1. H0ly

    H0ly Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    thx for this great work.
     
  2. zxr750j

    zxr750j GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    456
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I'm trying to make a script that repeatedly bangs the A button (you've gotta start somewhere, it's my "Hello World"). I took a piece of the py and removed a lot of code and it kinda works but it only presses A ones. What am I doing wrong?

    (renamed input_pc_simple.py to input_pc_simple.py.txt for uploading)
     

    Attached Files:

    Scott_pilgrim likes this.
  3. enderer

    enderer GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Messages:
    322
    Country:
    United States
    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "input_pc.py", line 5, in <module>
    from inputs import get_gamepad, devices
    ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'inputs'

    EDIT: i'm still on fw 9.2. that might be the issue.

    REEDIT: updated to 10.2 still getting the same error in cmd
     
    Last edited by enderer, Nov 1, 2020
  4. Chrisssj2

    Chrisssj2 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,161
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I'd really appreciate a tutorial. I tried to have a friend join with his xbox 360 controller. and I see the input.py see his inputs. But it does say "P1" not sure if he should be seen as P2 as we would be both playing together.
    But P1 or P2 regardless, my switch doesn't seem to receive it's input. I tried using x360ce, but not working either.
     
    Last edited by Chrisssj2, Nov 1, 2020
  5. nachuz

    OP nachuz GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2017
    Messages:
    617
    Country:
    Chile
    I made it work by doing something like this:
    Code:
    while(loopy):
        gamepadList0keys=1
        print(pack("<HHHQiiiiHQiiiiHQiiii", 0x3276, controllerCount, conType, gamepadList0keys, gamepadList0dx_l, gamepadList0dy_l, gamepadList0dx_r, gamepadList0dy_r ,twoConType,gamepadList1keys,gamepadList1dx_l,gamepadList1dy_l,gamepadList1dx_r,gamepadList1dy_r,threeConType ,gamepadList2keys,gamepadList2dx_l,gamepadList2dy_l,gamepadList2dx_r, gamepadList2dy_r),server_address)
        sock.sendto(pack("<HHHQiiiiHQiiiiHQiiii", 0x3276, controllerCount, conType, gamepadList0keys, gamepadList0dx_l, gamepadList0dy_l, gamepadList0dx_r, gamepadList0dy_r ,twoConType,gamepadList1keys,gamepadList1dx_l,gamepadList1dy_l,gamepadList1dx_r,gamepadList1dy_r,threeConType ,gamepadList2keys,gamepadList2dx_l,gamepadList2dy_l,gamepadList2dx_r, gamepadList2dy_r),server_address)
        sleep(1/60)
        gamepadList0keys=0
        print(pack("<HHHQiiiiHQiiiiHQiiii", 0x3276, controllerCount, conType, gamepadList0keys, gamepadList0dx_l, gamepadList0dy_l, gamepadList0dx_r, gamepadList0dy_r ,twoConType,gamepadList1keys,gamepadList1dx_l,gamepadList1dy_l,gamepadList1dx_r,gamepadList1dy_r,threeConType ,gamepadList2keys,gamepadList2dx_l,gamepadList2dy_l,gamepadList2dx_r, gamepadList2dy_r),server_address)
        sock.sendto(pack("<HHHQiiiiHQiiiiHQiiii", 0x3276, controllerCount, conType, gamepadList0keys, gamepadList0dx_l, gamepadList0dy_l, gamepadList0dx_r, gamepadList0dy_r ,twoConType,gamepadList1keys,gamepadList1dx_l,gamepadList1dy_l,gamepadList1dx_r,gamepadList1dy_r,threeConType ,gamepadList2keys,gamepadList2dx_l,gamepadList2dy_l,gamepadList2dx_r, gamepadList2dy_r),server_address)
        sleep(1/60)
    #   loopy=False
    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    you didn't install inputs correctly
    execute this command:
    Code:
    py -3 -m pip install inputs
    if you get an error, try reinstalling python (make sure you have add to PATH enabled when installing)
     
    Scott_pilgrim and zxr750j like this.
  6. zxr750j

    zxr750j GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    456
    Country:
    Netherlands
    @nachuz thanks for answering my noob questions!
     
    nachuz likes this.
  7. Loismarcin

    Loismarcin Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    France
    Nice tool, thanks man !

    For people who have a problem with the line:
    python3 input_pc.py SWITCH_IP

    Just replacing python3 with py, it worked straight out for me! ;)
     

    Attached Files:

    Scott_pilgrim, nachuz and Intronaut like this.
  8. PatrickD85

    PatrickD85 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    824
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Wondeful to have the option to use the Controller you want to use ... without the in between dongles and stuff.
     
    Scott_pilgrim and nachuz like this.
  9. nachuz

    OP nachuz GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2017
    Messages:
    617
    Country:
    Chile
    Nice! Added to the op guide

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Thank you!
     
