1. Hochgeschwindigkeitswolke

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2021
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Germany
    Hey,
    so I changed the thermal paste because my fan made weird noises and switch got hot. After all that the switch's temperature was fine but after one hour or so i left it. so it went into standby mode and then did not turn on anymore. I checked the insides making sure i didnt damage anything and it seems fine ( i have a picture maybe you guys find something, *okay i cant post imgur link cuz im new). I think my nand is dmged cuz i went with exFat instead of Fat32. I tried everything i could find, different Atmosphere versions, different Hekate, Fat32, this guide: How to install any Switch firmware without burning fuses (sry im new i cant post links), etc. But I still boot into Blackscreen.

    Boot looks like this: I go into Hekate, use Fusee-Primary, then the Atmosphere splash comes and then Blackscreen, no nintendo logo.

    I dont care about getting banned. idk maybe that makes things easier.
     
  2. thesjaakspoiler

    thesjaakspoiler GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    One way to check if your NAND is the problem, is to dump it with Hekate.
    If you're getting errors there it might indeed be your NAND.
    There are so many other things that can cause that black screen after the Atmosphere splash.
    If you have a spare SD card around, just start off with a clean install of the CFW.
    Also make sure you download a fresh copy of all the files and the primary payload.
     
  3. Hochgeschwindigkeitswolke

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2021
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Germany
    Hey thx for your reply. So Hekate didnt spit out any errors during the backup process so i think my nand is fine?
    I tried another sdcard with different Atmosphere versions (also with and without MESOSPHERE). I also tried DeepSea but nothing worked.
    Here is the switch from inside:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex CVE-2018-6242
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3,598
    Country:
    Germany
    I think he means that your eMMC chip is toast. Maybe. Correct me if i'm wrong.
     
  5. eyeliner

    eyeliner Has an itch needing to be scratched.
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,747
    Country:
    Portugal
    Format the card as ExFAT.
    Update Atmosphere to latest, boot.

    Post results.
     
  6. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    8,990
    Country:
    United States
    Sound like problem with your NAND, if hekate can pickup internal emmc then you messed up your NAND.
     
  7. Hochgeschwindigkeitswolke

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2021
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Germany
    So just tried exFAT again and its still blackscreen.

    Sry but i dont really know what u mean. Yeah but i also think that my nand doesnt work properly.
     
  8. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    8,990
    Country:
    United States
    If you go into Hekate and then console info then emmc, if it see it, it mean your emmc is fine, you got any NAND backup to restore to? and don't use exFAT.
     
    Last edited by Hayato213, Mar 29, 2021
  9. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex CVE-2018-6242
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3,598
    Country:
    Germany
    Holy crap. No exFAT!
     
    tabzer likes this.
  10. Hochgeschwindigkeitswolke

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2021
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Germany
    Yeah emmc is there.

    haha, well i already tried exFAT and FAT32 and both dont work.

    I have a backup and i restored to it via nxnandmanager because both sxos and hekate wouldnt let me.
    Maybe that does hint to a problem
     
  11. eyeliner

    eyeliner Has an itch needing to be scratched.
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,747
    Country:
    Portugal
    Themes on Nand?
     
  12. Hochgeschwindigkeitswolke

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2021
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Germany
    I am not sure. But i think not. Can I check my nand if there are themes? Maybe with HacDiskMount?
     
  13. eyeliner

    eyeliner Has an itch needing to be scratched.
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,747
    Country:
    Portugal
    I do not know, human. There's a folder to delete in case of it, but I stay away from that, and I am unable to help there.
     
  14. Hochgeschwindigkeitswolke

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2021
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Germany
    too bad. well thx for helping.
     
  15. tabzer

    tabzer Newbie
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2019
    Messages:
    1,761
    Country:
    Japan
    What made you recommend exFAT?


    Can you boot normally without an SD card? Is it just black screen there too? You are probably using AutoRCM. You should disable that. It's obsolete now. You followed an obsolete guide by the sounds of it.
     
  16. Snap00

    Snap00 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Swaziland
    Hi Hispeedcloud

    Your Nand can‘t get damaged by using ExFat or Fat32, because this filesystems were only used on the SD Card. The Nand has its own filesystem.

    When the Filesystem on the SD Card gets corrupted, it affects your Gamedata and the CFW. Did you checked, if all the plugs and connections are fitting right ?

    I don‘t know how the backup function in Hekate exactly works, but i think it just reads the Nand bit by bit. Did you tried to boot normaly, without CFW ?

    Greets, Snap.
     
  17. Hochgeschwindigkeitswolke

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2021
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Germany
    Yeah i already tried that. And just now again. Booting without AutoRCM and sdcard also results in Blackscreen.
    I have 14 burnt Fuses and the internet says thats 11.x.x which is also the backup i restored to.
     
  18. tabzer

    tabzer Newbie
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2019
    Messages:
    1,761
    Country:
    Japan
    Then I'm with @Hayato213 on his synopsis. To me, it sounds like you you were "brave" enough to poke around your NAND with nxnandmanager, and not have a proper backup.
     
  19. Hochgeschwindigkeitswolke

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2021
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Germany
    I made a backup of my backup and then messed with it. So in theory the orignal backup should work?
    I just tested the original backup i made with sxos with sxos and it gives me Errcode=00FFFD47.
    So my only backup is not working. I guess my switch is useless then?
     
    tabzer likes this.
  20. tabzer

    tabzer Newbie
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2019
    Messages:
    1,761
    Country:
    Japan
    "The backup folder goes inside a folder called sxos"

    I found that on a Spanish site.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Blackscreen, booting, Primary