System Menu GUI

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by transam81, Jun 3, 2010.

Jun 3, 2010

System Menu GUI by transam81 at 2:41 AM (3,245 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. transam81
    OP

    Member transam81 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Location:
    Central California
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a system menu customization GUI out there? i've been searching with out luck. I'm talking about a system menu wizard, where i can see the system menu screen as i make the changes.
     


  2. gameboy13

    Member gameboy13 Orange and fluffy since 1995.

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    976
    Location:
    The Fur Side.
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know if it has a live preview, but MyMenuify can customize the Wii Menu.
     
  3. transam81
    OP

    Member transam81 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Location:
    Central California
    Country:
    United States
    i have it nope no live preview.
     
  4. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Unfortunately, no such tool exists. [​IMG] If it did, everyone would be using it.

    I want something like this as well. It'd make theming a breeze compared to all the manual editing we do now.
     
  5. transam81
    OP

    Member transam81 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Location:
    Central California
    Country:
    United States
    i know what you mean i dl the beginners pack off wiibrew, i couldn't believe how much there is to change.
    i'm working on a theme that should put the Kingdom Hearts theme off the .mym repo to shame.

    if i had a gui this would be a lot faster
     
  6. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    I've been wanting a theme for James Cameron's Avatar for quite a while...I took a look at that beginner's pack and was STILL confused (and I suck at graphics...)

    Guess I'll stick to helping people fix their wii...95% of my posts are probably in such topics.
     
  7. transam81
    OP

    Member transam81 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Location:
    Central California
    Country:
    United States
    Well it help to know what the original system menu looks like. that way as your changing the pieces found in the beginners pack you can atleast imagine what the end result might be. i say might because like i said i haven't finished with my first attempt at this sooooo, ya.

    you know what would help would be an exploded view pointing out xxxx.tnf is this and this other one is that. so that way i can see which image it is i'm changing, by simply looking at my "Map" like picture.

     
  8. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    IF...IF...dolphin supprts custom menus, then you can use that for a preview before installing it, or just use SNEEK or wanins menu loader.
     
  9. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm fairly sure Dolphin does work. I remember one of the Wii Theme Team (diddy81 I think) mentioning a while back that they used it to test themes. I believe there is an option in ThemeMii to install a theme to a NAND dump, which allows you to install it to the NAND dump you are using for Dolphin and then boot Dolphin and test.
     
  10. transam81
    OP

    Member transam81 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Location:
    Central California
    Country:
    United States
    thanks for the advice you guys i'll give the Dolphin ThemeMii combo a try.
     
  11. diddy81

    Member diddy81 Wii Theme Team

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    710
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yep i use dolphin to test theme but it cant handle a full theme

    you need to make it in smaller parts then put them all together

    thats how we did the Wii OS theme [​IMG]
     
  12. transam81
    OP

    Member transam81 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Location:
    Central California
    Country:
    United States
    WTF i've been at this dolphin themeMii crap half the day.
    i don't know how you all deal with this it's such a drag.
    guess it's because i'm learning which file is what only after i make the change. which i'm doing 1 at a time just to be sure i can tell what nit is i changed.
     
  13. diddy81

    Member diddy81 Wii Theme Team

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    710
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    get one of our themes and bin the beginner's pack it has errors in it
     
  14. transam81
    OP

    Member transam81 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Location:
    Central California
    Country:
    United States
    @diddy81 i have one of those themes. quick question though, is it possible to make a couple of minor changes to it? i talking about like just the background and the plus and minus arrows. you know just tweak it a little.
     
  15. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Of course its possible. Just find the relevant images and edit them to your pleasing.
     
  16. diddy81

    Member diddy81 Wii Theme Team

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    710
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @transam81 yep if you open it and theres a load of folders in there just find what you want to change and do it

    but if its just a load of files like ie: file1, file2, file3
    its abit more complicated as you would need to either unpack the files or add new edits in the ini
     
  17. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    BTW, .mym files are just renamed .zip files, your favourite archiver application (I like 7zip if you need one) should be able to extract it, if it doesn't work, rename it to .zip and try again.
     
  18. transam81
    OP

    Member transam81 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Location:
    Central California
    Country:
    United States
    thank for your input didd81 & SifJar, i found the image list i was looking for by the way. can some one tell me if this is still relevant http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=134404 it was posted back in Feb. of '09, also this http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=134815. it would really help me get an idea of what it is i'm doing, if i had references like these. so i am hoping this info isn't obsolete.

    i have another question how can i update my 4.0 .mym. it gives me the system files are corrupt screen, every time that i reboot after watching netflix. i'm currently on 4.2u. i downloaded an any wii .mym from the repository but when i un zipped it i still couldn't see the images.
    so I'm positive that when i finish making the changes to the 4.0 theme it will still give me the same problem. unless thememii can some how make the update changes for me.
     
  19. diddy81

    Member diddy81 Wii Theme Team

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    710
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    this link is a full break down including 4.x ash files http://fathertom.net/hardwii/?p=375 as for the the method in the second link that's redundant now

    get something easy like the transformer mym unzip it and look how the ini works

    here's a quick run down how it works

    [cont##] this unpacks a ash so mymenu or thememii can add new items
    file=\layout\common\cursor.ash the file to upack
    type=ASH|U8

    [simg##] this converts a png to a tpl and replaces it
    file=\layout\common\cursor_ash_out\arc\timg\defcursor_final64_a.tpl the tpl to replace or add
    source=\cursor\defcursor_final64_a.png the pic file to use as the tpl
    width=64 the size of the new tpl
    height=64 the size of the new tpl

    [sdta##] this will replace a a file in a ash
    file=\layout\common\cursor_ash_out\arc\blyt\P1_Def.brlyt the file that you want to replace or add
    source=\blyt\P1_Def.brlyt the file to replace or add

    be sure that non of the ## numbers duplicate any other in a tag group
    IE:
    [simg10] and another [simg10] in the ini
    [simg10 and [sdta10] are fine
     
  20. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I believe it is easier to create a .mym using ThemeMii, where you can add, for example, a simg, and then browse in the base .app for the image you want to replace, preview it to check it is what you want to replace, then add the file to replace it with, and it automatically does the containers and I think also the size of the image.

    EDIT: Yeah, I just tested this, it is as I said. Incredibly easy. You can find whatever you want to replace and replace it, very simple. Manages image size (from PNG or TPL, your choice) and containers and also source (i.e. you tell it the file on your computer, it'll put that in a folder in the mym and auto-add the source to the ini). Much easier than doing it all manually IMO.
     

Share This Page