System corrupted -full control of Wii but still can't shake it

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Gomi-Enu, Apr 15, 2010.

  1. Gomi-Enu
    OP

    Gomi-Enu Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 24, 2010
    United States
    I have a problem that is slowly driving me mad. I was given a early wii by a coworker as a gift, since she broke it. She never modded it or anything, but it locked up on the 4.2 update and would restart to the 'system file corrupted' message.

    I could get into maintenance mode fine, and everything seemed to work fine. Wii thinks its 4.2U. Formatting memory would hang. I couldn't bannerbomb the mainteance mode but indiana pwned worked fine, got homebrew channel and bootmii installed, made a nand backup, then went through the 4.2 update and softmod guides, figuring that was as clean a slate as I could get.

    After going through the guide here (http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=171901), it would restart to a black screen and hang. From maintenance mode, I could go to homebrew channel and do whatever just fine. I did the modify part of the guide, figure I'll just take it to the virgin 4.2. Nothing. Downgrade and upgrade, no difference. I wonder if I have a bad channel (I did have dups) so I get anytitledeleter and start deleting stuff. The News channel freezes on delete no matter what I try (even the anytitledeleter with the choice of different ISOs, I forget), but I update the news channel just fine tho. Install preloader (maybe the system files are in a bad patch of nand?) but doesn't make any difference.

    I started from scratch, re softmod and update. Back to a working maintenance mode, but the same 'system files corrupted'. so far, a giant, pointless circle. But at least now I can play backups and homebrew.

    Any ideas how I can get the system menu to work again? This was going to be a gift for my nephew, but I feel kinda lame giving him a busted up wii....

    One interesting thing- when going from a 'soft restart' to wii menu (with the wipe of grey boxes) the normal menu would start and then freeze after 2 seconds, usually along with the music freezing.

    Thanks for your collective wisdom!
    -rj
     


  2. DKAngel

    DKAngel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    661
    0
    Jan 5, 2009
    Perth,Australia
    try removing the system menu and reinstalling the wad? also try reinstalling ios70?
     
  3. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Member
    9,127
    532
    Sep 12, 2009
    Canada
    Ontario
    What version of pre/priiloader are u using? This message was a common problem when older versions of pre/priloader were installed without installing a patched system menu IOS (next Q, do u have a patched SM IOS?). Easiest way (imho) to get priiloader and a patched SM IOS wad is to use nus auto downloader.

    do not remove the system menu, never do that, if anything re-install it
     
  4. Gomi-Enu
    OP

    Gomi-Enu Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 24, 2010
    United States
    As part of the softmod guide, I installed
    IOS70-64-v6687[TB+ES_diV+NAND].wad

    then
    IOS70-64-v6687.wad
    and
    System Menu-NUS-v481.wad

    I've done that process a few times, no errors. Is there a different iso70 and system menu I should be using?

    -rj
     
  5. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Member
    9,127
    532
    Sep 12, 2009
    Canada
    Ontario
    lol, sorry I have to laugh [​IMG]

    IOS70-64-v6687[TB+ES_diV+NAND].wad and IOS70-64-v6687.wad both install to IOS slot 70, so whichever one u install last is the ONLY one installed on your system

    try reinstalling IOS70-64-v6687[TB+ES_diV+NAND].wad and see if that fixes your problem [​IMG]
     
  6. Gomi-Enu
    OP

    Gomi-Enu Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 24, 2010
    United States
    You know, I thought that was odd - maybe its cause they have the update and modify steps separate in the guide?

    I'll go reinstall that one and see what she does-
     
  7. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Member
    9,127
    532
    Sep 12, 2009
    Canada
    Ontario
    btw, what version of priiloader do u have installed? the latest ones don't require a patched sm ios anyways (although i still recommend u install it)
     
  8. 9th_Sage

    9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,481
    1
    Apr 30, 2008
    United States
    Actually, it sounds like he has BootMii boot2 on it, in which case it would be safe to do this. That said, yeah, it's not exactly neccesary. It sounds to me kind of like the system menu didn't install all the way during this update his co-worker mentioned. Like it installed enough to at least try booting but is definitely missing something. You don't mention reinstalling the system menu, so I would try that.
     
  9. Gomi-Enu
    OP

    Gomi-Enu Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 24, 2010
    United States
    It's uninstalled now - I was just trying it out, hoping that either moving the system menu would work (in case it was sitting on a patch of bad NAND) or that some of the alternate syswtem menu's had matured enough that I could skip fixing it. No dice wither way, so I removed it.

