Homebrew RELEASE sys-clk under/overclocking sysmodule

  • Thread starter m4xw
  • Start date
  • Views 329,444
  • Replies 1,040
  • Likes 85

hellviruz

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Nov 28, 2016
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
28
Country
Canada
OK so sorry I can't find a clear answer but what is safe for erista v0 handheld and docked? I want to get more out of it without killing it prematurely...
 

RaZoRNo1

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 19, 2019
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
450
Country
Germany
So I read the last few pages, because I want to OC the Memory of my v0 Erista.
There is really no way to do this with just the uncapped sys-clk?

Or is there a PreBuild one I can try/use?
 
Last edited by RaZoRNo1,

3DSBricker

Not So Daily Active Member
Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2020
Messages
215
Trophies
0
Location
A place far away from you
XP
538
Country
Netherlands
So I read the last few pages, because I want to OC the Memory of my v0 Erista.
There is really no way to do this with just the uncapped sys-clk?

Or is there a PreBuild one I can try/use?
You need to patch Atmosphère to unlock the higher frequencies. You don't need to modify/unlock Sys-CLK if you only want to overclock the RAM. 1600MHz just means the highest frequency, if you unlocked till 1862MHz then 1600 in Sys-CLK actually means 1862.
 

profd

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 15, 2021
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
40
Country
United Kingdom
how much performance benefit do people see going to 1862 or 2100 in a demanding game @ 60fps like MH rise?
Likewise how much additional heat? I understand power must be kept in check.

On a v0 Erista

Im trying to decide if its worth the effort for me to do this.

Im on sysnand so would also need to make a copy to emnand so I don't risk corrupting the main and in testing correct?
 

3DSBricker

Not So Daily Active Member
Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2020
Messages
215
Trophies
0
Location
A place far away from you
XP
538
Country
Netherlands
how much performance benefit do people see going to 1862 or 2100 in a demanding game @ 60fps like MH rise?
Likewise how much additional heat? I understand power must be kept in check.

On a v0 Erista

Im trying to decide if its worth the effort for me to do this.

Im on sysnand so would also need to make a copy to emnand so I don't risk corrupting the main and in testing correct?
Corruption definitely is a thing so make backups. There's almost no power increase and heat is (at least to me) unknown. Almost no extra heat to the readable values. Iirc Monster Hunter Rise was bad optimized and needs more than 1600MHz RAM to get a stable 60FPS. 1996.8MHz was either enough or not yet. It really depends on the silicon lottery though, your RAM may not even reach 2133MHz with 1.3V. Don't ever go over 1.2V, it's not worth it. Patches for 1996.8MHz require different tables though.
 
  • Like
Reactions: profd

Thegamefox1

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 21, 2021
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
9
Country
United States
Is there a thread that shows the default gpu clock speeds for different switch games, since thats always variable? (Default Ram and default cpu is almost always 1331mhz and 1020 mhz in handheld).

This would be interesting cause it shows how much of a boost is needed from default settings to make games run/look better.
 

profd

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 15, 2021
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
40
Country
United Kingdom
Does anyone have a good memory benchmark / testing protocol to recommend when I'm finding my correct settings?
 

profd

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 15, 2021
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
40
Country
United Kingdom
Does the atmosphere patch still work with the latest version? Getting a patch error:

[email protected] MSYS /c/compile/Atmosphere-1.2.1 $ patch -n < pcv_ram_oc.diff patching file build.sh can't find file to patch at input line 13 Perhaps you should have used the -p or --strip option? The text leading up to this was: -------------------------- |diff --git a/stratosphere/loader/source/ldr_patcher.cpp b/stratosphere/loader/source/ldr_patcher.cpp |index 99385fc5..dfc5f5d7 100644 |--- a/stratosphere/loader/source/ldr_patcher.cpp |+++ b/stratosphere/loader/source/ldr_patcher.cpp -------------------------- File to patch: Skip this patch? [y] y Skipping patch. 2 out of 2 hunks ignored patching file ldr_pcv_patch.cpp patching file ldr_pcv_patch.hpp
 

profd

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 15, 2021
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
40
Country
United Kingdom
Think im going to need to setup a linux VM. atmosphere is not compiling nicely for me at all even following guides on windows.

Out of interest, the Hekate mod compiled fine and when I use it the memory reports at the higher clock rate but sys-clk has a fatal error.

Status monitor reports the increased ram rate. Is this reporting correct or is atmosphere not enabling the increased ram clocks because the jobs only half done?
 

profd

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 15, 2021
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
40
Country
United Kingdom
A new diff file? where is it posted?

nvm diff applied just need a working compile environment
 
Last edited by profd,

profd

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 15, 2021
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
40
Country
United Kingdom
Stuck again unfortunatly. got atmosphere recompiled and working, patches done but sys-clk wont stop giving me a fatal error. Suggestions for what can normally cause that? I have cleared out my atmosphere folder and started again
 

profd

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 15, 2021
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
40
Country
United Kingdom
Sorted it. Didnt realise the patch file has to match the hekate setting for speed.

Do the voltages also have to match or one takes precidence?
 

MSco

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2016
Messages
282
Trophies
0
XP
506
Country
Germany
You need to patch Atmosphère to unlock the higher frequencies. You don't need to modify/unlock Sys-CLK if you only want to overclock the RAM. 1600MHz just means the highest frequency, if you unlocked till 1862MHz then 1600 in Sys-CLK actually means 1862.
So, does this mean, I have to patch the source code and recompile atmosphere, when I would like to play BOTW with docked_cpu=1224 or what do you mean by "higher frequencies"?

Can you tell me, where I can find the latest patch to do so?

And is docked_cpu=1224 recommended for BOTW or is it better to more overclock for this game?
 
Last edited by MSco,
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    And audio technica
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    hmmm what to order for dinner
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Lrn2cook :angry:
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I can cook great. But the depression kind of drains me of all motivation to do anything
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    I feel that but I beat it out cause the fees on apps make me more depressed
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    And you may get extra creamy sauce if you refuse to tip
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    god wtf is it about facebook that just makes you (me) doomscroll for ever? Fucking glad I rarely touch it anymore but god damn I've probably spent more time on FB today than in the past 3 months combined.
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    I usually just use messenger cause someone always tends to comment something extremely stupid on my status like I don't wanna see that on my page then I'm all like well you know what to do if you don't want to see it and they get all butthurt even more
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I keep Facebook around for oauth2 (though Google largely fills the same roll for me these days) and Messenger. I rarely ever use the website, the app is set to not run in background on my phone and has all notifications disabled. Hopped on today to list a few things for sale/free in my area and just spent more time today scrolling up and down than I ought to
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I guess I keep it around for FB Dating too though I rarely use that. Maybe I should change that since I've had more success there than anywhere else lol
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    What's urehandle 😏
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    xXBigPapi42069Xx
    Gift
  • Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    I always get fat girls on dating apps but that's okay nothing wrong with a fat chick they deserve love
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I gotta delete and recreate the profiles I got. Reset all those swipes and what not
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    The new scam thing seems to be stock photos of hot Girls asking for WhatsApp
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Two more likes from breaking 1k and it only took like 8 years lol
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I have more likes than I have posts 😳
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    dawg I didn't realize you did a name change I thought you were just some other rando that got let into the chat while I've been gone for months smh my head
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    name change AND new pfp got me shook
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Well I'm a naughty and meanie users gotta rep it some how
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    I do remember a user I haven't seen in forever either Brian or Even? Can't remember his username exactly
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Doesn't ring a bell
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Could be Devon
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    What does this have to do with porn? Lol
    Gift
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: What does this have to do with porn? Lol