Hacking SWITCH NOOB PARADISE - Ask questions here

marque84

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 21, 2018
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
44
Country
Germany
Hey guys,
a quick noob question here because i get mixed information on the internet:

I have an "old" model which is cracked by fusee. now i would like to use the online features.

Is it sufficient to "jusT" boot normal and install a game i purchased officially to not be able to be banned?
Do i have to worry about burning fuses? I read that when booting the switch checkes the amount of burned fuses for each firmware. if i update by conjour without burning fuses the boot process checkes for the fuses as well and "reburns" them which makes downgrading not possible anymore.

Is this true? Can i play online without having to worry if i just remove the sd card and buy the game officically?

Thank you :)
 

goo7777777777

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 7, 2019
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
37
Country
France
Hi guys, quick n00b question:

Can someone provide me old joy-con (joy-con toolkit extracted) dumps please, or lins to them?
Can't find there nowhere.

Got this switch, joy-cons already updated, seems to me more of a software problem but I have no dumps for them.
Yet I've seen here and there that they are all the same, just a serial number to change.

Regards.

G.
 

qaz015393

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2009
Messages
789
Trophies
0
XP
715
Country
United States
The guide assumes that the latest firmware can be hacked via CFW which is not the case at the current time but is usually the case. Anyway, you can ignore that step altogether or substitute it with a game cartridge.

Restore a NAND backup. I consider Kefir to be malware.
So I have to ? Because it's been a while since I made a backup of my system and I don't remember if I made one before and after I updated to 8.10 before I used Kefir.
 

ritit

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 7, 2019
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
15
Country
Poland
Hi guys!
I really need help. I tried to restore my "clean" NAND, but the system cannot boot afterwards. It shows Nintendo logo, then
" An error has occured, error code: 2002-4686 "
and on the bottom (x1) my serial number x(2) 6.2.0
I suppose my clean nand had older system version than my CFW currently had.
How can i upgrade my switch OFW, without breaking clean backup?
 

MusicallyInspired

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Messages
98
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
297
Country
Canada
I did a system update yesterday on my sysMMC to 9.1.0. All was fine. Booted back into emuMMC to do some other stuff. Still fine. Now I'm trying to launch stock sysMMC from hekate but it just reboots and takes me back to Hekate every time. What happened and how can I fix this? emuMMC still works.
 

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
17,068
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,403
Country
United States
So I have to ? Because it's been a while since I made a backup of my system and I don't remember if I made one before and after I updated to 8.10 before I used Kefir.
Because Kefir is a type of malware, yes.

Hi guys!
I really need help. I tried to restore my "clean" NAND, but the system cannot boot afterwards. It shows Nintendo logo, then
" An error has occured, error code: 2002-4686 "
and on the bottom (x1) my serial number x(2) 6.2.0
I suppose my clean nand had older system version than my CFW currently had.
How can i upgrade my switch OFW, without breaking clean backup?
What format is your SD card? And what version of CFW are you using?

I did a system update yesterday on my sysMMC to 9.1.0. All was fine. Booted back into emuMMC to do some other stuff. Still fine. Now I'm trying to launch stock sysMMC from hekate but it just reboots and takes me back to Hekate every time. What happened and how can I fix this? emuMMC still works.
Hekate does not support firmware 9.1 yet.
 

ritit

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 7, 2019
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
15
Country
Poland
I don't understand. I put my backup on 64 exFAT sd card and restored the system on switch. It doesn't boot. My backup was a year old -version 6.2 but . I ran CFW 7.x.x on switch but i'm not sure...
 

qaz015393

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2009
Messages
789
Trophies
0
XP
715
Country
United States
Because Kefir is a type of malware, yes.

What format is your SD card? And what version of CFW are you using?

Hekate does not support firmware 9.1 yet.
Dang that stinks. I hate how I couldn't wait to play Bloodstained and used it. I don't think I did a backup before I used it sadly. Fudge. I'm going to double check but doesn't that mean that the save files for the account Kefir made will be deleted? At least it was only 2 games but damn don't want to redo everything in Pokémon again. But I guess as long as I can it se pkhex and get those Pokémon back I guess it's not a total loss.
 

erk

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 13, 2018
Messages
46
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
255
Country
United States
Have a new HDD formatted to exfat. Is it ok to use for SX OS if there’s other files on it, pics music, docs, etc? Will XCI and nsps need to be on the root?
 

Emenaria

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2015
Messages
257
Trophies
0
XP
1,255
Country
Japan
Hey, noob questions.