    I used the latest Multi-Mod manager to install it. Not sure what version - 1.9?
     
  10. atrophis

    atrophis Member

    Newcomer
    29
    0
    Apr 9, 2010
    United States
    If you got BootMii boot2, can't you get a backup from another working Wii and restore to this one? Sounds like the easiest fix to me.
     
  11. Krestent

    Krestent What to post?

    Member
    3,953
    33
    Mar 31, 2009
    United States
    That's not as easy/reliable as you think. Only use it as a last resort.
     
  12. Gomi-Enu
    OP

    Gomi-Enu Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 24, 2010
    United States
    I actually tried that, but my 'normal' wii is a later model with a different boot1, so it wouldn't work. (I can't load bootmi to boot2 on mine - only IOS, but I can on this one. Mine is from late 08, this one is was bought on Day 1.)

    I'm surprised there is not some archive somewhere of NAND backups from different version WIIs-
     
  13. tj_cool

    tj_cool Site dev

    Supervisor
    9,984
    -1
    Jan 7, 2009
    Belgium
    This planet
    Probably because that's illegal [​IMG]
     
  14. atrophis

    atrophis Member

    Newcomer
    29
    0
    Apr 9, 2010
    United States
    Well, it's a shame you hacked it already. I would have just sent it to Nintendo for a replacement if it was their update that bricked it. Unless, they would have fixed boot2 for ya and sent you back a Wii a little worse off.
     
  15. TRushInfo

    TRushInfo Banned

    Banned
    978
    0
    Jun 13, 2009
    United States
    Ive figured out the solution for your title.

    you shake it with your hand
     
  16. Gomi-Enu
    OP

    Gomi-Enu Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 24, 2010
    United States
    I tempted to shake it. Hard.

    My coworker tried to get Nintendo to fix it a few times - no luck. She just went and bought a new one.

    I reinstalled the system menu and the IOS70 with mods - no change. I also tried to downgrade the system menu with the multi-mod manager, but no luck their either. Just for fun, I tried to delete that one pasky news channel - HAGE- and I had dups again (HAGA and HAGE). HAGA deletes fine, HAGE doesn't. Can't imagine it's related - but then again, not a clue why it's being so crazy in the first place.....

    -rj
     
  17. mauifrog

    mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Member
    1,585
    90
    Jan 21, 2010
    United States
    You should try this
    If that fails, install ios16-v257- get the Nintendo recovery disk, load it from a loader, then use the delete all function, this will do a system format. Perhaps this will help since the wii format crashes on you.

    Also you may have better results in anytitle deleter using ios16- 100% error free for me.
     
  18. urherenow

    urherenow GBAtemp Addict

    Member
    2,748
    786
    Mar 8, 2009
    United States
    Japan
    There is NO fixing Boot2. That would be a hardware change and the Nintendo techs are not capable of that. If you can install Bootmii as boot2, you will ALWAYS be able to install bootmii as boot2 on that machine.

    For the last time:
    1) boot0 is ROM and can never change once flashed.
    2) boot0 does checks on boot1 so if you attempted to change boot1... the Wii would never boot again!
    3) Installing bootmii as boot2 is possible because of a flaw in the original boot1 (which you can never change without permanent brick... even by Nintendo)
    4) Therefore.. no matter how many updates there are to boot2, you can always reinstall bootmii there.

    The only way around it it to physically replace the motherboard. The manufacturing plants could replace the chip in its entirety but that's waaayyyy beyond the scope of a Nintendo tech.
     
  19. Coconuts 500

    Coconuts 500 Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    78
    7
    Apr 8, 2010
    I suggest you get Anytitle Deleter Mod, and Dop-Mii.

    Enter the homebrew channel, open Anytitle Deleter Mod and every delete IOS you see, except the one homebrew channel uses (see in the top corner).

    Then, reset and start up Dop-Mii, now install the latest version of IOS70, with no hacks. Then install System menu 4.2U. Then restart again.

    Now, the Wii SHOULD be working. If it does, open Dop-Mii again and install the IOSes that have important-sounding descriptions.

    I have done this with my launch-day Wii! It works! But you must have Bootmii boot2 to do it safely.
     
  20. atrophis

    atrophis Member

    Newcomer
    29
    0
    Apr 9, 2010
    United States
    Thanks for telling me something I already knew. My assumption was that he didn't send it back out of fear of getting a unit back that did not have a boot2 bug in it.