Question Switch shows SX OS splash screen then changes to original firmware

Discussion in 'Switch - Exploits, Custom Firmwares & Soft Mods' started by happyjack, Jun 23, 2018.

  1. happyjack
    OP

    happyjack Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 23, 2018
    United States
    Exactly as the title says. I started up the os in rcm mode for the first time and got the license-request.dat and went to the website and got my license.dat file and put it in the microsd. When i go to inject the payload again though the sx os splash screen comes up for a second then it boots the standard firmware. Anyone else having this problem?
     
  2. AnalogMan

    AnalogMan ultraSuMoFramework Dev

    Member
    10
    Apr 20, 2007
    United States
    Open the Album, does it load the album or the backup loader?
     
    y4my4m likes this.
  3. y4my4m

    y4my4m Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 19, 2018
    Japan
    No reply means OP read your comment, realized he's a moron and forgot to delete this thread. lol
     
  4. redcat2401

    redcat2401 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 23, 2018
    Australia
    Haha poor kid
     
  5. baretbh

    baretbh GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    2
    May 26, 2018
    Mexico
    BC, Mexico
    Guess he bought the os without even doing any research on it
     
  6. jakkal

    jakkal GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    9
    Apr 27, 2018
    United States
    shaking my damn head
     
  7. drkilra

    drkilra Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Saturday
    United States
    I am having the exact same issue as the op, it loads the standard album but its just blank. I’ve tried hitting the R key and it doesnt do anything. I even dropped the homebrew file in the memory cards (exFat formatted by switch) root dir like someone else suggested in another forum and that had no effect at all. My unit is one of the first to hit the shelves so I’m sure its exploitable. I donno wtf is going on.. was it because I ran recovery mode on pin 9&10?
     
    Last edited by drkilra, Aug 11, 2018 at 7:33 PM
    hippy dave likes this.
  8. AnalogMan

    AnalogMan ultraSuMoFramework Dev

    Member
    10
    Apr 20, 2007
    United States
    Are you bridging 9&10 directly on the Switch’s rail with a jig or did you bridge 9&10 on a JoyCon? Because 9&10 on the Switch side doesn’t work. Use 1&10, 2&10, or 7&10.
     
  9. drkilra

    drkilra Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Saturday
    United States
    I did 9&10 on the joycon which was then plugged in. TegraRcm is showing the device is in rcm mode and allows the payload so I was under the impression it was working.. so thats incorrect?

    Thanks for your reply by the way
     
  10. Canna

    Canna GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    2
    Jul 14, 2018
    United Kingdom
    Lol guys this thread made my day haha..

    So to get sx os to work

    Place boot.dat on sd card insert into switch

    Put switch into rcm mode By using the right side of switch joycon rail
    By jumping pin 10 to ground or pin 10 and 1
    Just dont ground pin 4
    Or use ya jig ya rich b**tard
    hold down volume and power for a second

    Plug in sx dongle Or use tegrasmashgui and send Sx os Payload via usb to usb c cable

    Now if done correctly you should hit the SX OS Main screen with 3 icons
    [​IMG]
    If not start again till you get that.

    Also if you make that screen Sx Payload will make you a requestlicense.dat file
    for none sx pro users go to website below to upload that to get your verified licence.dat which guess what goes back on your sd card

    Everything you need to know how your suppose to use and files you need will be found here
    https://sx.xecuter.com/

    Sx pro quick guide
    https://sx.xecuter.com/download/manuals/sxpro-quickstart/[US]_SX_Pro_Quickstart_Guide_v1.0.pdf


    Non sx pro Guide
    https://sx.xecuter.com/download/manuals/sxos/[US]_SXOS_v1.2.pdf
     
    Last edited by Canna, Aug 11, 2018 at 9:35 PM
  11. drkilra

    drkilra Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Saturday
    United States
    Yeah it really made my day yesterday too ..because I got to the SX OS main menu as you described and select the first option, did all the licensing stuff only to boot into what seems to be the standard ofw, since albums is not doing jack. Im using tin foil from this guys video on youtube (3-UeB_enPrM). I read the manuals step by step yesterday. The only thing that did match was the pins
     
  12. Canna

    Canna GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    2
    Jul 14, 2018
    United Kingdom

    Wow be carefull with that tinfoil shit you bridge or bridge pin 4 for too long to ground say good bye,
    thats 5v pin 4

    Anyway..

