sys-con lets you use third-party controllers on a docked Switch via USB

syscon_image.png

Have you ever thought about hooking up another console's controller to your Switch but you don't fancy either carrying around a USB adapter dongle or running an app on another device for hid-mitm? Look no further then, as sys-con is here to save the day!

Sys-con is a custom Switch sysmodule that allows you to use third-party controllers on your Nintendo Switch. Unlike the other previously mentioned homebrew solution, which, as the name suggests, worked by MITMing Horizon OS' built-in hid module, sys-con just needs you to connect your controllers using your Dock's USB ports: no Wi-Fi connection or external applications required. Not only this will result in less input latency (and, of course, a much simpler setup) but it also means the sysmodule won't conflict with Atmosphère 0.9.4's libnx input workaround, making it fully compatible with the CFW's latest version!

There are, however, a few limitations. First off, as hinted before, sys-con only works in Docked mode. The sysmodule is also only compatible with DualShock 3, Xbox 360 (wired, the wireless dongle reportedly doesn't work) and Xbox One controllers, with DualShock 4 support coming soon. Lastly, rumble and motion controls do not work at the moment.

Sys-con has been developed by @cathery and can be downloaded by clicking the download link below. It officially supports Atmosphère and will work on FW 5.0.0 and up (warning: crashes or freezes may happen on 9.0.X due to high memory usage). You can install it by extracting the release's contents on your microSD card, overwriting if necessary, and then rebooting your console. For more information on upcoming features, troubleshooting and developer support, head over to the project's GitHub repo (also linked below).

:download: Downloads
:arrow: Source
 
Last edited by RattletraPM,

fst312

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2008
Messages
1,006
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
New York
XP
2,034
Country
United States
Just checked my ps2 controller since I had a way to connect it to a usb port and it worked button just need to be configured properly especially the pad since it doesn’t work. Right now I’m having a little hope that a n64 controller might actually work.

Edit
Most buttons don’t really work right at the moment seems like they are all assigned the same button or something.
Edit
Forgot to reboot switch and now that I did everything works better pad included. Just want to mention my ps2 controller is a gamestop controller not sure if that really makes a difference.
 
Last edited by fst312,

aldo3

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 28, 2019
Messages
43
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
201
Country
Austria
Any chance Negcon will get supported? Currently my generic PSX-to-USB adapter won't get recognized by Switch.
 

Crimson Cuttlefish

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
298
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
1,088
Country
United States
How do you exchange the d'pad for the left stick?
ds3 and ds4
I think to do that Switch-side you'd have to have a software that allows remapping of controllers, which I don't think the Switch has. Although, I can tell you that my LogiTech Dual-Action controller has a button that allows you to swap the stick and D-Pad hardware-side. Maybe there's something similar for official DualShock?

-------

Do Xbox One controllers work yet btw? Never got an answer
 
Last edited by Crimson Cuttlefish,

dreambottle

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 2, 2016
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
189
Country
I tried using an xbox 360 wireless controller + usb wireless receiver, but it didn't work for me, not sure why. It seems to connect to the receiver, but not to the console itself - the LED ring keeps blinking and never displays that its controller #1. The console doesn't react to any input from it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MarkDarkness

VaiCorinthians

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2014
Messages
460
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
439
Country
Brazil
I tried using an xbox 360 wireless controller + usb wireless receiver, but it didn't work for me, not sure why. It seems to connect to the receiver, but not to the console itself - the LED ring keeps blinking and never displays that its controller #1. The console doesn't react to any input from it.
The receiver is from Microsoft
or fake from china?
 

gohan123

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2012
Messages
368
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,620
Country
Germany
is there some way to add not supported controllers to this like on the wii? you guys seems able to do so, but I don't see any info how? I would like to add an old logitech controller and and very old gamecube to usb adaptor.
 

1basti1

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2019
Messages
215
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
918
Country
Germany
Is it possible, that my Dualshock 4 can be recognised as a GameCube Controller? (because of the analog triggers for Grid Autosport for example)
 

LyuboA

Unknown Entity
Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2018
Messages
531
Trophies
0
XP
857
Country
Bulgaria
for some reason when i have sys-con enabled and game running opening album-hbmenu i get
fatal error occured while running Atmosphere
Title ID: 010041544d530000
Error Desc: std::abort() called (0xffe)atal error
 

Attachments

  • report_00000002ef13271e.zip
    1.2 KB · Views: 126

majoru

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2016
Messages
116
Trophies
0
XP
463
Country
Morocco
I think i've got it:

edited trough https://jsoneditoronline.org/
titleID is 690000000000000D. Thanks.
i am sorry but how did you get it work please ?
i added the lines to the config.json file and it still wouldn't get detected on kosmosToolbox
i noticed that syscon is the only module on the contents folder , the other modules are outside that folder maybe thats the reason ?
 
Last edited by majoru,

almmiron

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2012
Messages
353
Trophies
0
XP
1,285
Country
Brazil
i am sorry but how did you get it work please ?
i added the lines to the config.json file and it still wouldn't get detected on kosmosToolbox
i noticed that syscon is the only module on the contents folder , the other modules are outside that folder maybe thats the reason ?

I was using older versions by then (kosmos package, homebrews and the switch firmware). I dont even know the exactly versions. Right now, i can turn sys-con on and off by tesla menu, with the ovl-sysmodules (and you have to check if atmosphere folder on sd card contains 690000000000000D folder with .json file inside + the UPDATED sys-con module, of course).

I'm not using kosmos anymore.
 

majoru

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2016
Messages
116
Trophies
0
XP
463
Country
Morocco
I was using older versions by then (kosmos package, homebrews and the switch firmware). I dont even know the exactly versions. Right now, i can turn sys-con on and off by tesla menu, with the ovl-sysmodules (and you have to check if atmosphere folder on sd card contains 690000000000000D folder with .json file inside + the UPDATED sys-con module, of course).

I'm not using kosmos anymore.
so 690000000000000D should be directly on the atmosphere folder ? not on /atmosphere/contents ?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Veho @ Veho: https://i.imgur.com/8Bj96q1.mp4