Switch OLED teardown V1/V2

TheUnknownOne

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 29, 2021
Messages
78
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
200
Country
United States
Hello, just received my OLED chips and when connecting to the PC one goes straight to RED led and the other Yellow led.

the one with that goes straight to Red has a groove on one of the chips like its been dremeled.

I'm assuming its dead? what about the Yellow led one? should it not be Green or only when it's installed?

still waiting for my OLED Switch to arrive.
The red sounds like a DOA chip, the yellow is it's normal behaviour.

As for the scratches on the chips. They're doing this so people can't tell what kind of chip it is. Probably to try and stop reverse engineering.
 
  • Like
Reactions: note9 and gelderm

Cryzzgrantham

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 30, 2018
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
194
Country
United Kingdom
Nice and clean install. Good job! I like this version better than mine...but I was impatient and I couldn't find your version for sale on Ali.
Ive been using a lot of both and the non usb version glitches instantly everytime, where as the one with debug seems to be so sporadic across the board.

imo that flex is perfect, its more like LITE installs, if we had a version with the extra flex, half dat0 adapter and debug port that would be perfect.
 

lufeig

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2009
Messages
282
Trophies
0
Age
43
Location
São Paulo, Brazil
XP
767
Country
Brazil
Ive been using a lot of both and the non usb version glitches instantly everytime, where as the one with debug seems to be so sporadic across the board.

imo that flex is perfect, its more like LITE installs, if we had a version with the extra flex, half dat0 adapter and debug port that would be perfect.
mine is the usb version and I agree that it's glitching times are erratic, even after updating its firmware to the 0.2.0 China proper edition from Mena.
 

ViOTeK

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 31, 2021
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
79
Country
Canada
Any ideas on why my RST point will not show a diode reading? Have tried with 3 multi-meters now, including a brand new one, same thing with all of them. I only get a reading if I reverse the leads and use red on the ground and black on the RST point. That said, with the new meter my readings are more in line with the others I've seen:

DAT0 = .700
CLK = .695
CMD = .691
RST = nothing with black on ground, reversing the polarity I see 415, same thing occurs directly at RST solder point.
3.3v = .712
GND = 0
 

MrGrinch

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 31, 2020
Messages
18
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
59
Country
United States
Any ideas on why my RST point will not show a diode reading? Have tried with 3 multi-meters now, including a brand new one, same thing with all of them. I only get a reading if I reverse the leads and use red on the ground and black on the RST point. That said, with the new meter my readings are more in line with the others I've seen:

DAT0 = .700
CLK = .695
CMD = .691
RST = nothing with black on ground, reversing the polarity I see 415, same thing occurs directly at RST solder point.
3.3v = .712
GND = 0

My guess is: https://gbatemp.net/threads/nintend...or-modchip-install.601394/page-5#post-9668457
 

Excitedguy

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
69
Trophies
0
XP
612
Country
United States
Just wanted to give a shout-out to @de9ed !

He’s the real deal and installed 2 modchips in both my OLED switches. I play primarily in handheld so OLED is definitely worth the upgrade and costs of the modchip and installation.

I actually tried to do 1 install myself and it fried the switch. I thought I did the install right and all the diode values were correct, but yet I still saw some smoke after turning it on to test. So lost confidence in my skills and decided to have a pro like @de9ed do the installs for me.

I found out later the reason my install failed is because there is a bug in spacecraft v1 on the Hwfly lite modchip that if you turn on the switch with no sd card inserted, it sends 5v to the switch and fries it. It pains me that I killed it by just forgetting to plug in the sd card, but at least I know now my micro soldering skills are decent for being a beginner!

9CB77028-EDE4-4B65-904F-93DB3950BF25.jpeg
 

White_Raven_X

Hack everything, hack the world!
Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2019
Messages
509
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
984
Country
Canada
I still have an hwfly v2 and I found a schematic to follow to install in a oled... But I read somewhere that I would need to update the firmware as OLEDs use more voltage or something like that and the firmware on the V2 isn't compatible even though the hardware can be installed.
Can anyone confirm this? Also can I update the firmware on this hwfly v2 cause I also read it was locked down and cannot be updated? I'm confused.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20211216_142215.jpg
    IMG_20211216_142215.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 24
  • C6F0ORIl.jpg
    C6F0ORIl.jpg
    71.5 KB · Views: 29
  • OLED-DIAGRAM-HW-SX-CORE.jpg
    7.3 MB · Views: 24

Excitedguy

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
69
Trophies
0
XP
612
Country
United States
I still have an hwfly v2 and I found a schematic to follow to install in a oled... But I read somewhere that I would need to update the firmware as OLEDs use more voltage or something like that and the firmware on the V2 isn't compatible even though the hardware can be installed.
Can anyone confirm this? Also can I update the firmware on this hwfly v2 cause I also read it was locked down and cannot be updated? I'm confused.

