Hacking SWITCH NOOB PARADISE - Ask questions here

miash

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 15, 2022
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
California
XP
29
Country
United States
Hello all, I'm back with more Switch questions, but I dont think anything too bad this time.

I recently got THPS for switch, the wife wanted to play it on switch, and I wanted to dump the .xci so I can play it on steam deck, since I cant get the EGS version to boot to the main menu.

Anyways, I pulled out the homebrewed Switch, put in the carteridge, but before I could download the update, it needed to update firmware. I figured why not, I'll dump the newest firmware too. After updating the firmware and downloading the update for Tony Hawk, I booted into hekate.

I dumped firmware fine, then went to boot to fusee.bin, and got the message "A fatal error occured when running fusee. Unable to identify package. Press power to reboot."

After some googling, I saw that it doesnt seem like a big deal, I just need to update my homebrew files since I update the Switch's firmware.

However, my question is, how do I get out of this boot loop? If I hold power, the atmosphere screen flashes, and just goes back to the same black screen with the above text. I've tried mashing buttons, and just cant manage to get back to hekate. Any help is much appreciated, thank you!
 

alphajl7

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 13, 2016
Messages
50
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
99
Country
United States
I’ve never experienced anything like this.

I have to believe it’s remnants of the migration.

I don’t believe it’s Tinfoil per se but let’s prove the theory by installing one of these installers and see if it helps any:

  • Tinfoil — Polished installer. Recommend the Self installing version.
  • DBI — Capable feature filled and fast installer.
  • Tinwoo — A nice installer for when you just want to install.
  • Goldleaf — The kitchen sink but it can also install games.

Here’s some troubleshooting tips for fixing games after a migration…maybe one of these will help:

https://gbatemp.net/threads/guide-how-to-fix-switch-games-not-booting-after-a-fw-cfw-update.563960/


Has anyone else seen this sort of thing and can lend a hand?
ya for some reason the old sxos files dont like the new atmos files. if i take the update and install the update via dbi i also get the error. i really hate to redownload every single game but at this point i think its the easiest option??
 

miash

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 15, 2022
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
California
XP
29
Country
United States
Hello all, I'm back with more Switch questions, but I dont think anything too bad this time.

I recently got THPS for switch, the wife wanted to play it on switch, and I wanted to dump the .xci so I can play it on steam deck, since I cant get the EGS version to boot to the main menu.

Anyways, I pulled out the homebrewed Switch, put in the carteridge, but before I could download the update, it needed to update firmware. I figured why not, I'll dump the newest firmware too. After updating the firmware and downloading the update for Tony Hawk, I booted into hekate.

I dumped firmware fine, then went to boot to fusee.bin, and got the message "A fatal error occured when running fusee. Unable to identify package. Press power to reboot."

After some googling, I saw that it doesnt seem like a big deal, I just need to update my homebrew files since I update the Switch's firmware.

However, my question is, how do I get out of this boot loop? If I hold power, the atmosphere screen flashes, and just goes back to the same black screen with the above text. I've tried mashing buttons, and just cant manage to get back to hekate. Any help is much appreciated, thank you!
Ok, so I figured it out. Holding power seemed to just flash the atmosphere logo. I removed the sd card, put the updated files on it, and put it back in. At first it seemed to not do anything, but holding power eventually did allow me to power off and boot into ofw, so I just restarted the process. Thank you all anyways!
 
  • Like
Reactions: binkinator

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,494
Trophies
2
XP
1,736
Country
United States
ya for some reason the old sxos files dont like the new atmos files. if i take the update and install the update via dbi i also get the error.
that’s good, and bad. Good in that it’s not something inherent to Tinfoil, but bad that it doesn’t solve the issue.
i really hate to redownload every single game but at this point i think its the easiest option??
We can wait a bit and see if anyone else has seen this issue, but yeah…if you want to update in the meantime, you’ll probably have to grab the base again.
 

warleyboy

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 28, 2010
Messages
66
Trophies
0
XP
256
Country
Hi All,

Any help appreciated, accidentally updated after installing hekate and atmos.
Everything was working fine until I updated.
I can still inject, but when I load cfw, I get a black screen.
Thank You.
Wayne
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,494
Trophies
2
XP
1,736
Country
United States
Hi All,

Any help appreciated, accidentally updated after installing hekate and atmos.
Everything was working fine until I updated.
I can still inject, but when I load cfw, I get a black screen.
Thank You.
Wayne

likely suspects will be

1) fusee.bin not updated and placed in /bootloader/payloads

https://rentry.org/SwitchHackingIsEasy

2) upgraded from old version of atmosphere and didn’t clean up directories and fix /bootloader/hekate_ipl.ini

https://rentry.org/MigrateToAtmosphere1_0_0

3) didn’t update Sigpatches
  • Sigpatches (GBATemp) — alternative Sigpatches for when others don’t seem to work.
  • Sigpatchesget your iTotalJustice Sigpatches here (with free instructions!)

e: might want to update your injector payload while you’re at it.
 

