice.
     


  2. smash_brew

    Member smash_brew I may or may not have fallen

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    708
    Country:
    United States
    yes. use bannerbomb to run the hackmii installer and your in there like swimwear.
     
  3. modshroom128
    OP

    Member modshroom128 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,002
    Country:
    United States
    i hope that is honest advice and i am not bricking my nintendo. :/
     
  4. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    If by "brand new" you mean LU64 on 4.0, I don't know. But if it's LU64 on 3.4 or any sort of non LU64 it should work just fine.
     
  5. sylux92

    Member sylux92 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    United States
    You may be able to softmod it, but you cannot install Bootmii on boot2.
     
  6. modshroom128
    OP

    Member modshroom128 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,002
    Country:
    United States
    LU65 on 4.0 to be exact.

    worth a shot for science?
    or is this a major bricking risk?
     
  7. smash_brew

    Member smash_brew I may or may not have fallen

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    708
    Country:
    United States
    you won't brick. hbc will install, but sylux is right about bootmii as boot 2
     
  8. sylux92

    Member sylux92 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    United States
    I would wait until someone else tries it first.
     
  9. modshroom128
    OP

    Member modshroom128 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,002
    Country:
    United States
    good enough for me.

    first time softmodding a wii so wish me luck...
    have my aad1f private folder and all of the hackmii files on my desktop waiting to be put on the slowly formating FAT sd.

    i am filled with anticipation.
     
  10. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, just give it a shot. TT has made sure this thing won't brick anyone. If it can't install it'll just error out or reset the console.
     
  11. modshroom128
    OP

    Member modshroom128 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,002
    Country:
    United States
    WHY THE FUCK DID IT GIVE ME A BOOT.DOL COULD NOT BE LOCATED ON THE CHANNEL MENU SCREEN
     
  12. smash_brew

    Member smash_brew I may or may not have fallen

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    708
    Country:
    United States
    Where on your sd card is hackmii installer located?
     
  13. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    Did you not rename the installer.elf file for the hackmii installer to boot.dol and put it in your root for bannerbomb?
     
  14. modshroom128
    OP

    Member modshroom128 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,002
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]
    problem officer?
     
  15. smash_brew

    Member smash_brew I may or may not have fallen

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    708
    Country:
    United States
    Just change the name from installer.elf to boot.elf and try it again.
     
  16. modshroom128
    OP

    Member modshroom128 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,002
    Country:
    United States
    OH GOD IT WORKED
     
  17. WW3

    WW3 Newbie

    hey just wanted to give you a good luck! i just completely hacked out my friends wii "actually its the first wii i have haxed" [​IMG] complete with a downgrade [​IMG] took about 1-2 days "had other stuff to do" but like i said good luck!
     
  18. smash_brew

    Member smash_brew I may or may not have fallen

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    708
    Country:
    United States
    Get cios 36 rev 10 and install it from hbc. Then get wiigator's backup loader channel with the 002 fix. Install that with wad manager from hbc and you can start playing you backups. I would also suggest installing preloader .29 for brick protection if your going to be messing around with wads. There are other methods for launching backups but if your going to be burning discs this is the easiest way.
     
  19. vettacossx

    Member vettacossx Wii Theme Team Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,329
    Location:
    Right Behind You! Uh Oh!
    Country:
    Ireland
    hey this thread is gr8 thanks guys! bookmarked!
     
  20. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
     

Share This Page