Tales Of Phantasia Problems

Discussion in 'GBA - Flashing Hardware and Software' started by Unknown Ninja, Mar 19, 2009.

Mar 19, 2009
  1. Unknown Ninja
    OP

Newcomer Unknown Ninja Newbie

Netherlands
    Hi,

I bought a GBA flash card a long time ago called a EZ-Flash 2 Powerstar. I haven't played many games on it but i finished Metroid Fusion and Summon Night Swordcraft Story. I had no problems with those games. I have played a lot of Rayman and Yoshi's Island too and also without problems. I play all these games on my DS.

A few days ago i started playing Tales Of Phantasia. I used the 3.26 EZclient. I noticed in the beginning and in the menu's that my DS makes a popping sound. It's like a large pop. Whenever i enter te menu and leave it makes that sound and in battle it randomly makes this sound. It is really frustrating me because the game isn't really loud so it is very noticeable.

I searched everywhere on the web and i could only find one review on Amazon that sayed that there are pops in the game. They all complain about the distorted voices but not about the pops.

So then i tried a emulator. The popular Virtualboy Advance. I started with 1.7.2. I noticed that whenever i exited a house or place the game slows down really bad. The sound is good. I heard one pop in 10 minutes. Then i tried 1.8 beta 3. The slowdown was gone but the sound keeps deforming and gets distorted all the time and i get periodic pops. Then i tried 1.7.1. The slowdown isn't present in the version and the sound i not as bad as 1.8 beta 3 but i get more pops with this version. When i tried 1.5.1 it worked like a charm. No slowdown, no pops, no distortion, nothing. I don't understand what the problem is with this game. Why does it pop?