Stalvros

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 31, 2008
Messages
10
Trophies
0
XP
39
Country
Hope someone can help me with this.
At the moment, I am not sure which version I'm using.

The one that is currently installed in my switch requires me to run a program called 'TegraRcmGUI.exe'
every time my switch ran out of battery (from 0%) and inject the payload before it turns itself on.

My question is - I wish to update my CFW to the version where I don't have to inject payload every time
the switch ran out of battery. Is it even possible?

Also - I am looking to play some PSP games in the switch if someone can direct me to the right page?
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
17,882
Trophies
2
XP
17,813
Country
United States
My question is - I wish to update my CFW to the version where I don't have to inject payload every time
the switch ran out of battery. Is it even possible?
This isn't possible if you're using the RCM exploit.

Also - I am looking to play some PSP games in the switch if someone can direct me to the right page?
Use PPSSPP.
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
17,882
Trophies
2
XP
17,813
Country
United States
Sorry, very new to the CFW world - don't even know what RCM exploit is >_<
You're saying its possible providing I need to upgrade my switch or mobo or sth?
If you are using the RCM exploit, then if your battery dies, you have to resend the payload. The easy solution to this is to not let your system die. There are hardware modifications that you can install to get around this.
 
  • Like
Reactions: binkinator

DictatorZero

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
39
Trophies
0
XP
164
Country
United States
Hopefully not corruption. Are you on exfat or fat32?

Take the SD card out and put it in your PC and see if everything reads OK.

paste a copy of your /bootloader/hekate_ipl.ini here.

The “checking to see if game can be played” could be that you’re trying to play a game with a different Profile. Do you have multiple users on this switch?
It is in FAT32 and there wasn't any issue with it when I connected it to try to update Hekate, Fusee, and Atmosphere.

[config]
autoboot=0
autoboot_list=0
bootwait=3
autohosoff=0
autonogc=1
updater2p=0
backlight=100

[Atmosphere CFW]
payload=bootloader/payloads/fusee.bin
icon=bootloader/res/icon_payload.bmp

[CFW - sysMMC]
fss0=atmosphere/package3
kip1patch=nosigchk
atmosphere=1
emummc_force_disable=1
icon=bootloader/res/icon_payload.bmp

[CFW - emuMMC]
fss0=atmosphere/package3
kip1patch=nosigchk
emummcforce=1
atmosphere=1
icon=bootloader/res/icon_payload.bmp

[Stock - sysMMC]
fss0=atmosphere/package3
emummc_force_disable=1
stock=1
icon=bootloader/res/icon_switch.bmp

[Warmboot Error Fix]
fss0=atmosphere/package3
stock=1
emummc_force_disable=1
icon=bootloader/res/icon_switch.bmp

Thanks for the help.
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,494
Trophies
2
XP
1,736
Country
United States
It is in FAT32 and there wasn't any issue with it when I connected it to try to update Hekate, Fusee, and Atmosphere.

[config]
autoboot=0
autoboot_list=0
bootwait=3
autohosoff=0
autonogc=1
updater2p=0
backlight=100

[Atmosphere CFW]
payload=bootloader/payloads/fusee.bin
icon=bootloader/res/icon_payload.bmp

[CFW - sysMMC]
fss0=atmosphere/package3
kip1patch=nosigchk
atmosphere=1
emummc_force_disable=1
icon=bootloader/res/icon_payload.bmp

[CFW - emuMMC]
fss0=atmosphere/package3
kip1patch=nosigchk
emummcforce=1
atmosphere=1
icon=bootloader/res/icon_payload.bmp

[Stock - sysMMC]
fss0=atmosphere/package3
emummc_force_disable=1
stock=1
icon=bootloader/res/icon_switch.bmp

[Warmboot Error Fix]
fss0=atmosphere/package3
stock=1
emummc_force_disable=1
icon=bootloader/res/icon_switch.bmp

Thanks for the help.

Nothing untoward in your .ini file. You don’t have an autoboot set, yet you’re not even seeing hekate…it‘s got to be before that.

How do you have you SX dongle set up to boot hekate?
  • Did you build hekate.x.x.x.bin into a boot.dat file?
  • Did you download SX_Gear_v1.1.zip and move hekate.x.x.x.bin to payload.bin?
just trying to figure out your boot path…
 
Last edited by binkinator,

Stalvros

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 31, 2008
Messages
10
Trophies
0
XP
39
Country
If you are using the RCM exploit, then if your battery dies, you have to resend the payload. The easy solution to this is to not let your system die. There are hardware modifications that you can install to get around this.
Thanks - what keywords should I look for in purchasing / installing this hardware modification?
 