I have been avoiding burning fuses by performing Sysnand updates via ChoiDujourNX (so I can downgrade my Switch in the future) because I heard that Untethered coldboot could be possible for Switch <3.0.1, but is it ever going to happen?

Also, the update nag shows up every time I launch a game even though I am on the latest firmware. This is super annoying and I'm afraid I'll eventually press "Yes" by accident when the prompt shows up. Does this happen because I update Sysnand via ChoiDujourNX?

Should I just stop caring about avoiding burning fuses and update Sysnand without using ChoiDujourNX?

Also, If I update Sysnand from 9.0.1 to 9.1.0 without ChouDujourNX, will it disable Auto-RCM? Do I need to prepare a jig?
 
Last edited by Emenaria,

soul0war

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
67
XP
63
Country
United States
@Draxzelex If I update my sysNand to 9.1 to go online, I won't be able to go on my emuNand because Hekate isn't updated. But with atmosphere updated to work with 9.1.0 it should only be a matter of time.

My question is, I will still be able to use hekate feature to autoRCM so I don't burn fuse after teh update and be able to go online but have to wait for hekate to enter my 8.10 emunand. Right?
 

Galebourn

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 24, 2015
Messages
75
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
608
Country
Gambia, The
I have huge problems getting Atmosphere/Kosmos to work on my Switch.
I always used SX OS before, but I decided to make a fresh emummc on a new SD card.
However, Hekate won't boot into anything. When I start the emummc, I see the AtlasNX/Kosmos splashscreen and then the Switch turns off. Strangely enough, Hekate won't even boot my regular sysnand, which can be started without RCM just fine.
- Both my partitions (the files and the emummc partition) are FAT32
- My sysnand firmware is 4.1.0
- The only files on the SD are the files from here: https://sdsetup.com

Is there anything I can try to make this work?
 

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
17,068
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,403
Country
United States
I don't understand. I put my backup on 64 exFAT sd card and restored the system on switch. It doesn't boot. My backup was a year old -version 6.2 but . I ran CFW 7.x.x on switch but i'm not sure...
The console does not support exFAT out of the box. Its a separate update that has to be either downloaded online or installed via homebrew. Not to mention that exFAT is notoriously unstable on the Switch and there is no reason to be using exFAT. Format the SD card to FAT32.

Hey, noob questions.

I have been avoiding burning fuses by performing Sysnand updates via ChoiDujourNX (so I can downgrade my Switch in the future) because I heard that Untethered coldboot could be possible for Switch <3.0.1, but is it ever going to happen?

Also, the update nag shows up every time I launch a game even though I am on the latest firmware. This is super annoying and I'm afraid I'll eventually press "Yes" by accident when the prompt shows up. Does this happen because I update Sysnand via ChoiDujourNX?

Should I just stop caring about avoiding burning fuses and update Sysnand without using ChoiDujourNX?

Also, If I update Sysnand from 9.0.1 to 9.1.0 without ChouDujourNX, will it disable Auto-RCM? Do I need to prepare a jig?
I suppose this post was made before CFW was updated to support firmware 9.1 but you can now update to the latest firmware without burning fuses. Also ChoiDujourNX automatically enables AutoRCM when it installs a firmware. More precisely, since the firmware installation will overwrite whatever is in BOOT0 AutoRCM or not, it only matters if you enable AutoRCM during the installation or not.

@Draxzelex If I update my sysNand to 9.1 to go online, I won't be able to go on my emuNand because Hekate isn't updated. But with atmosphere updated to work with 9.1.0 it should only be a matter of time.

My question is, I will still be able to use hekate feature to autoRCM so I don't burn fuse after teh update and be able to go online but have to wait for hekate to enter my 8.10 emunand. Right?
You will not be able to use Hekate to launch anything on firmware 9.1. But everything else should work with Hekate.
Will there be a problem if we keep emunand at 9.0.1 and update only sysnand to 9.1.0?
No
 

ritit

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 7, 2019
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
15
Country
Poland
The console does not support exFAT out of the box. Its a separate update that has to be either downloaded online or installed via homebrew. Not to mention that exFAT is notoriously unstable on the Switch and there is no reason to be using exFAT. Format the SD card to FAT32.
No
Okay but what should i even put on that SD card?
I used exFat to restore NAND on my console, the file was 30GB so i couldn't use FAT32.
I just want to go back to my clean OFW.
 

DaddyNexxus

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 30, 2019
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
36
Country
United States
Hey guys, need some help to prevent something in the future. I attempted to update my CFW version on my ipatched switch to 9.0.1. After doing this, switch would not boot into CFW (there would be a black screen after atmosphere logo).