If it's on spacecraft v2 and not v1, it's safe to install into an OLED. Only spacecraft v1 sends the 5v to the switch if no sd card is inserted or payload.bin is missing.

The only thing I can warn you about v2 though is that it has some compatibility issues with some sd cards not working. To my knowledge, all samsung sd cards work fine, other brands are trial and error to see which work and which don't.
 

note9

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 13, 2020
Messages
23
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
141
Country
United Kingdom
The red sounds like a DOA chip, the yellow is it's normal behaviour.

As for the scratches on the chips. They're doing this so people can't tell what kind of chip it is. Probably to try and stop reverse engineering.

Is it faulty firmware that can be reflashed or it's a dead chip?
 

TheUnknownOne

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 29, 2021
Messages
78
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
200
Country
United States
If it's on spacecraft v2 and not v1, it's safe to install into an OLED. Only spacecraft v1 sends the 5v to the switch if no sd card is inserted or payload.bin is missing.

The only thing I can warn you about v2 though is that it has some compatibility issues with some sd cards not working. To my knowledge, all samsung sd cards work fine, other brands are trial and error to see which work and which don't.
A newer fw has been released that for the most part has fixed the issue. It sure has hell did for me (on the 6 wire chip)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Donnie-Burger

boston909

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 10, 2022
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
27
Country
United Kingdom
A newer fw has been released that for the most part has fixed the issue. It sure has hell did for me (on the 6 wire chip)
Did you flash the r021 firmware from sthetix? I'm just asking around about this as my switch is currently with my local modder to install the OLED chip. :)
 

TheUnknownOne

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 29, 2021
Messages
78
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
200
Country
United States
Did you flash the r021 firmware from sthetix? I'm just asking around about this as my switch is currently with my local modder to install the OLED chip. :)
If that's the one where he updated the video to add that, then yes that's the one. Trust me it is worth doing.
 

lufeig

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2009
Messages
282
Trophies
0
Age
43
Location
São Paulo, Brazil
XP
767
Country
Brazil
Anyone also using the UL10064 wire he is recommending?
I am and highly recommend it.

It’s easier to manipulate than 0.1mm enamel wire. The silicone coating gives the impression of being safer than enamel too.

This is my OLED installation using it.
 

Attachments

  • EFE58612-EDD2-4E1B-BA3A-339654A69DDD.jpeg
    EFE58612-EDD2-4E1B-BA3A-339654A69DDD.jpeg
    1 MB · Views: 22
  • Like
Reactions: gelderm
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Next gen will probably be all portable
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Some things (like Super Famicom games) just feel right when you play them using the original hardware and a CRT
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    The PS tablet
    Gift
  • mthrnite tempBOT: @ mthrnite
    switches the box from tv to game
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Not so sure about that - the tendency for "graphics uber alles" tends to lead to very high power consumption
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    If you look at what's now portability graphics are catching up to console quality
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Nintendy is a huge example of not everyone caring about powerful specs most that do will be hardcore PC players anyway
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    The thing is that the IATA rules impose a pretty hard limit of 100Wh on battery sizes for lithium batteries - and it doesn't look like Li is going away soon
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    So if you want (say) 4 hours of runtime you need a maximum system-level power consumption of 25W
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Yeah but we already have AAA titles looking fine on tablet form 1080p displays
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Human eye can only tell so much of a difference
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    For reference, the PS5 is rated at 350W and the Xbox series X at 275W - and that's console only, without any display
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    But the future always holds performance never know what the aliens will donate from their left over tech
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Maybe :) - but batteries have turned out to be a pretty hard problem
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Like I said most that will truly care will already be hard core gaming pcers
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    And DF subscribers :)
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    I bet you could find a neighbor with a ps5 and they'd have no idea what the word spec means
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Yeah probably - people on forums seem to care a lot, but they are heavily self-selected
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Most on forums try to get a good learning of actual tech
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Papaya, so good
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Only 13 more titles to go on ps3 yay
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    I still have a remnant of the taste of the papaya
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    @KenniesNewName June will come sooner than the end of that process
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    PS3 had horrible speeds off the drive
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I always wondered why, but I am pretty sure it was trying to reduce costs
    Gift
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: I always wondered why, but I am pretty sure it was trying to reduce costs