    Your using sxos 1,4 right ? if not go get that update cause i think versions below 1.4 dont have homebrew menu built in. and reuire a file called hbmenu.nro to go onto sd card root.
    But if your 1.4 you wont need it
    And to get into that Boot menu with sx os again hold volume up when u use sxpro dongle or u send payload with tegra
     
    Last edited by Canna, Aug 11, 2018 at 9:47 PM
  13. drkilra

    drkilra Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Saturday
    United States
    Yeah im using 1.4 (non-pro), my switch is 5.1.0, my foils on 9&10 havnt came close to pin 4 but thanks for the heads up, id hate to fry my crap. I got to the boot menu no problem with the power and vol + and tegra, like the op implicitly described.
     
  14. Canna

    Canna GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    2
    Jul 14, 2018
    United Kingdom
    Boot menu as in the picture i posted up there ? 3 icons ?
     
  15. drkilra

    drkilra Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Saturday
    United States
    Yeah all 3 brotha, I even got the license dat uploaded and activated and placed on the sd..I made it that far at least.
     
    Last edited by drkilra, Aug 11, 2018 at 9:56 PM
  16. Canna

    Canna GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    2
    Jul 14, 2018
    United Kingdom
    What the actual fck then

    On sd should be boot.dat and license.dat

    Backup license.dat format sd if possible,, exfat right >? sure loader don't support fat32 or is it the apps anyway............
    and download another sx os 1.4 boot.dat and place on sd incase yours was corrupt with the lisence.dat you just backed up

    And try again.

    Because when you press album you should get the main menu of sxos,

    Im running Sx Os with and without a dongle
    On a 5.1.0 system with sx os 1.4
    Formatted sd to exfat

    and its fine

    Hey also your L button isnt broke or being pressed or sticking is it ? as that will load normal album menu btw
     
    Last edited by Canna, Aug 11, 2018 at 10:09 PM
  17. drkilra

    drkilra Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Saturday
    United States
    Yeah like wtf..

    Im using exFat, I just had nintendo format it to avoid problems since some of my games are going to be over 4GB and unsupported by fat32.. I did format and re-download the boot.dat and extracted it last night to see if it was screwed up backing up the license.dat and license-data.dat so I dont lose my license. But I had the same issue where I selected boot custom fw and it loads up nintendo with regular album. My L button is good thank god, I am checking this list to see if my serial is not supported https://gbatemp.net/threads/switch-informations-by-serial-number.481215/ and will reformat and redownload the files sxos boot again. I’ll report back the results, I appreciate your help so far.
     
  18. Canna

    Canna GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    2
    Jul 14, 2018
    United Kingdom
    Your switch is supported.... that list is just for new patched switches that can't run payloads from rcm

    which yours can cause u got into the sxos bootloader so ignore that list

    Check the format in windows incase the switch formatted it to fat32..
    And dude it will look exactly the same as original except
    the album will redirect to sxos instead of normal album

    Best bet like i said

    use windows to format sd card to exfat quick method
    Then
    Use a programme called sd card formatter best programme for sd cards
    and again exfat quick method.

    Place new boot.dat and license.dat.
    boot into sx boot loader the 3 icons
    Now if u reach that screen it means your boot.dat should be ok as thats what its loading.
    as for license it doesn't matter as it will load through album without license

    either bad sd card or wrong format im sure of it..

    sx os looks like normal stock except when u click on album it should take you into SX OS MENU

    Make sure its formatted to exfat ignore the switch format

    heres a guide to try the button combos when selecting album to see if u can get in
    https://sx.xecuter.com/download/manuals/sxos/[US]_SXOS_v1.2.pdf

    If not dude do ya self a favour and grab another sd card just for testing sx os
     
  19. midstor

    midstor Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Aug 1, 2018
    United States
    LOL, um maybe look at a tutorial before doing this stuff. Open the album app my dude
     
    CrAzYLiFe likes this.
  20. drkilra

    drkilra Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Saturday
    United States
    Alright I killed it last night.. The instructions manual provided by sx-os on page 14 mentions using nintendos system to format the sdcard which I did initially. But this time I used my windows 10 pc and exFat formatted it - through properties and redropped the files (for the 4th time) and wouldnt you f’n know it, the god damn album is going into sx now.

    Thank you all for your help, hopefully they add some more entries to the troubleshooting to recommend using the pc to format, etc.