Switching from Preloader to Priiloader

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by The Pink Gato, Dec 13, 2009.

Dec 13, 2009
  1. The Pink Gato
    OP

    Member The Pink Gato GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Candy Mountain with Mitch
    Country:
    United States
    I am currently on Preloader .30 rev4 and I have seen a new release called Priiloader. Here are my questions:

    Should I install Priiloader to replace Preloader? If so, how?
    OR
    Should I ignore it?

    Thanks in advance.

    ~modmystuff~
     


  2. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It's your choice if you want to upgrade you can just install over the top of 0.30rev4
     
  3. The Pink Gato
    OP

    Member The Pink Gato GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Candy Mountain with Mitch
    Country:
    United States
    Are you sure? I don't want to mess up anything.

    ~modmystuff~
     
  4. antiaverage

    Member antiaverage GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    317
    Country:
    United States
    Yep.

    Also, Priiloader is just a third-party modification of Preloader. The development on Preloader has stopped, so Priiloader picked up where it left off. More info on what Priiloader has to offer can be read here:
    http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Preloader/Priiloader
     
  5. The Pink Gato
    OP

    Member The Pink Gato GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Candy Mountain with Mitch
    Country:
    United States
    What scares me in the link is the following sentence:

    "IT IS _HIGHLY_ RECOMMENDED TO INSTALL PRELOADER ONLY ON A WII WITH UNMODIFIED IOSs!!"

    Is it safe if I have cIOS?

    ~modmystuff~
     
  6. CasperH

    CasperH Newbie

    Yes, with that he probably meant cIOScorp
     
  7. antiaverage

    Member antiaverage GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    317
    Country:
    United States
    Generally, the answer is yes, it's safe.

    Of course, do a NAND backup with BootMii installed as boot2 and you don't have to worry at all.
     
  8. The Pink Gato
    OP

    Member The Pink Gato GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Candy Mountain with Mitch
    Country:
    United States
    OK. I have Bootmii as Boot2 w/ NAND backup, so I am safe there.

    Here is my next question:

    I have seen a post saying there is a modified version of Priiloader (rev32) to fix bugs.
    Should I use this OR use rev30?

    ~modmystuff~
     
  9. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    rev32 fixes a bug where it always booted to the priiloader menu even if autoboot was set to system menu
     
  10. The Pink Gato
    OP

    Member The Pink Gato GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Candy Mountain with Mitch
    Country:
    United States
    Which one should I use then?

    ~modmystuff~
     
  11. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    install the 1 from wiibrew and if it won't autoboot the system menu install the r32 over the top
     
  12. The Pink Gato
    OP

    Member The Pink Gato GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Candy Mountain with Mitch
    Country:
    United States
    OK.

    Thanks to all of you. You really helped me a lot.

    Oh, BTW, do you have to autoboot to system menu?

    ~modmystuff~
     
  13. antiaverage

    Member antiaverage GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    317
    Country:
    United States
    No, it's only for those who want to do so. It's up to you. If you really wanted to autoboot to system menu, then it would be a problem if it didn't. If that's not your goal, then it doesn't matter. You don't have to autoboot to the system menu in order to get to the system menu.
     
  14. The Pink Gato
    OP

    Member The Pink Gato GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Candy Mountain with Mitch
    Country:
    United States
    OK.

    Sorry for bugging you guys, but this is my final question:

    I have heard people having problems with a patched IOS70 causing priiloader not to load to the system menu.
    Is that true?

    Also, is rev32 official or not?

    ~modmystuff~
     
  15. antiaverage

    Member antiaverage GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    317
    Country:
    United States
    If you patch IOS70, then you need to re-install Priiloader after patching. That's all. It's a pretty easy fix.

    The SVN for Priiloader is here:
    http://code.google.com/p/priiloader/source/list

    As you can see, it goes up to r39, so my guess is that r32 is compiled from the official source. So yes, it may very well be official. They just haven't released any compiled versions above r30 at the moment.
     
  16. The Pink Gato
    OP

    Member The Pink Gato GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Candy Mountain with Mitch
    Country:
    United States
    OK, I already patched IOS70 before installing Preloader, so if I install Priiloader over Preloader, will I be fine?

    ~modmystuff~
     
  17. antiaverage

    Member antiaverage GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    317
    Country:
    United States
    It should be fine.

    Also, in case you missed the edit in my last post...

    The SVN for Priiloader is here:
    http://code.google.com/p/priiloader/source/list

    As you can see, it goes up to r39, so my guess is that r32 is compiled from the official source. So yes, it may very well be official. They just haven't released any compiled versions above r30 at the moment.
     
  18. The Pink Gato
    OP

    Member The Pink Gato GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Candy Mountain with Mitch
    Country:
    United States
    N00b question: what do you mean by 'compiled versions'?

    ~modmystuff~
     
  19. antiaverage

    Member antiaverage GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    317
    Country:
    United States
    Human readable code has to be compiled to machine code. When people write code for something, it's in a language which is more easily read and understood by humans. It is then converted into code which is better for machines. That is the super super simple explanation. There is a lot more to it than that, but hopefully that's all you really needed to know.

    The people working on Priiloader collectively write code and store it on that site I pointed you towards. However, you can't just run the code they have on the site on your Wii. You have to compile it into an executable, like an elf or dol file in this case.
     
  20. The Pink Gato
    OP

    Member The Pink Gato GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Candy Mountain with Mitch
    Country:
    United States
    OK... so i have to use the latest compiled version(rev30), right?

    ~modmystuff~
     

Share This Page