Hacking SX lite no CFW, boots to ofw

Muta

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 21, 2018
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
328
Country
United States
Cant figure out what went wrong. SX Lite has been running for a month fine now, I reboot and now it boots straight to horizon ofw without any TX boot logo or anything. it will boot without SD as well.
LED flashes blue 3 times then quickly goes to white. After powering off, it does this a few seconds later as well.
Tried reflowing all points to no avail.
Anyway to "reset" or reformat the sxlite chip? I have the USB debug port installed as well.
 
Last edited by Muta,

nero99

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
3,099
Trophies
1
Age
28
XP
3,421
Country
United States
Cant figure out what went wrong. SX Lite has been running for a month fine now, I reboot and now it boots straight to horizon ofw without any TX boot logo or anything. it will boot without SD as well.
LED flashes blue 3 times then quickly goes to white. After powering off, it does this a few seconds later as well.
Tried reflowing all points to no avail.
Anyway to "reset" or reformat the sxlite chip? I have the USB debug port installed as well.
re-flash the latest chip firmware with the usb port from your computer.
 

Muta

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 21, 2018
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
328
Country
United States
Have you tried to force power off (hold power button for 15 seconds)? If not try it out
yes, i even tried reflowing as i said, completely unplugging the battery

re-flash the latest chip firmware with the usb port from your computer.
Ill try this, just found the firmware and flash tool on SX's site.
 
  • Like
Reactions: iialaq01 and nero99

DragarX

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 26, 2016
Messages
87
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
114
Country
Australia
Have you tried booting with Volume +? Just curious if the sx boot menu loads, if it does, try doing a cleanup and then boot to cfw.
 

lpoolm

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2017
Messages
386
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
1,545
Country
United Kingdom
I've just installed mine (what a ball ache) it worked but stopped later when I came back to it.
I've been checking my solder and convinced it's the ribbon cable that goes in an s shape from the cable that is soldered to the two chips by the nand.
Try gently disconnecting and straightening the cable, plug back in and try.
Mine works again, can't leave it like this as it has no heat shield, heat sink but I have something to work with.
 

DragarX

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 26, 2016
Messages
87
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
114
Country
Australia
I've just installed mine (what a ball ache) it worked but stopped later when I came back to it.
I've been checking my solder and convinced it's the ribbon cable that goes in an s shape from the cable that is soldered to the two chips by the nand.
Try gently disconnecting and straightening the cable, plug back in and try.
Mine works again, can't leave it like this as it has no heat shield, heat sink but I have something to work with.
You sure its the ribbon cable? Mine was working perfectly fine until i reassembled it. Turns out the heat shield on the cpu was sharting with my solder points, so while it would work fine all the way up until the back screws were in place and putting pressure on the shield.
 

Muta

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 21, 2018
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
328
Country
United States
You sure its the ribbon cable? Mine was working perfectly fine until i reassembled it. Turns out the heat shield on the cpu was sharting with my solder points, so while it would work fine all the way up until the back screws were in place and putting pressure on the shield.
surely related but i finally figured it out.
So i reassembled it after i posted this and it worked for some reason, going to cfw easily. After about 2 weeks it stopped booting cfw, same white light.
opened it up resoldered wires again for 2 hours troubleshooting., even flashed the chip fw1.3.... nothing....so i thought that it might be the ribbon cables. well sure enough, if i put a little pressure on the cable even when it was completely inserted it would boot(cfw) if i did not apply any pressure, it would not boot.
in other words the ribbon cables are crap. I will take some time later and solder the wires directly to the board and not use the ribbons.
wish i woulda checked on this thread earlier lol, woulda saved me some time troubleshooting.
 
Last edited by Muta,
  • Like
Reactions: Peechy
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    kenenthk @ kenenthk: https://youtube.com/shorts/4u0LopPQPYw?feature=share