Hacking SX Modchip firmware has been dumped

DragarX

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2016
Messages
104
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
195
Country
Australia
I really hope they don't limit this to Mariko units only. I'd love to boot directly into atmosphere without sx menu, and by the looks of it, won't take 5 minutes between payload changes.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ChronoTrig

ChronoTrig

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2020
Messages
143
Trophies
0
XP
394
Country
United States
  • Like
Reactions: bbsan2k

JaRocker

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 3, 2018
Messages
303
Trophies
0
XP
1,159
Country
Jamaica
People are telling you these 2 statements you just made contradict each other.


Erista (V2) Patched needs TX chip to do atmos/hekate.
i get what you are saying but Erista v2 can be booted without a modchip with atmos I've done it, it just needs to be on an old fw
 

ChronoTrig

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2020
Messages
143
Trophies
0
XP
394
Country
United States
i get what you are saying but Erista v2 can be booted without a modchip with atmos I've done it, it just needs to be on an old fw
As in very very very old fw that doesn't have an exploit, right?
That's why people are still saying something about your statement because a lot of people have upgraded their firmware or the tx discussion wouldn't be taking place. I got my Erista V2 in mid 2018 and I missed out on the exploits and my switch was on 6 then.
 
Last edited by ChronoTrig,

JaRocker

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 3, 2018
Messages
303
Trophies
0
XP
1,159
Country
Jamaica
As in very very very old fw that doesn't have an exploit, right?
That's why people are still saying something about your statement because a lot of people have upgraded their firmware or the tx discussion wouldn't be taking place. I got my Erista V2 in mid 2018 and I missed out on the exploits and my switch was on 6 then.
Oh that's sucks I guess I was lucky then I had 2 systems that was exploitable without the RCM exploit, so I didn't need a tx chip nor did I need the RCM loader
 

ChronoTrig

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2020
Messages
143
Trophies
0
XP
394
Country
United States
Oh that's sucks I guess I was lucky then I had 2 systems that was exploitable without the RCM exploit, so I didn't need a tx chip nor did I need the RCM loader
Sure. But not everyone seems to be as lucky you, bud.
Hence, once again, why people are having the discussion of the TX chip.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Kei00

JaRocker

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 3, 2018
Messages
303
Trophies
0
XP
1,159
Country
Jamaica
okay I guess that's what my point still stans sx core/lite needs to run atmos but it does not require a modded firmware for the Erista, it can already run atmos only the Mariko switch requires modded firmware at this point.
 

bbsan2k

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 6, 2019
Messages
75
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
990
Country
Germany
okay I guess that's what my point still stans sx core/lite needs to run atmos but it does not require a modded firmware for the Erista, it can already run atmos only the Mariko switch requires modded firmware at this point.
IF and only IF you are on an exploitable firmware - which is for very few people.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ChronoTrig

DragarX

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2016
Messages
104
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
195
Country
Australia
no, you can use tx mod chip to boot atmos on Erista that's what I did
Yes, but have you noticed how it takes 5 minutes to change cfw and that you need to enter the sx menu eveytime to cleanup and boot Hekate? All these extra steps could be eliminated if the new modchip firmware supports erista chips too.
 

josephdin

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2018
Messages
109
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
358
Country
United States
uh oh... new switch update... Will there be a new sx os update to support this new firmware? I guess we will find out soon
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
As i said. i use Beta v3.1.0. No Plugins used, only a theme but its removed
 
Last edited by ,
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Next gen will probably be all portable
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Some things (like Super Famicom games) just feel right when you play them using the original hardware and a CRT
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    The PS tablet
    Gift
  • mthrnite tempBOT: @ mthrnite
    switches the box from tv to game
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Not so sure about that - the tendency for "graphics uber alles" tends to lead to very high power consumption
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    If you look at what's now portability graphics are catching up to console quality
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Nintendy is a huge example of not everyone caring about powerful specs most that do will be hardcore PC players anyway
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    The thing is that the IATA rules impose a pretty hard limit of 100Wh on battery sizes for lithium batteries - and it doesn't look like Li is going away soon
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    So if you want (say) 4 hours of runtime you need a maximum system-level power consumption of 25W
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Yeah but we already have AAA titles looking fine on tablet form 1080p displays
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Human eye can only tell so much of a difference
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    For reference, the PS5 is rated at 350W and the Xbox series X at 275W - and that's console only, without any display
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    But the future always holds performance never know what the aliens will donate from their left over tech
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Maybe :) - but batteries have turned out to be a pretty hard problem
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Like I said most that will truly care will already be hard core gaming pcers
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    And DF subscribers :)
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    I bet you could find a neighbor with a ps5 and they'd have no idea what the word spec means
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Yeah probably - people on forums seem to care a lot, but they are heavily self-selected
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Most on forums try to get a good learning of actual tech
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Papaya, so good
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Only 13 more titles to go on ps3 yay
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    I still have a remnant of the taste of the papaya
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    @KenniesNewName June will come sooner than the end of that process
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    PS3 had horrible speeds off the drive
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I always wondered why, but I am pretty sure it was trying to reduce costs
    Gift
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: I always wondered why, but I am pretty sure it was trying to reduce costs