Hacking SWITCH NOOB PARADISE - Ask questions here

renswic

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
37
Country
United States
Hello. I recently picked up a switch and first thing I did was install cfw. Everything is going well on it and I couldn't be happier I just have a couple of stupid questions that I was hoping you guys could answer.

I primarily use my phone to start the CFW and it's kind of a hassle using a 6-inch otg cable and then a 3 foot USB c cable and was wondering if you can use a generic USB c to USB c to send the payload or not.

Also currently using a 64GB SD card space is going away swiftly on this thing if I were to update to a bigger SD card is it as simple as it was with the 3DS where it was copy paste everything to the new card.

Not sure if it matters with my questions but it's a launch switch running 8.1.0, latest versions of hekate and atmosphere
 
Last edited by renswic,

boooluk

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 29, 2019
Messages
83
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
78
Country
United Kingdom
Hello. I recently picked up a switch and first thing I did was install cfw. Everything is going well on it and I couldn't be happier I just have a couple of stupid questions that I was hoping you guys could answer.

I primarily use my phone to start the CFW and it's kind of a hassle using a 6-inch otg cable and then a 3 foot USB c cable and was wondering if you can use a generic USB c to USB c to send the payload or not.

Also currently using a 64GB SD card space is going away swiftly on this thing if I were to update to a bigger SD card is it as simple as it was with the 3DS where it was copy paste everything to the new card.

Not sure if it matters with my questions but it's a launch switch running 8.0.1, latest versions of hekate and atmosphere

for the part if you can use a usb c to usb c to send payload instead of dongles, otg and such, yes you definitely can, i have seen it
 
Last edited by boooluk,

Lucaniel

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 25, 2018
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
53
Country
United Kingdom
Just a quick question so I don't meander around the site. If I buy a used Switch that had a patchable serial number, does it being on a certain firmware block me from cfw-ing it? Thanks in advance.
 

boooluk

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 29, 2019
Messages
83
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
78
Country
United Kingdom
Last edited by boooluk,

renswic

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
37
Country
United States
Just a quick question so I don't meander around the site. If I buy a used Switch that had a patchable serial number, does it being on a certain firmware block me from cfw-ing it? Thanks in advance.

From my research when I did mine last week all firmwares on patchable consoles were able to have CFW. I ended up doing a stock update from 4 something to 8.1.0. before doing mine
 

aarti

Killua Zoldyck
Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2017
Messages
518
Trophies
0
XP
644
Country
Germany
Also currently using a 64GB SD card space is going away swiftly on this thing if I were to update to a bigger SD card is it as simple as it was with the 3DS where it was copy paste everything to the new card.

Not sure if it matters with my questions but it's a launch switch running 8.1.0, latest versions of hekate and atmosphere

If you don't have an emuMMC partition you can just copy the files to the new sd card.
 

Tonestar0

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 15, 2019
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
19
Country
United States
How do i ask questions or post

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I have a 64 gb mem card , I got a 256 to upgrade , I tried to simply copy and paste from the 64 to 256 then ran my payload as usual it seems to load but goes blank on my switch screen at the very end . I also formatted the 256 with the only option exfat. Can someone help ?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

If you don't have an emuMMC partition you can just copy the files to the new sd card.

I have a 64 gb mem card , I got a 256 to upgrade , I tried to simply copy and paste from the 64 to 256 then ran my payload as usual it seems to load but goes blank on my switch screen at the very end . I also formatted the 256 with the only option exfat. Can someone help ?
 

aarti

Killua Zoldyck
Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2017
Messages
518
Trophies
0
XP
644
Country
Germany
How do i ask questions or post

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I have a 64 gb mem card , I got a 256 to upgrade , I tried to simply copy and paste from the 64 to 256 then ran my payload as usual it seems to load but goes blank on my switch screen at the very end . I also formatted the 256 with the only option exfat. Can someone help ?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------



