Hardware Switch won't boot, broken eMMC, won't boot backup

ds34

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2020
Messages
373
Trophies
0
XP
433
Country
Germany
Hi there, my switch had a broken emmc chip. I replaced it, restored an old backup from 2018 (had to rename the folder tho since the replacement's NAND ID is different) but when I try to boot it using the stock option in the hekate_ipl template, it says unknown pkg1 version and hos version not supported (see the picture below for reference).

I have placed the latest hekate and atmosphere files onto the sd card.
For some reason the switch always goes to rcm mode, but autorcm is disabled in hekate, the button won't change to On, even after trying to turn it on.

So, the raw backup/restore option also backs up the prodinfo, sysinfo, boot partitions and BIS keys, right?
In theory, it should've restored these partitions as well, right?
Should I try restoring the backup again using NXNandManager?
And I should probably try to reformat the emmc with gptrestore, right?

But that still doesn't explain why it's always going into RCM mode.
Maybe the replacement mmc is broken or I have to partition it first before restoring the backup.
Screenshot_2022-05-22_at_20.46.04.png


What I have:
a backup of the ProdInfo
a backup of the SysInfo
a backup from some years ago, which probably works
a working emuNAND, which boots just fine
 
Last edited by ds34,

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,583
Trophies
2
XP
1,798
Country
United States
Hi there, my switch had a broken emmc chip. I replaced it, restored an old backup from 2018 (had to rename the folder tho since the replacement's NAND ID is different) but when I try to boot it using the stock option in the hekate_ipl template, it says unknown pkg1 version and hos version not supported (see the picture below for reference).

I have placed the latest hekate and atmosphere files onto the sd card.
For some reason the switch always goes to rcm mode, but autorcm is disabled in hekate, the button won't change to On, even after trying to turn it on.

So, the raw backup/restore option also backs up the prodinfo, sysinfo, boot partitions and BIS keys, right?
In theory, it should've restored these partitions as well, right?
Should I try restoring the backup again using NXNandManager?
And I should probably try to reformat the emmc with gptrestore, right?

But that still doesn't explain why it's always going into RCM mode.
Maybe the replacement mmc is broken or I have to partition it first before restoring the backup.
Screenshot_2022-05-22_at_20.46.04.png


What I have:
a backup of the ProdInfo
a backup of the SysInfo
a backup from some years ago, which probably works
a working emuNAND, which boots just fine
yeah, the full backup should have everything as far as I know.

addressing the pkg1 thing, is this an upgrade from a lower version (12) of Atmos/Helate?

If so, take a look at this guide to see if you missed anything: https://rentry.org/MigrateToAtmosphere1_0_0

e: also update your injector to latest
 

ds34

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2020
Messages
373
Trophies
0
XP
433
Country
Germany
I am injecting using TegraRCMGui, latest version, I tried various versions of hekate.
the switch was running an older version of atmosphere before (1.0<), updating to the latest release didn't change the result.
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,583
Trophies
2
XP
1,798
Country
United States
I am injecting using TegraRCMGui, latest version, I tried various versions of hekate.
the switch was running an older version of atmosphere before (1.0<), updating to the latest release didn't change the result.
There were some big changes when moving from lower versions to Atmos 13+.

Please double check to make sure you've updated your /bootloader/hekate_ipl.ini as indicated in the link above and that you've pulled down the latest fusee.bin and placed it in /bootloader/payloads/
 

ds34

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2020
Messages
373
Trophies
0
XP
433
Country
Germany
well, I have removed the old atmosphere and bootloader folders and put the new versions onto the card. I don't see how this could have an effect, but I'll try it.
but what about it always going into RCM mode?
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,583
Trophies
2
XP
1,798
Country
United States
well, I have removed the old atmosphere and bootloader folders and put the new versions onto the card. I don't see how this could have an effect, but I'll try it.
but what about it always going into RCM mode?
I’m trying to address the “unkown pkg1” issue first to get things booting properly. After removing the old /bootloader/ directory you will be missing both of those files suggested above.
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,583
Trophies
2
XP
1,798
Country
United States
  • Wow
Reactions: ds34

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,583
Trophies
2
XP
1,798
Country
United States
can I import prodinfo via nxnandmanager? or should I use an other way?
Based on your diagnosis, and if you are certain you are missing your Boot0/1 in Sysnand, I would export just the parts you are missing from your Emunand to fix your Sysnand.

Double check to be sure before hand that you didnt just forget to export boot 0/1 with Hekate.

https://rentry.org/BackupRestoreNAND

Creating a NAND backup:#



  1. Extract hekate_ctcaer_x.x.x_Nyx_x.x.x.zip into your SD card.
  2. Boot into Hekate.
  3. Press on the Tools tab.
  4. Pick the Backup eMMC option.
  5. Pick the eMMC RAW GPP option.
  6. Once done, press Close, and then pick Backup eMMC again.
  7. Pick the eMMC BOOT0 & BOOT1 option.
  8. Once done, press Close and shut down your Switch.
Your backup will now be in your backup folder inside of your SD card.
It is recommended that you move your backup folder somewhere on your PC, or on a cloud storage.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ds34

ds34

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2020
Messages
373
Trophies
0
XP
433
Country
Germany
well, I restored Boot0/Boot1 using Hekate. now I can finally disable AutoRCM.
but the switch instantly boots to a blue screen...
Edit: I booted via fusee.bin, not via hekate, so ofc it would panic because of the fuse mismatch. my bad. I'll try booting via hekate next
 

ds34

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2020
Messages
373
Trophies
0
XP
433
Country
Germany
haha I am so glad... it's actually my friends switch. her son accidentally updated it (at least he says so, no idea how that could've destroyed the eMMC).
haha I can even go online with the sysNAND since I have the right prodinfo.
And that's why everyone should take a backup!

I'll write a guide for this.... for people who are in the same situation that I am in.
 
Last edited by ds34,
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Primary care is already licensed to touch penises