Hacking SWITCH NOOB PARADISE - Ask questions here

Infinity147

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 29, 2019
Messages
29
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
111
Country
United Kingdom
Just want to check a couple of thing be for I go all out CFW 😀

1) I have a switch that is in the probably patched category, will using a rcm jig if it is patched do anything to the switch?

My other switch is unpatched and I’m going to setup an offline emunand on my sd card and use the sysnand to go online and access the eshop.

2) Do I need to remove my sd card containing the emunand before I boot into OFW?

3) Can someone explain to me about fuses?

4) I want to update my patched switch‘s official firmware. I assume I just boot into OFW and use system update.

5) HeKate allows you also to boot into OFW, why would you use this.

6) Can you do system update without linking your user name?

Thanks guys
 

FortalezaG

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 17, 2018
Messages
29
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
645
Country
Brazil
Just want to check a couple of thing be for I go all out CFW 😀

1) I have a switch that is in the probably patched category, will using a rcm jig if it is patched do anything to the switch?

My other switch is unpatched and I’m going to setup an offline emunand on my sd card and use the sysnand to go online and access the eshop.

2) Do I need to remove my sd card containing the emunand before I boot into OFW?

3) Can someone explain to me about fuses?

4) I want to update my patched switch‘s official firmware. I assume I just boot into OFW and use system update.

5) HeKate allows you also to boot into OFW, why would you use this.

6) Can you do system update without linking your user name?

Thanks guys
1) Do not do this. It will brick your patched console.
 
  • Angry
Reactions: binkinator

steve_fox

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2022
Messages
146
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
214
Country
United Kingdom
2) Do I need to remove my sd card containing the emunand before I boot into OFW?

4) I want to update my patched switch‘s official firmware. I assume I just boot into OFW and use system update.

5) HeKate allows you also to boot into OFW, why would you use this.
No, you dont need to remove your SD card containing Emunand when you boot to Stock firmware.

Yes, updating the Stock firmware is done using the normal way.

Hekate offers multiple boot options, CFW Emunand, CFW Sysnand, OFW Sysnand, Android and even Linux.
Being able to boot to any state from Hekate is just a feature and if you enter Hekate and then decide you want to boot stock Fw you just select it instead of power cycling.

The CFW Sysnand option is something you want to steer clear of, i have deleted the config entry for it to remove the option from the Hekate menu on mine.
 

877

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2017
Messages
177
Trophies
0
XP
380
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks binkinator this is useful for me too :)

Can I ask what is `exosphere.ini` used for, it's not clear to me..

Also can I check I should use `/atmosphere/hosts/default.txt` as although I am using emuMMC I am not going to be going online with my sysNAND?


Thanks!
Another question popped up sorry @binkinator

I already seem to have ` /atmosphere/hosts/default.txt` file. Not sure if I should add to it, or overwrite it?

Current contents are:
Code:
# Nintendo telemetry servers
127.0.0.1 receive-%.dg.srv.nintendo.net receive-%.er.srv.nintendo.net
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,527
Trophies
2
XP
1,759
Country
United States
I think I understood most of it. Still, I think we are talking about redirecting/resolving host names to IP addresses and not blocking access to Nintendo servers, which is made inside hosts file.
By giving you the wrong address…you are then “blocked” from talking to them. It’s the same effect at the end of the day.
But I take the explanation to throw a couple other questions:


Who is claiming? 90DNS settings?
Yes, I should have used less pronouns. If yiu are using Google DNS or your ISP’s DNS and ask them to fetch you the IP address of evil.nintend.com, Google or your ISP will not answer directly and will defer to a more authoritative server to answer. This repeats until it gets to Ninty’ s DNS servers who will respond with a YES, we are the authority for that domain…look no further. Here is the IP address of evil.nintendo.com…come on in!” That’s how most properly configured DNS servers work, however, 90DNS has intentionally misconfigured their DNS servers to instantly respond that 90DNS servers are authoritative for anything in the *.nintendo.com domain and and with that authority a response is given that the IP address for evil.nintendo.com (and ANY other domain that ends with *.nintendo.com) is in fact 127.0.0.1. With the wrong address, the pizza guy is effectively blocked from delivering the pizza to your house.
About the DNS stuff, I'm not sure what is happening.
Like, when we set some DNS in our laptop/router/whatever, we are saying to our network to use those IP addresses as our DNSs.
So, when we set Primary DNS to 1.1.1.1 and Secondary DNS to 1.0.0.1 (Cloudfare DNSs), we are forcing our network to use those IP addresses to resolve the hostname that our device is trying to reach, right?
Correct. CloudFlare Servers are properly configured to answer authoritatively for anything that ends in *.cloudflare.com based on their local host/zone files, however if you query something like gbatemp.net the CloudFlare DNS servers say “oh no, that’s not us, let’s forward the request to the next level up and see if they know who gbatemp.net is.” They repeat this until they hit the registrar for gbatemp.net DNS servers who pass along the real authoritative response and you are the directed here so you can talk to me in this excellent conversation.
Now, what I'm not sure I understand, when I try to establish a relationship between friendly DNS poisoning and blocking sites, is how our console is prevented from reaching Nintendo servers with settings like:

uci batch <<'EOF' add_list [email protected][-1].address='/.nintendo.com/0.0.0.0' add_list [email protected][-1].address='/.nintendo.net/0.0.0.0' add_list [email protected][-1].address='/.nintendo.jp/0.0.0.0' add_list [email protected][-1].address='/.nintendo.co.jp/0.0.0.0' add_list [email protected][-1].address='/.nintendo.co.uk/0.0.0.0' add_list [email protected][-1].address='/.nintendo-europe.com/0.0.0.0' add_list [email protected][-1].address='/.nintendowifi.net/0.0.0.0' ...
Source: https://gitlab.com/a/90dns/-/tree/master/OpenWrt
https://gitlab.com/a/90dns/-/tree/master/OpenWrt

lets grab a slightly different snapshot of the same file:

add_list [email protected][-1].address='/.nintendowifi.net/0.0.0.0'
add_list [email protected][-1].address='/conntest.nintendowifi.net/95.216.149.205'
add_list [email protected][-1].address='/ctest.cdn.nintendo.net/95.216.149.205'
add_list [email protected][-1].address='/.nintendo.es/0.0.0.0'

this file contains all of these are “masq”ed domains that are configured so your wrt router will NOT forward to the authoritative DNS servers for:
*.nintendowifi.net and *.nintendo.es (basically respond with 0.0.0.0
conntest.nintendowifi.net is part of that domain EXCEPT that it’s called out more specifically to respond with 95.216.149.205. Same with ctest.cdn.nintendo.net.
basically this solution is “blocking“ anything with any IP address in this file but the ones with the 95.216.149.205 are getting a correct IP address however it is coming from your router. If Ninty changed the IP address your router would continue giving the wrong address until such time that you manually replace it in your wrt config with the new IP address from Nintendo.
So, I don't understand what are these settings doing when a DNS server is only supposed to resolve address names and/or (legitimately or not) redirect our devices to different sites other than the legit ones (the poisoning thing).
Anything not listed in your dnsmasq file will be forwarded to the actual authoritative DNS servers (unless you want to play tricks on yiur family and point *.google.com at one of the duckduckgo.com addresses, but I don’t want to out ideas in your head.
 
  • Like
Reactions: HelloShitty

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,527
Trophies
2
XP
1,759
Country
United States
Another question popped up sorry @binkinator

I already seem to have ` /atmosphere/hosts/default.txt` file. Not sure if I should add to it, or overwrite it?

Current contents are:
Code:
# Nintendo telemetry servers
127.0.0.1 receive-%.dg.srv.nintendo.net receive-%.er.srv.nintendo.net
The one you have is a little less restrictive. You can just add to the bottom of the current file. if they overlap it won’t hurt anything. :-)
 
  • Love
Reactions: 877

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,527
Trophies
2
XP
1,759
Country
United States
Thanks binkinator this is useful for me too :)

Can I ask what is `exosphere.ini` used for, it's not clear to me..

Also can I check I should use `/atmosphere/hosts/default.txt` as although I am using emuMMC I am not going to be going online with my sysNAND?


Thanks!