I have a 64 gb mem card , I got a 256 to upgrade , I tried to simply copy and paste from the 64 to 256 then ran my payload as usual it seems to load but goes blank on my switch screen at the very end . I also formatted the 256 with the only option exfat. Can someone help ?
Try Fat32 instead
 

Bonovox40

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2003
Messages
535
Trophies
0
XP
976
Country
United States
Update question: Using SX OS - (no other CFW in use)

Ready to update from 7.0.0 to 8.1. So from last choi update, I have autoRCM turned on. Do I need to just update through choi like before and leave everything alone, or turn OFF autoRCM through the SX OS boot up option menu??

I'm actually thinking of disabling autorcm when the update is done. Tired of the battery draining so fast and don't really mind using the jig if necessary.

After the update, if autorcm is turned off and my kid powers on the switch on accident without the dongle+jig, will it boot into OFW and blow fuses? Or without the jig/dongle, the switch never gets boots up? I forget how it ends up with autorcm turned off using SX OS....
 

Syph

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 24, 2018
Messages
38
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
102
Country
United States
Is there a build of android that I can "dual boot" from my sd card similarly to how lakka works? I've heard of switchroot but I couldn't find info on how it booted up android (if it required actual "rooting" of the switch or not) and/or if it works without a dedicated sdcard.

I like how simple it is to use lakka, just drag the necessary files to the bootloader and lakka folders, done.

So, essentially, I'm curious if I can partition just a part of my sdcard for switchroot, have a partition for emummc, and then a partition for the standard sdcard features. Thank you.
 
Last edited by Syph,

pLaYeR^^

Doctor Switch
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
3,132
Trophies
1
Age
24
Location
Austria
XP
3,041
Country
Austria
Update question: Using SX OS - (no other CFW in use)

Ready to update from 7.0.0 to 8.1. So from last choi update, I have autoRCM turned on. Do I need to just update through choi like before and leave everything alone, or turn OFF autoRCM through the SX OS boot up option menu??

I'm actually thinking of disabling autorcm when the update is done. Tired of the battery draining so fast and don't really mind using the jig if necessary.

After the update, if autorcm is turned off and my kid powers on the switch on accident without the dongle+jig, will it boot into OFW and blow fuses? Or without the jig/dongle, the switch never gets boots up? I forget how it ends up with autorcm turned off using SX OS....
If you have always updated EmuNAND and kept your SysNAND on it‘s firmware, than your fine. If you have always updated SysNAND and accidentally boot with Nintendo boot loader to SysNAND, the fuses of your switch will burn.
 

Bonovox40

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2003
Messages
535
Trophies
0
XP
976
Country
United States
If you have always updated EmuNAND and kept your SysNAND on it‘s firmware, than your fine. If you have always updated SysNAND and accidentally boot with Nintendo boot loader to SysNAND, the fuses of your switch will burn.

I'm not using emunand. I did the update with Choi and when it prompted for a reboot, the switch isn't powering back on. (or is in rcm mode maybe?) Even with the dongle plugged in it's not coming up. I thought I had the latest boot.dat file...
 

pLaYeR^^

Doctor Switch
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
3,132
Trophies
1
Age
24
Location
Austria
XP
3,041
Country
Austria
I'm not using emunand. I did the update with Choi and when it prompted for a reboot, the switch isn't powering back on. (or is in rcm mode maybe?) Even with the dongle plugged in it's not coming up. I thought I had the latest boot.dat file...
If you don’t use EmuNAND and you boot accidentally without custom boot loader to SysNAND, your switch will burn fuses. To your problem: What format has your micro sd card? FAT32 or exFAT? Did you choose update with exFAT?
 

Bonovox40

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2003
Messages
535
Trophies
0
XP
976
Country
United States
I ended up copying over the latest boot.dat file and it boots ok now.

So I thought with the sx os installed that even with autorcm turned off, the switch wont fully boot unless the jig+dongle is attached? And thought it wasn't supposed to boot into sysnand/OFW unless I boot into the SX os menu and choose that option...

