Hacking SWITCH NOOB PARADISE - Ask questions here

erryan

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 25, 2019
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
44
Country
Turkey
First off make sure your SD card is FAT32. Try doing the last step correctly and boot Hekate with the kip ChoiDujour generates? If that doesn't work, you can try booting this version of Hekate that has some of the parts of that kip baked in. If it still doesn't work, the only thing left I can recommend trying is the gptrestore from here. Other than that, you may need to make a new thread but not knowing how it was bricked makes it impossible to determine if your console is recoverable or not.

UPDATE: I've found a package that named Unbrick Your Switch Pack and used it to restore 6.2 fw. Now it shows Nintendo logo then shuts down. I'm backing up nand files now. After then I'l try gptrestore.
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
17,956
Trophies
2
XP
17,953
Country
United States
With the release of SMM2 right at our doorstep, I was wondering if there is a way to play online safely? I am currently using Atmosphere
If you want to play online safely, only use Atmosphere with an offline emuNAND.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Hello everybody, quick question, if I wanna set up emummc is it necessary to clean up the sysnand? I have a clean back up already but I’ve been using NSPs after making it and I would like to use that dirty sysnand for my emummc and then restore my clean back up for a clean sysnand to go online. So can I just make the emunand of the switch as it is now, set up the folders, and then restore the clean sysnand?

Thank you
That's your best option, yes.
 

Mixitrion

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 27, 2015
Messages
29
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
101
Country
United States
If you want to play online safely, only use Atmosphere with an offline emuNAND.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


That's your best option, yes.

Is there somewhere you can point me to? I thought Atmosphere didn't have an emunand
 

Remus21

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 23, 2019
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
25
Country
Chile
I can't seem to enter RCM Mode when doing all of the manouver with my jig. Could it be because I have no SD Card inserted?

I'm putting my jig inside, holding volume up, pressin power...and my console just turn's on normally.
 

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
17,943
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,874
Country
United States
I can't seem to enter RCM Mode when doing all of the manouver with my jig. Could it be because I have no SD Card inserted?

I'm putting my jig inside, holding volume up, pressin power...and my console just turn's on normally.
No this just means your jig isn't shorting pin 10. There isn't much you can do unless you know how to fix the jig so that it properly shorts pin 10 which is hard to do without physically being there. The only other thing you can do is use something else to enter RCM. This thread has a list of other items people have successfully used to enter RCM with that you can try.
 

Remus21

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 23, 2019
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
25
Country
Chile
Thanks for the answer. I forgot to add, this is a console that is new (But with a correct serial number). Could it be because in order to enter RCM needs to be connected to the computer first? So I can inject everything.
 

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
17,943
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,874
Country
United States
Thanks for the answer. I forgot to add, this is a console that is new (But with a correct serial number). Could it be because in order to enter RCM needs to be connected to the computer first? So I can inject everything.
While it doesn't need to be connected prior to entering RCM, there is no reason for it not be connected beforehand. This also seems to solve the issue when people have a black screen on their Switch after trying to enter RCM but it turns on when they plug it into their computer.
 

Remus21

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 23, 2019
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
25
Country
Chile
Thanks! I'll do it connected and change my jig. Besides, the jig I'm using seems to be damaging the pins so I wont connect it again in order to prevent some real damage.
 

Mixitrion

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 27, 2015
Messages
29
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
101
Country
United States
Ok guys so I want to be able to play my bought games online (Like Smash, MK8, etc) and still play backups offline.
I located my clean NAND back up and I was wondering if installing EmuMMC and having my offline games in there would work and then using regular sysnand for online games would work?

Do i need to inject my clean nand into the switch again and then install EmuMMC?

Do you guys think it will work?
 

Bunny8093

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 5, 2018
Messages
10
Trophies
0
XP
35
Country
United States
Been awhile since I've posted anything on this site. Hopefully I'm in the right place!

So I've been doing some research here and there, It's a ton of info to wrap my brain around but I'm getting there. I imagine it's still worth asking some things.

I'm only interested in backing up my saves and nothing else. Maybe way down the line I may consider save editing but I'm under the impression it's risky so yeah, a type of very late game hacking for me.

I'm aware hacking in general can be risky ban wise and I want to do anything to make sure I can stay unbanned to play online.

I've checked out my Switch and according to the serial and such mine is definitely unpatched. I remember getting it sometime in August 2017 if that matters.

So if I've got this right all I have to do is get Atmosphere or SXOS and Hetake. Backup my clean system NAND, get and run Checkpoint to backup my saves and then restore my NAND? Should I use an emunand? Gosh I'm in way over my head. This seems a lot more complex than Wii and 3DS hacking.

Thankfully I probably won't actually start hacking my Switch for this until sometime next year. Maybe by then I'll have a better idea of how all this works or it'll be much easier haha. Oh and uh this is assuming Nintendo can't get it together to support Cloud saves for the upcoming Animal Crossing game.

