ROM Hack RELEASE Taiko song inserter

  • Thread starter EmEE
  • Start date
  • Views 56,290
  • Replies 120
  • Likes 25

stereosi

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 1, 2012
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
71
Country
I've also been playing around and managed to get the Wii 4&5 songs into the game!
With regards to the no song preview issue, if you open your custom NUS3BANK in a hex editor, there are two instances where you can overwrite the songID (assuming you used an existing NUS3BANK song as a template). This fixed the issue for me.

I'll have to have a bash at loading the PS4 songs :)
 

SwigS-27

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
233
Trophies
0
Location
London , UK
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
772
Country
United Kingdom
I've also been playing around and managed to get the Wii 4&5 songs into the game!
With regards to the no song preview issue, if you open your custom NUS3BANK in a hex editor, there are two instances where you can overwrite the songID (assuming you used an existing NUS3BANK song as a template). This fixed the issue for me.

I'll have to have a bash at loading the PS4 songs :)
Oh yeah I'm pretty sure I did that, I grabbed a Wii U song and hex edited it then replaced the file. I possibly have done something wrong? Who knows. Though I will take a stab at porting Vita songs because I need a l l the vocaloid songs
 

stereosi

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 1, 2012
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
71
Country
The only thing I made sure my 'donor' NUS3BANK had a titleID the same length as the one i'm creating. Dunno if that makes any difference? The WII songs are in NUB format which is essentially an earlier version of NUS3BANK, so maybe that's why they worked...
 

SwigS-27

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
233
Trophies
0
Location
London , UK
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
772
Country
United Kingdom
The only thing I made sure my 'donor' NUS3BANK had a titleID the same length as the one i'm creating. Dunno if that makes any difference? The WII songs are in NUB format which is essentially an earlier version of NUS3BANK, so maybe that's why they worked...
Yeah that could be why, looking back at my experience with modding Taiko PS4, the game can be a little picky with that.
Though what tool did you use to replace the audio with the nus3bank? unless it was purely hex editing
 

stereosi

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 1, 2012
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
71
Country
No, I used the same tool you mentioned and then used a hex editor to change the reference after. I'm no expert at this stuff so it was mainly trial & error.
I looked into the 3DS files also but they are NUS3BANKS with a separate file for the preview, so maybe it has something to do with the audio file within the NUS3BANK?
 

SwigS-27

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
233
Trophies
0
Location
London , UK
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
772
Country
United Kingdom
No, I used the same tool you mentioned and then used a hex editor to change the reference after. I'm no expert at this stuff so it was mainly trial & error.
I looked into the 3DS files also but they are NUS3BANKS with a separate file for the preview, so maybe it has something to do with the audio file within the NUS3BANK?
Ah I see. Could you send the nus3bank you made so I can see what I did wrong lol.
That and does yours end?

All I did was change both instances of the song id:
upload_2019-7-13_21-16-4.png

And then simply just inject the sound file
 
Last edited by SwigS-27,

stereosi

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 1, 2012
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
71
Country
Yes my way looks the same but i injected the song first and then changed the reference. What is the file format you're injecting? The WII NUBs use .IDSP (which is same as the nus3bank format)
 

Mambila2001

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 12, 2015
Messages
78
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
347
Country
France
I have the following error with the updated files

Code:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "musicinfo.py", line 438, in <module>
    switch_musicInfo = json.load(musicinfo)
  File "C:\Users\Mambilal\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python37\lib\json\__init__.py", line 293, in load
    return loads(fp.read(),
  File "C:\Users\Mambilal\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python37\lib\gzip.py", line 276, in read
    return self._buffer.read(size)
  File "C:\Users\Mambilal\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python37\lib\gzip.py", line 463, in read
    if not self._read_gzip_header():
  File "C:\Users\Mambilal\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python37\lib\gzip.py", line 411, in _read_gzip_header
    raise OSError('Not a gzipped file (%r)' % magic)
OSError: Not a gzipped file (b'\x91\xb1')
 

stereosi

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 1, 2012
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
71
Country
I have the following error with the updated files

Code:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "musicinfo.py", line 438, in <module>
    switch_musicInfo = json.load(musicinfo)
  File "C:\Users\Mambilal\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python37\lib\json\__init__.py", line 293, in load
    return loads(fp.read(),
  File "C:\Users\Mambilal\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python37\lib\gzip.py", line 276, in read
    return self._buffer.read(size)
  File "C:\Users\Mambilal\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python37\lib\gzip.py", line 463, in read
    if not self._read_gzip_header():
  File "C:\Users\Mambilal\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python37\lib\gzip.py", line 411, in _read_gzip_header
    raise OSError('Not a gzipped file (%r)' % magic)
OSError: Not a gzipped file (b'\x91\xb1')

It only works on / upto update 1.0.3. Bandai actually changed the encoding type of the necessary data files in the updates after that.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mambila2001

Goffrier

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2018
Messages
181
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
408
Country
United States
works on older versions of taiko

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

not sure which versions tho
 

GBADWB

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 12, 2016
Messages
274
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
1,662
Country
United States
devmenu i think has ticket removal to remove your switch from knowing there is an update. the last version the mod is available for is 1.0.3 or something. all i remember is it ended with 3
 

princessvini

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 18, 2019
Messages
41
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
510
Country
France
Last edited by princessvini,
  • Like
Reactions: stereosi
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: If you're selling drugs dm me