Exosphere.ini tells whether or not to mask the unique Prodinfo (serial number) of your Switch with blanks (jut a bunch of zeros) so Ninty can’t tell who it is that knocked on their door. Without this number, Ninty will refuse to talk to you, which is another layer of protection beyond the DNS blocking we’ve been discussing elsewhere in this thread. The difference is whether you blank out the serial number of your Sysnand or Emunand by enabling it with an “=1”

blank_prodinfo_sysmmc=
blank_prodinfo_emummc=

If you keep a clean Sysnand then you can run it with a 0 and run your dirty emunand with a 1. If yiu wanted to blank both then put a 1 after both lines and you’re good to go. That’s all there is too it.

for hosts using default.txt is the most typical one BUT it blocks for emunand AND Sysnand. If yiu want to go online with your CLEAN Sysnand you simoly change the default.txt file to emummc.txt and then the DNS rules will only apply to Emunand and NOT Sysnand, allowing Sysnand to talk to Nintendo.

e: to summarize, if you want

both Sysnand and Emunand locked down
blank_prodinfo_sysmmc=1
blank_prodinfo_emummc=1

default.txt


Emunand locked down and CLEAN Sysnand allowed to connect
blank_prodinfo_sysmmc=0
blank_prodinfo_emummc=1

emummc.txt
 
Last edited by binkinator,
  • Love
Reactions: 877

vicstar19

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 18, 2021
Messages
23
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
19
Country
United States
I’ll take a look in a bit but you might want to consider finding the all in one package I referenced. I didn’t have to reconfigure anything and I’m just playing things right out of the box. Literally download, unzip, done. 4000+ games.

e: here’s what I see…

View attachment 310442

View attachment 310443

so it’s /retroarch/roms/mame2k3plus/roms/simps2pa.zip

e2: something of note, the .nsp forwarder that comes with the pack is old. Don’t install it. Install the one from this thread instead https://gbatemp.net/threads/nsp-forwarder-tool-for-12.587936/ <-confirmed working on FW 14.1.1/Atmos 1.3.2
Ok i got it to work! What I had to do was leave the file unzipped, i zipped the file and left it likes that. thanks for the help!
 
  • Love
Reactions: binkinator

vicstar19

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 18, 2021
Messages
23
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
19
Country
United States
I’ll take a look in a bit but you might want to consider finding the all in one package I referenced. I didn’t have to reconfigure anything and I’m just playing things right out of the box. Literally download, unzip, done. 4000+ games.

e: here’s what I see…

View attachment 310442

View attachment 310443

so it’s /retroarch/roms/mame2k3plus/roms/simps2pa.zip

e2: something of note, the .nsp forwarder that comes with the pack is old. Don’t install it. Install the one from this thread instead https://gbatemp.net/threads/nsp-forwarder-tool-for-12.587936/ <-confirmed working on FW 14.1.1/Atmos 1.3.2
Do you know how to run the game for multiple players? Do you know if it’s possible to make 1 joycon 1 controller
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,527
Trophies
2
XP
1,759
Country
United States
Do you know how to run the game for multiple players? Do you know if it’s possible to make 1 joycon 1 controller

Try this:

  • How to use split Joy-Con for Nintendo Switch?​

    First, set your Joy Cons as two players in the Switch home menu, then go to Settings > Input in RetroArch and set split joycons to 2. You might have some navigation issue in HBmenu but this depends on your HBmenu version.
    docs.libretro.com/guides/install-libnx/#nintendo-switch
 

zerkhos

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 19, 2022
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
23
Location
strasbourg
XP
15
Country
France
Hi, I recently came back to the Switch CFW scene and installed a pirated game on the emunand, the only problem is that I realized too late that the nintendo path in the emummc configuration was set to = Nintendo; does this mean that if I boot the Switch normally I will be banned?

My emummc.ini :

[emummc]
enabled=1
sector=0x1a2b8000
path=emuMMC/RAW1
id=0x0000
nintendo_path=Nintendo

Thanks for the help !
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,527
Trophies
2
XP
1,759
Country
United States

AkumaNoYami

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 1, 2016
Messages
95
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Bett
XP
898
Country
Germany
can you send me the nsp?
i updatet to the latest fw today .. with the AIO Updater .. and now my Homebrew NSP doesnt work anymore

Thank you, i will try it soon
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    NeoGaming @ NeoGaming: ODD