My fuses are still at 4.1 in choi when I did the 8.1 update. (and I left choi autoRCM option checked)
 

pLaYeR^^

Doctor Switch
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
3,132
Trophies
1
Age
24
Location
Austria
XP
3,041
Country
Austria
I ended up copying over the latest boot.dat file and it boots ok now.

So I thought with the sx os installed that even with autorcm turned off, the switch wont fully boot unless the jig+dongle is attached? And thought it wasn't supposed to boot into sysnand/OFW unless I boot into the SX os menu and choose that option...

My fuses are still at 4.1 in choi when I did the 8.1 update. (and I left choi autoRCM option checked)
The thing is if you forget ONCE to hold the vol button or the jig, your switch will boot in SysNAND with Nintendo boot loader. Of course only when autoRCM is disabled.
 

pofer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2016
Messages
362
Trophies
0
Location
Somewhere around the corner
XP
301
Country
United States
I have been away from the scene for more than a year so I have a lot of questions regarding this topic haha.

I have already read the guide at homebre.guide so I am familiarized with how the exploits work, I just ordered a RCM dongle from those chinese dealers so I can keep using it to boot into CFW so I don't have to always use a PC, but I would like to take some doubts out of my mind first, and I hope someone can help me.

first of all, is there a point in staying at FW 8.0.1 ? I haven't used my switch in a while, but I see guides covering 8.1.0 already , so I am asking if I should just update to 8.1.0 since it won't matter anyway.

2nd, I read and watched videos about creating an emunand, which would then be used to keep everything homebrew-related and use it for offlline play so that you can keep sysnand up to date for online play aswell. How "safe" would you say it is? I might go that route if it is the most convenient way since, as I stated above, I already ordered a dongle and will most likely always have it at hand with my switch.

lastly, regarding the last question, should I clear my switch before creating the emunand? I have not used any kind of homebrew prior to this day, so I believe that it should be ok to create it without erasing anything.

thanks for the help
 

pLaYeR^^

Doctor Switch
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
3,132
Trophies
1
Age
24
Location
Austria
XP
3,041
Country
Austria
I have been away from the scene for more than a year so I have a lot of questions regarding this topic haha.

I have already read the guide at homebre.guide so I am familiarized with how the exploits work, I just ordered a RCM dongle from those chinese dealers so I can keep using it to boot into CFW so I don't have to always use a PC, but I would like to take some doubts out of my mind first, and I hope someone can help me.

first of all, is there a point in staying at FW 8.0.1 ? I haven't used my switch in a while, but I see guides covering 8.1.0 already , so I am asking if I should just update to 8.1.0 since it won't matter anyway.

2nd, I read and watched videos about creating an emunand, which would then be used to keep everything homebrew-related and use it for offlline play so that you can keep sysnand up to date for online play aswell. How "safe" would you say it is? I might go that route if it is the most convenient way since, as I stated above, I already ordered a dongle and will most likely always have it at hand with my switch.

lastly, regarding the last question, should I clear my switch before creating the emunand? I have not used any kind of homebrew prior to this day, so I believe that it should be ok to create it without erasing anything.

thanks for the help
1) You can safely update to 8.1.0.
2) No one has been banned for using clean SysNAND online (yet).
3) You don't need to.
 

Bonovox40

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2003
Messages
535
Trophies
0
XP
976
Country
United States
The thing is if you forget ONCE to hold the vol button or the jig, your switch will boot in SysNAND with Nintendo boot loader. Of course only when autoRCM is disabled.

Shoot. I thought that the autorcm was basically assisting in one less needed tool (the jig) to boot up from powered off into sx os/cfw.
So nobody has really an option for transferring nsp/xci files without popping out the mem card? (not counting that wifi FTP option program, I don't want to enable wifi/internet on this thing)
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: I ignore those like good tempers do