Homebrew RELEASE sys-clk under/overclocking sysmodule

  • Thread starter m4xw
  • Start date
  • Views 327,696
  • Replies 1,040
  • Likes 85

hellviruz

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Nov 28, 2016
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
28
Country
Canada
OK so sorry I can't find a clear answer but what is safe for erista v0 handheld and docked? I want to get more out of it without killing it prematurely...
 

RaZoRNo1

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 19, 2019
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
449
Country
Germany
So I read the last few pages, because I want to OC the Memory of my v0 Erista.
There is really no way to do this with just the uncapped sys-clk?

Or is there a PreBuild one I can try/use?
 
Last edited by RaZoRNo1,

3DSBricker

Not So Daily Active Member
Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2020
Messages
215
Trophies
0
Location
A place far away from you
XP
531
Country
Netherlands
So I read the last few pages, because I want to OC the Memory of my v0 Erista.
There is really no way to do this with just the uncapped sys-clk?

Or is there a PreBuild one I can try/use?
You need to patch Atmosphère to unlock the higher frequencies. You don't need to modify/unlock Sys-CLK if you only want to overclock the RAM. 1600MHz just means the highest frequency, if you unlocked till 1862MHz then 1600 in Sys-CLK actually means 1862.
 

profd

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 15, 2021
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
38
Country
United Kingdom
how much performance benefit do people see going to 1862 or 2100 in a demanding game @ 60fps like MH rise?
Likewise how much additional heat? I understand power must be kept in check.

On a v0 Erista

Im trying to decide if its worth the effort for me to do this.

Im on sysnand so would also need to make a copy to emnand so I don't risk corrupting the main and in testing correct?
 

3DSBricker

Not So Daily Active Member
Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2020
Messages
215
Trophies
0
Location
A place far away from you
XP
531
Country
Netherlands
how much performance benefit do people see going to 1862 or 2100 in a demanding game @ 60fps like MH rise?
Likewise how much additional heat? I understand power must be kept in check.

On a v0 Erista

Im trying to decide if its worth the effort for me to do this.

Im on sysnand so would also need to make a copy to emnand so I don't risk corrupting the main and in testing correct?
Corruption definitely is a thing so make backups. There's almost no power increase and heat is (at least to me) unknown. Almost no extra heat to the readable values. Iirc Monster Hunter Rise was bad optimized and needs more than 1600MHz RAM to get a stable 60FPS. 1996.8MHz was either enough or not yet. It really depends on the silicon lottery though, your RAM may not even reach 2133MHz with 1.3V. Don't ever go over 1.2V, it's not worth it. Patches for 1996.8MHz require different tables though.
 
  • Like
Reactions: profd

Thegamefox1

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 21, 2021
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
9
Country
United States
Is there a thread that shows the default gpu clock speeds for different switch games, since thats always variable? (Default Ram and default cpu is almost always 1331mhz and 1020 mhz in handheld).

This would be interesting cause it shows how much of a boost is needed from default settings to make games run/look better.
 

profd

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 15, 2021
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
38
Country
United Kingdom
Does anyone have a good memory benchmark / testing protocol to recommend when I'm finding my correct settings?
 

profd

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 15, 2021
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
38
Country
United Kingdom
Does the atmosphere patch still work with the latest version? Getting a patch error:

[email protected] MSYS /c/compile/Atmosphere-1.2.1 $ patch -n < pcv_ram_oc.diff patching file build.sh can't find file to patch at input line 13 Perhaps you should have used the -p or --strip option? The text leading up to this was: -------------------------- |diff --git a/stratosphere/loader/source/ldr_patcher.cpp b/stratosphere/loader/source/ldr_patcher.cpp |index 99385fc5..dfc5f5d7 100644 |--- a/stratosphere/loader/source/ldr_patcher.cpp |+++ b/stratosphere/loader/source/ldr_patcher.cpp -------------------------- File to patch: Skip this patch? [y] y Skipping patch. 2 out of 2 hunks ignored patching file ldr_pcv_patch.cpp patching file ldr_pcv_patch.hpp
 

profd

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 15, 2021
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
38
Country
United Kingdom
Think im going to need to setup a linux VM. atmosphere is not compiling nicely for me at all even following guides on windows.

Out of interest, the Hekate mod compiled fine and when I use it the memory reports at the higher clock rate but sys-clk has a fatal error.

Status monitor reports the increased ram rate. Is this reporting correct or is atmosphere not enabling the increased ram clocks because the jobs only half done?
 

profd

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 15, 2021
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
38
Country
United Kingdom
A new diff file? where is it posted?

nvm diff applied just need a working compile environment
 
Last edited by profd,

profd

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 15, 2021
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
38
Country
United Kingdom
Stuck again unfortunatly. got atmosphere recompiled and working, patches done but sys-clk wont stop giving me a fatal error. Suggestions for what can normally cause that? I have cleared out my atmosphere folder and started again
 

profd

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 15, 2021
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
38
Country
United Kingdom
Sorted it. Didnt realise the patch file has to match the hekate setting for speed.

Do the voltages also have to match or one takes precidence?
 

MSco

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2016
Messages
280
Trophies
0
XP
498
Country
Germany
You need to patch Atmosphère to unlock the higher frequencies. You don't need to modify/unlock Sys-CLK if you only want to overclock the RAM. 1600MHz just means the highest frequency, if you unlocked till 1862MHz then 1600 in Sys-CLK actually means 1862.
So, does this mean, I have to patch the source code and recompile atmosphere, when I would like to play BOTW with docked_cpu=1224 or what do you mean by "higher frequencies"?

Can you tell me, where I can find the latest patch to do so?

And is docked_cpu=1224 recommended for BOTW or is it better to more overclock for this game?
 
Last edited by MSco,
General chit-chat
Help Users
    K @ kenny25: Please can help me with fairy tail 1.0.6 cheats to Nintendo Switch? Thanks :(