Just... Trying to explore my options and find some peace of mind. Sad it's come to this but what can you do?

Also I dunno if it's okay to ask this here but what's the best jig that won't break my pins? I definitely don't wanna do that. I don't mind buying one specially made in order to keep my system nice.
 

ColinMacLaren

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
38
Location
Chemnitz, Germany
XP
102
Country
Gambia, The
Unfortunately I have to ask again.

I have a clean SYSNAND with firmware 8.1.0, own about 25 games on cartridge and have updated them all over Wifi on my original sysnand and sd card.

Then I created an EMUNAND with SX OS 2.8 and booted it. I copied my Nintendo folder over the Emutendo folder in order to keep my save games and updates that where installed on the SD card on the original SYSNAND. I then installed SX Dumper and started dumping my cartridges.
Half of the games allow me to dump the update, half of them don't. Why?

Those games where I was able to dump the update run flawlessly. Those games, where I wasn't, won't start because they require me to install an update over Wifi, which is of course turned off.

How do I get around that? How do I dump the updates of the other games?
 
Last edited by ColinMacLaren,

Demon1982

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 17, 2019
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
54
Country
United Kingdom
Anyone had an issue to update MARIO KART?
I have the latest version update 1.7.1. But on the switch it says 1.6.0. I tried to install another 1.71 update but it says that its already on the switch...? The game asks to update when i boot but i can just skip it by selecting start software

So not killing me but annoying.

Anyone? Same issue with donkey kong too.
 

Sno206

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 7, 2017
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
78
Country
United Kingdom
I am running Atmosphere on a switch version 8.0.0. Is there anyway I can update my switch firmware to the latest without going online and getting it from the official prompt? I have no way to go back to my original switch back ups before I started CFW as my computer HD went down where it was backed up to.
 

erryan

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 25, 2019
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
44
Country
Turkey
First off make sure your SD card is FAT32. Try doing the last step correctly and boot Hekate with the kip ChoiDujour generates? If that doesn't work, you can try booting this version of Hekate that has some of the parts of that kip baked in. If it still doesn't work, the only thing left I can recommend trying is the gptrestore from here. Other than that, you may need to make a new thread but not knowing how it was bricked makes it impossible to determine if your console is recoverable or not.

UPDATE: I've found a package that named Unbrick Your Switch Pack and used it to restore 6.2 fw. Now it shows Nintendo logo then shuts down. I'm backing up nand files now. After then I'l try gptrestore.

I tried gptrestore but nothing changed. Tried to boot reinx it didn’t give me package2 magic I value error but also it didn’t boot to homebrew. black screen after splash screen. I think there’s a problem about package 2 and I don’t know how to fix.
 

microbytemob

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 7, 2014
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
50
XP
100
Country
hi there , quick question, i am currently on 6.1 switch firmware, not used my switch in a while , i use sx os pro, the last time i updated from 4.0 to 6.1 , from what i remembered , i was told to uninstall auto rcm , then i updated the switch via internet switch officail site, and reinstalled auto rcm , which all worked fine , so to update to 8.1 do i use the same method or is it different any help would be great, i do not want to go down the emunand way many thx.
 
Last edited by microbytemob,

Zap2000

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2018
Messages
640
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
718
Country
United Kingdom
Using the homebrew application ChoiDujourNX is the best way to update as it not only lets you control what firmware you want to update to but also allows AutoRCM to be enabled afterwards. Using it is pretty simple to as the homebrew application holds your hand throughout the entire installation process. Just navigate to the firmware files you illegally downloaded, hit "Choose" in the bottom-right corner when you see the .NCA files, and follow the on-screen prompts. As for which firmware you should update to, Mario Maker requires a firmware of least 7.X and Cuphead surely does not require a firmware higher than that.


Thanks for your info yes I have used ChoiDujourNX before. Is there any steps I should take before updating? Nand back up? I done one before any CFW. Also was I’m not sure about is my games file will work ok After the update? And game saves?
I run lower OFW and CFW 6.2 with no AutoRCM. Wats the latest best functionality version I prob use that?


Using the homebrew application ChoiDujourNX is the best way to update as it not only lets you control what firmware you want to update to but also allows AutoRCM to be enabled afterwards. Using it is pretty simple to as the homebrew application holds your hand throughout the entire installation process. Just navigate to the firmware files you illegally downloaded, hit "Choose" in the bottom-right corner when you see the .NCA files, and follow the on-screen prompts. As for which firmware you should update to, Mario Maker requires a firmware of least 7.X and Cuphead surely does not require a firmware higher than that.[/
 

ReannaN

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2016
Messages
132
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
404
Country
Need help with my installed nsps. I installed them using usb and goldleaf. The first couple I installed work perfectly but the rest come up with an error “2005-0005” error when I try and play them. Any idea?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye: its the shitbox what do you expect?