    Intronaut and PatrickD85 like this.
  10. Shaddap

    Shaddap Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Any update on Home and Capture buttons working? This thing is amazing, by the way. My friend has been able to play Animal Crossing because of this and she is absolutely loving the experience, just that she can't catch screenshots as she plays.
     
  11. silver95

    silver95 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2019
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    Argentina
    there is no way to transmit without parsec or grabber, remotely ??
     
  12. Chrisssj2

    Chrisssj2 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,161
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Could someone please write a guide? This plugin is absolutely amazing. But it is very finicky to get to work properly.
    Due to getting windows/switch to properly recognize controllers in the right way. P1, P2 etc.

    What are the exact steps for it?
    Example, I host a parsec session. Start sysdvr and input.py.
    Friend joins, connects Xbox360 or dualshock controller and it works?
    For me it doesn't work like that.
     
    Last edited by Chrisssj2, Nov 3, 2020
  13. Hexalform

    Hexalform Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    United States
    I think you may have the steps a bit out of order (haven't tried it yet, but it reads my controller fine and will try this w/ friends later)

    But try:

    1) Reboot the Switch (just in case)

    2) Start a Direct Parsec session, making sure everyone's controllers are already connected/detected/working (Parsec->Gamepad)

    3) Open input.py, and it should detect both of your controllers (test it out by both of you moving a controller stick and seeing if moves on the physical Switch. You can also check in the "Controllers" option on the Switch (but do not open "Change Grip/Order" as this will disconnect them and it will just be easier to reboot the Switch and re-run input.py.)

    4) Open SYSDVR and play

    I think that would work?
     
    Chrisssj2 likes this.
  14. Chrisssj2

    Chrisssj2 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,161
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well, i start out in blanc situation and other person having controller already detected. and I DO see gamepads being detected in the input.py aswell, but NOT having controller recognised on the switch. So it just doesnt work MOST of the time. You shouldnt need 3rd party software like x360ce? I tried with and without, and got mixed results if I remember correctly.
    Sometimes eventually I get it working, but only after many many tries ussually. (only once it worked out of the box)

    If you or anyone cares, feel free to add me so we can test it.
    Parsec:Reconhell#175230
    Discord: CliffHearth#1974
     
  15. Intronaut

    Intronaut A star maker
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    Messages:
    772
    Country:
    Chile
    Hi, maybe this is a little off-topic, but I have a question related to the use of Sysdvr and Parsec. Everything is working fine, even with audio. However, I am not streaming the audio through Sysdvr, but rather through an aux cable (from the headphones jack to the mic one in the computer).

    But I am afraid that could damage my switch. Is that possible?
     
  16. Chrisssj2

    Chrisssj2 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,161
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Im using that way line in. I dont see how or why it would damage your switch.
    I've always been using that to route audio. I did buy a ground loop isolator cuz It picked up noise from my desktop.
     
  17. Chrisssj2

    Chrisssj2 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,161
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yeah im not getitng it to work AT ALL with a friend. Been trying for hours upon hours. rebooting all my systems, trying all sorts of stuff. Exactly like your describing, locally it is consistent. But as soon as I try with friends. It recognises their controller with "windows game controller test, x360ce, and the input.py" But NOT being able to join the games and being able to control them. It doesn't seem to matter if the controller is recognised as P1,P2,P3 in the Python script.

    Can I please get some help on this.
    @nachuz
     
    Last edited by Chrisssj2, Nov 4, 2020
  18. Shaddap

    Shaddap Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    I'll type out the exact method I used to get this working with friends using a dualshock and Elgato HD60 Pro, just to remind myself for future reference.

    • Install sys-hidplus on Switch, reboot.
    • Install python 3 on PC (I personally installed the current 3.9)
    • Went to python install directory (User\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python39) and renamed python.exe to python3.exe
    • Extracted input_pc.py to python39 folder (same location as python3.exe)
    • Opened command prompt window, installed inputs with command: py -3 -m pip install inputs
    • Friend connects dualshock 4 to PC over bluetooth/wired and runs latest DS4Windows
    • Friend enables Hide DS4 Controller in DS4Windows settings
    • Friend connects to me over Parsec (all settings default) and presses any button on controller to enable it on my PC
    • Test friend's controller in Windows' built-in Game Controllers settings to make sure it picks up all inputs
    • If successful, open command prompt in Python39 folder and run python3 input_pc.py [SWITCH IP] (replace [SWITCH IP] with whatever your console's IP is}
    • Open OBS/Elgato Game Capture HD software and confirm that it works (it should)
     
    Last edited by Shaddap, Nov 5, 2020
  19. Intronaut

    Intronaut A star maker
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    Messages:
    772
    Country:
    Chile
    I just wrote a tutorial but for sysdvr. Anyway, all the steps about changin python3 name are unnecessary. Just run this command: py input_pc.py SWITCH_IP
     
  20. pehkay

    pehkay Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Singapore
    A stupid question, how do you know if sys-hidplus is running on the Switch?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - sysmodule, gamepads, hidplus