Tales of Innocence Translation Patch (psycoblaster

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by psycoblaster, Jan 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. psycoblaster
    OP

    Member psycoblaster Divine

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,132
    Location:
    Seoul.. (in Korea)
    Country:
    Korea, South


  2. deufeufeu

    Member deufeufeu GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    880
    Country:
    Cote d'Ivoire
    it's good for you, but you should seriously stop double posting and posting a new topic each time you have something to say. Just keep only one topic about your translation.
    It will also be better for people to track progress.
     
  3. psycoblaster
    OP

    Member psycoblaster Divine

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,132
    Location:
    Seoul.. (in Korea)
    Country:
    Korea, South
  4. ryukasan

    Newcomer ryukasan Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Stay on this path and u might get very far
     
  5. setya5785

    Member setya5785 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    Indonesia
    any update psycho ??
    i also made my own translation [​IMG]
    just wanna share some screen that maybe it could encourage you more

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    i only made simple translation for menu and sub menu, shops menuan edit submenu, guild, style, maybe some definition on skil/spell and item later on.

    good luck with yours
     
  6. psycoblaster
    OP

    Member psycoblaster Divine

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,132
    Location:
    Seoul.. (in Korea)
    Country:
    Korea, South
    packing up
     
  7. psycoblaster
    OP

    Member psycoblaster Divine

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,132
    Location:
    Seoul.. (in Korea)
    Country:
    Korea, South
    cleaning up
     
  8. setya5785

    Member setya5785 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    Indonesia
    all those other are done now (spel tech sub menu, wepaon custom sub menu, sistem submenu, option menu) [​IMG] but since it's only based on whim, i didn't touch the cooking menu (never actually use cooking at all). this much only to make it easier to play the game [​IMG]

    i have a little japanese knowlegde and basic cread/write :|
    certainly not enough capasity to translate TOI with it [​IMG] i'm so bad at kanji :| (and there's bunch of it in the game script)
    can't help you with it, sorry.

    btw, use no$gba, that screen capture above, i use no$gba 2.6a. you can get full speed on TOI with it, saving in game progress also work, so make it easier to test your hack (rather than palying it from the start and intro with ashura and hypnos TT_TT lol already spent more than 16 hours in game now)

    you wanna translate the game script ?
    wow, that;s a lot of text [​IMG]
    wish you luck [​IMG]
     
  9. warmijwilfaain

    Member warmijwilfaain War Mage MILF

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,297
    Location:
    Kent. lolol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well done so far psyco, you've seemed to learn a lot [​IMG]
    Hopefully, once I learn to use Hex Editors properly, I can help with this project! [​IMG]
     
  10. psycoblaster
    OP

    Member psycoblaster Divine

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,132
    Location:
    Seoul.. (in Korea)
    Country:
    Korea, South
  11. setya5785

    Member setya5785 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    Indonesia
    nice update [​IMG]
     
  12. psycoblaster
    OP

    Member psycoblaster Divine

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,132
    Location:
    Seoul.. (in Korea)
    Country:
    Korea, South
    i forgot to do the guild sub menu [​IMG]
    i did the guild menu from the menu but you know i can't open the guild by the point where i just came out of town....

    ack i don't know how to say it !!!
     
  13. psycoblaster
    OP

    Member psycoblaster Divine

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,132
    Location:
    Seoul.. (in Korea)
    Country:
    Korea, South
  14. setya5785

    Member setya5785 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    Indonesia
    lol [​IMG]
    i've played far enough. i can help you out with it (in fatc i'm on my way to patch guild sub menu. i'll post the address offset later [​IMG]

    btw, when are you planning on realeasing a patch ???
    would be great if you were going to release a patch [​IMG]
    since you already gone far in your translation (mine doesn't go as far as yours) i can use the translated rom as my basis to further translate [​IMG]
    it would also for eh purpose of test by other.

    use ninja to create a patch file.

    here's my patch http://www.mediafire.com/?4jbsjt2rtcn use ninja patcher 2 (download http://www.mediafire.com/?ebxmzrlltdj) to apply the patch to a clean dump
    not as far as psycho's but well, quite usefull to start the game [​IMG]

    *still busy with project from my work, and preparing new semester's credit, doesn't have much time updating teh translation
     
  15. psycoblaster
    OP

    Member psycoblaster Divine

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,132
    Location:
    Seoul.. (in Korea)
    Country:
    Korea, South
    ya.. even i'm busy for school- Even though i kick away some of my homework and work on the translation >.<
    when i hear about what you are doing, i don't think mine is more different than yours... even if i worked on it more, i'll be a little slow because as i said, i don't know anything about japanese and when i type japanese in windhex it wont work [​IMG]
    Well right now i'm trying to get the skill description (even though i don't know what it means) and the item descriptions that i didn't finish and then the weapon name and description...
    And finally i'll work on the script.
    After the first 4 lines, i don't know what they mean in japanese so i couldn't finish the options...

    It would be good if you really did help, but because i live in Korea the time will like... overlap?
    Right now here it is 5:00 PM Sunday... and when i go to school i would come back at this time.
     
  16. psycoblaster
    OP

    Member psycoblaster Divine

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,132
    Location:
    Seoul.. (in Korea)
    Country:
    Korea, South
  17. setya5785

    Member setya5785 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    Indonesia
    i have both school and jobs (programmer and web designer) on local software house [​IMG]
    i'm in indonesia, our time difference are only a few hours i guess

    i wouldn't mind helping [​IMG] on my spare time, that maybe as you said, it might overlap with your spare time :|
    beside i'm more of a spantanious guy on offside project, rarely work on schedule

    btw, our translation already about the same stage i guess [​IMG]
    i release a new patch

    and oh yea, i use ninja because IPS patch can't address change in if the offset pass the 16MB mark, i got a warning when i was trying to make an ips patch, that's why i pick ninja (my other alternatif is xdelta)
    Ninja kan also work both way, patch a file or reverse the patch if you apply the patch again [​IMG]
    more info on ninja : http://ninja.cinnamonpirate.com/

    for tech/spell it's better to translate the name only, or maybe what you meant is style skill ???
    if that's what you mean, i can post the description of the style skill later

    btw, i just release a new patch (3 feb 2008) http://www.mediafire.com/?6dytj4neyym

    Translation log :

    #TOI20080203
    -Main menu
    -Stats name
    -Style name
    -Library sub menu
    -System sub menu
    -Weapon Shop menu
    -Weapon customize menu
    -Item shop menu
    -Guild menu
    -Inn menu
    -Options
    -Options info

    moreinfo and screenshot at http://setya5785.wordpress.com/2008/02/03/...n-hack-release/
     
  18. mike10003

    Newcomer mike10003 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    Just wondering, can you use a previous JP sav file for the newly patched rom? I thought I had patched the rom but when I put my sav file with it, the game menus were still all in Japanese.
     
  19. setya5785

    Member setya5785 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    Indonesia
    yes, you can use the previous save file.

    are you sure you patch using a clean dump (rom) ??
    don't use teh newest patch with a patched rom

    and by the way, don't patch twice on a patched rom, since ninja patcher can do patching and restoring a file (restore if you apply a patch 2nd time)
     
  20. psycoblaster
    OP

    Member psycoblaster Divine

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,132
    Location:
    Seoul.. (in Korea)
    Country:
    Korea, South
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page