I jumped through some hoops trying to resolve, but nothing worked. Finally, I wiped my SD and put just the basics on the switch, atmosphere, hekate, hbmenu. After this I was able to boot into CFW 8.0.x again.

I decided to attempt the update to 9.0.1 again with ChoiDujourNX. I was able to do the reboot and it showed 9.0.1 (custom firmware). I booted into OFW after this for something (I was putting stuff on SD card). Upon booting into OFW, my OFW version was 9.0.1. This obviously makes my switch worthless to me, no homebrew, etc. I dont understand how this happened and was hoping someone could help me prevent it happening in the future. Thank you.
 

Ray999

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 9, 2019
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
15
Country
Italy
Hello everyone, i have a quick question.
I have tried to update Hekate and Atmosphere and now i can't boot my Sysnand cfw. I have a Sysnand cfw+ emunand cfw + stock setup. Whenever i try to boot a cfw with hekate it says: Failed to apply /nosighchk/ and failed to launch HOS. I have already tried to install the kosmos pack and nothing happens. Emunand cfw works fine if i boot it with fusee-primary. Any ideas? Thank you
 

soul0war

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
67
XP
63
Country
United States
Which partition shouydl I use to be online Stock, sysnand, or emunand ?

Tried going online with sysnand but when I tried to software update it brought me to the homebrew launcher .. wondering if something I did was wrong.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    I was just happy to download a avi throw it on a flash drive and watch digital content through rca
    Gift
  • SacredMilkOG @ SacredMilkOG:
    There's usually just some sort of latch/pin that keeps the tape from bumping up. Unless it's really tricky- some of them had those stubs that stuck itnto the spots on the tapes
    Gift
  • SacredMilkOG @ SacredMilkOG:
    I miss... well, a lot of things I guess.
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    I was so pissed cause the person I was living with bought a fancy new HDTV right when mine broke lol
    Gift
  • SacredMilkOG @ SacredMilkOG:
    I need at least 1 old TV in my future home. With RCA
    inputs
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    I don't even see them at goodwill that often anymore tbh
    Gift
  • SacredMilkOG @ SacredMilkOG:
    As for HD, well they're a dime a dozen still these days. Dunno what brand I'd go for though...
    Gift
  • SacredMilkOG @ SacredMilkOG:
    Really? :/
    Gift
  • SacredMilkOG @ SacredMilkOG:
    I think I oughta hang onto whatever one I see and really like.
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Ones in my area no probably on Facebook marketplaces
    Gift
  • SacredMilkOG @ SacredMilkOG:
    I don't like the idea of running an adapter through an HDTV for old consoles. They kind of suck the times I dealt with them
    Gift
  • SacredMilkOG @ SacredMilkOG:
    Yeah, people still throw them out time to time.
    Gift
  • SacredMilkOG @ SacredMilkOG:
    Watch... future is gonna be full of people sellng vintage tvs for big money. lol
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Depends of the tv my living room tv is like a 50" doesn't stretch but on my 65" it does I don't really mind it but black bars always annoy me
    Gift
  • SacredMilkOG @ SacredMilkOG:
    You need them to play games and watch movies in their proper formats. It isn't just a nostalgia thing. It's a quality thing.

    And yeah, black bars is yuck
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Stretching the image doesn't really hurt quality too bad on my tvs
    Gift
  • SacredMilkOG @ SacredMilkOG:
    My eyes can practically feel it xD but not many people mind much. Persoanlly I think the digital conversion just looks too clean. Weird to say
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Everything pre 2015 is just getting so good with emulation now days
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    And theirs like a rip of every media content you could pretty much think of
    Gift
  • SacredMilkOG @ SacredMilkOG:
    True- but I prefer the traditional hardware. They just plain work right... RetroArch and PPSSPP still aren't even perfect. Seems like all of the games I really wanna play have some hiccups still. Silent Hill Origins for instance still has that annoying flashlight bug
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    I prey steamdeck can emulate psp at max speed lol
    Gift
  • SacredMilkOG @ SacredMilkOG:
    Maybe true... but it gets choppy and in some cases they get converted and recompressed too many times.

    Even still, I insist there will always be a difference that matters
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Guess digital has just sucked me in I'm more the type that collects hardware and want it all on that one device
    +1
    Gift
  • SacredMilkOG @ SacredMilkOG:
    SteamDeck :P it will probably play full speed for sure. My current Android plays them full speed and with tweaks and upscaling. The problems come with the emulation itself
    Gift
  • SacredMilkOG @ SacredMilkOG:
    I feel you
    Gift
    SacredMilkOG @ SacredMilkOG: I feel you