DictatorZero

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
39
Trophies
0
XP
164
Country
United States
Nothing untoward in your .ini file. You don’t have an autoboot set, yet you’re not even seeing hekate…it‘s got to be before that.

How do you have you SX dongle set up to boot hekate?
  • Did you build hekate.x.x.x.bin into a boot.dat file?
  • Did you download SX_Gear_v1.1.zip and move hekate.x.x.x.bin to payload.bin?
just trying to figure out your boot path…
I'm going to be honest with you, I'm not entirely certain which way I'm doing it. I'm going to assume it is which ever method was easiest to change to from SXOS. I'm using the SXOS pro dongle, I don't know if that clears things up at all.

Is there a way that I can definitively figure this out?
 

Stardust3033

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2016
Messages
420
Trophies
0
Age
19
Location
behind you
XP
973
Country
United States
In theory, yes, you could do it via cloud saves and your clean (but slightly dirty) Sysnand on your hacked switch. You would have to boot CFW on your Sysnand and have an nro install (no nsp) of JKSV to export game saves for modification. Atmosphere by itself was designed to not get banned…it’s the other things you will be tempted to do, intentionally or by accident, that will draw the ire of Ninty. You will be leaving the arena of “100% safe” to “pretty safe as far as anyone knows.

e: depending on how you edit your saves, I imagine there’s a line in the sand somewhere that crosses over to cheating if you’re using it to gain an advantage in online games. Don’t know where that is to be honest.

Be sure to keep up to date with the latest here:
Switch Banning Hub The @Draxzelex definitive place to read about console bans and how to reduce your risk of being next!
yo sorry for being all over the place first of all LOL, but quick question.

well not sure if i should ask here or in the switch bans thread, but connecting to the internet with a cfw switch is safe right? just as long as i dont go online with a nonlegit nsp? thats my understanding of switch bans at least..
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,494
Trophies
2
XP
1,736
Country
United States
yo sorry for being all over the place first of all LOL, but quick question.

well not sure if i should ask here or in the switch bans thread, but connecting to the internet with a cfw switch is safe right? just as long as i dont go online with a nonlegit nsp? thats my understanding of switch bans at least..
No worries. If your Emunand is a copy of a clean Sysnand and all you’re doing is CFW, that’s what Atmosphere is for. The issue is that people forget what they’ve done so as a general rule we tell people that clean Sysnand is for Online and dirty Emunand is for offline. There are other things such as changing your Profile Avatar or using Cheats in Online games that you can read about in the Switch Ban Hub thread.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Stardust3033

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,494
Trophies
2
XP
1,736
Country
United States
I'm going to be honest with you, I'm not entirely certain which way I'm doing it. I'm going to assume it is which ever method was easiest to change to from SXOS. I'm using the SXOS pro dongle, I don't know if that clears things up at all.

Is there a way that I can definitively figure this out?
Probably easier to just walk through this guide and it will get you to a known state (rather than reverse engineering what you have right now): https://rentry.org/mys8q
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,494
Trophies
2
XP
1,736
Country
United States
  • Like
Reactions: Lacius

Stardust3033

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2016
Messages
420
Trophies
0
Age
19
Location
behind you
XP
973
Country
United States
No worries. If your Emunand is a copy of a clean Sysnand and all you’re doing is CFW, that’s what Atmosphere is for. The issue is that people forget what they’ve done so as a general rule we tell people that clean Sysnand is for Online and dirty Emunand is for offline. There are other things such as changing your Profile Avatar or using Cheats in Online games that you can read about in the Switch Ban Hub thread.
ohh ok perfect yea explains why my first hacked switch got banned.
my goal is to play with some infinite health codes for metroid for some routing tests, but with my specific save file. would I just download the save file on the sysnand then use the codes on my emunand then? would that work or will the save file not be on the emunand?
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,494
Trophies
2
XP
1,736
Country
United States
ohh ok perfect yea explains why my first hacked switch got banned.
my goal is to play with some infinite health codes for metroid for some routing tests, but with my specific save file. would I just download the save file on the sysnand then use the codes on my emunand then? would that work or will the save file not be on the emunand?
You really should do that on Emunand with exosphere and dns:mitm installed so you can be connected to the Internet (but in no way connected to Ninty.)
https://rentry.org/ExosphereDNSMITM
Once this is set up it will allow you to safely download the save file to your Emunand.

Emunand is a point in time copy of your Sysnand. Once the copy is made they are for all intents and purposes two completely separate “machines” (that just happen to use the same underlying hardware to run one at a time.)
 
Last edited by binkinator,
  • Like
Reactions: Stardust3033
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    NeoGaming @ NeoGaming: but able for to sell it i had to unhomebrew it which was a pain