Hardware Switch V1 OLED screen Swap

Zkajavier

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
297
Trophies
0
XP
976
Country
Costa Rica
The oled version whole assembly is ever slightly bigger than the regular one, not just the screen. So it will just not fit.

Someone could arguably create a mod with a better screen but nothing else.
 

LeyendaV

The One and Only
Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2020
Messages
658
Trophies
1
Age
30
Website
heylink.me
XP
1,414
Country
Argentina
The OLED screen is bigger than the V1's. Even if you can succesfully fit it inside a V1 and make it work, the borders of the case will cover part of the screen and you won't be able to see the whole displayed image, just a cropped picture.
 

driverdis

I am Justice
Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
2,819
Trophies
1
Age
29
Location
1.048596β
XP
2,433
Country
United States
It will never work without a custom driver board for the OLED panel. You can’t just attach an OLED screen to an LCD driver board like the normal Switch has. You can at least get custom laminated lcd displays for the Switch instead that will fit and look much nicer although not as good as an actual OLED screen.
 

Youffie

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 18, 2018
Messages
48
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Guadalajara
Website
instagram.com
XP
211
Country
Mexico
It will never work without a custom driver board for the OLED panel. You can’t just attach an OLED screen to an LCD driver board like the normal Switch has. You can at least get custom laminated lcd displays for the Switch instead that will fit and look much nicer although not as good as an actual OLED screen.
they sell touchscreen on Aliexpress too. maybe if you plug the OLED screen and the OLED touchscreen frame connector to the motherboard, it will just take a calibration step to configure it, or I can write a quick homebrew to detect the screen size... the problem is knowing if the connector for the OLED and the touchscreen are the same size, pin, plug as the LCD one . . . also OLED generally uses more power, so have to check if the motherboard can deliver too . . .
 

Cyka_Delik

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 28, 2018
Messages
40
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
101
Country
United States
I wonder if the OG internals would fit into an OLED housing well and if you could swap the driver boards.
Wonder how similar the hardware actually is between the two of them.
 

driverdis

I am Justice
Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
2,819
Trophies
1
Age
29
Location
1.048596β
XP
2,433
Country
United States
I wonder if the OG internals would fit into an OLED housing well and if you could swap the driver boards.
Wonder how similar the hardware actually is between the two of them.
As far alas I am aware, the OLED board is a different shape so the OG internals will not fit. Also the driver board is not separate on the Switch so you can’t swap driver boards for the OLED. Also even if you could swap them, Horizon OS will not work with the new driver board since it will assume you have normal Switch and not an OLED Switch.
 

mathieulh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2008
Messages
376
Trophies
0
Website
keybase.io
XP
867
Country
France
As far alas I am aware, the OLED board is a different shape so the OG internals will not fit. Also the driver board is not separate on the Switch so you can’t swap driver boards for the OLED. Also even if you could swap them, Horizon OS will not work with the new driver board since it will assume you have normal Switch and not an OLED Switch.
You could, in theory swap the driver IC, assuming the BGA packages are compatible, but at that point you might as well just install a modchip on an OLED.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: Ghosts is a pretty good show on the bbc