Hacking SX OS games freeze

Kardch

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2017
Messages
130
Trophies
0
XP
535
Country
Spain
So after playing a bit with the BBB backups some of them are freezing in some loading points.

Example, Mario kart 8 deluxe freezes when trying to load the leaf cup, when it freezes the whole system does, (so a restart is needed duh, kind of a softbrick).

Other games like Mario tenis aces has had some freezes while trying to load a new level on adventure mode.

Both bricks or crashes or whatever it is called are happening to me with xci trimmed carts.

My question is, does someone else has had this crashes or freezes with trimmed games? or I am the only one having this problem?

Thanks in advance
 

thaikhoa

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
2,227
Trophies
0
XP
2,420
Country
Australia
I'm playing cut xcis, haven't got any freezing or crashing yet except Labo (black screen on boot, maybe bad dump)
uSD 256GB SS Evo Plus.
 

CapitanSburro

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 17, 2018
Messages
107
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
Matrix
XP
572
Country
United States
Probably it is, it was actually the cheapest one so... Anyway I also planned to buy a new one larger like 256 GB or like that, any recommendations?
Sandisk all the way, look for the ones with A1 rating , they're made for mobile tablets and phones, perfect for the switch.
 

Albytrozz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2018
Messages
265
Trophies
0
XP
644
Country
United States
Sandisk or Samsung all the way for memory cards. Just be careful where you order them from as most amazon/ebay cards will be crap ;)

I accidentally bought fake Sandisks off of Amazon. Just try to get them from a 'Prime' seller or Amazon itself, they are likely real and if not you can get a refund real easily. There is software to test the card to see if it's legit, just don't have the link at the moment.
 
  • Like
Reactions: andyhappypants

hippy dave

BBMB
Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
7,293
Trophies
1
XP
9,401
Country
United Kingdom
Before you change the card... Did you copy the xci files onto the card one at a time or all at once? Apparently Windows loves to fragment the files if you copy multiple at the same time, and SX OS needs the files to be unfragmented (each file in one consecutive chunk, rather than bits of each file mixed together).

Try moving all the files off the card then copying them back one at a time. Maybe with a reformat in between.
 

DocAmes1980

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2016
Messages
873
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
955
Country
United States
Before you change the card... Did you copy the xci files onto the card one at a time or all at once? Apparently Windows loves to fragment the files if you copy multiple at the same time, and SX OS needs the files to be unfragmented (each file in one consecutive chunk, rather than bits of each file mixed together).

Try moving all the files off the card then copying them back one at a time. Maybe with a reformat in between.

Does the need for unfragmented files come from somebody who knows what they are talking about or is it just a theory that's kicking around? It's solid state storage. I don't see why it should make a difference. I copied 11 trimmed .XCI files at the same time. No issues as of yet.
 

hippy dave

BBMB
Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
7,293
Trophies
1
XP
9,401
Country
United Kingdom
Does the need for unfragmented files come from somebody who knows what they are talking about or is it just a theory that's kicking around? It's solid state storage. I don't see why it should make a difference. I copied 11 trimmed .XCI files at the same time. No issues as of yet.
It comes from multiple people's experience (not my own, just passing on something that might help). It would possibly make sense depending on how the backup loader is coded. You could scan your card to see if the files were fragmented if you were curious.
 

DocAmes1980

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2016
Messages
873
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
955
Country
United States
It comes from multiple people's experience (not my own, just passing on something that might help). It would possibly make sense depending on how the backup loader is coded. You could scan your card to see if the files were fragmented if you were curious.

Thank you. I was just asking because sometimes people speculate and it becomes defacto truth without evidence. I'm still skeptical though. I might try to intentionally fragment my card to see if it makes a difference.

Edit: Defraggler reports 6 fragmented files (32.9 GB) with 27 total fragments. The only fragmentation tool I could find doesn't support exFAT so I can't be bothered to intentionally fragment the card. My guess is a few people had freezes or long load times and blamed the fact that they batch copied files to the SD card.
 
Last edited by DocAmes1980,

Jay Boy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2002
Messages
427
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
734
Country
Canada
Thank you. I was just asking because sometimes people speculate and it becomes defacto truth without evidence. I'm still skeptical though. I might try to intentionally fragment my card to see if it makes a difference.

Edit: Defraggler reports 6 fragmented files (32.9 GB) with 27 total fragments. The only fragmentation tool I could find doesn't support exFAT so I can't be bothered to intentionally fragment the card. My guess is a few people had freezes or long load times and blamed the fact that they batch copied files to the SD card.

Dude do not defrag flash memory!
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: https://www.humblebundle.com/store/assassins-creed-triple-pack?utm_campaign=01_0550&utm_medium=pa...