Hacking SWITCH NOOB PARADISE - Ask questions here

pyrospade

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 2, 2021
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
12
Country
United States
Hey everyone, a panicking noob here, if anyone could throw me a hand I would greatly appreciate it. I had an erista Switch with SX OS laying around and I decided to move it to Atmosphere since SX OS is dead now. I follow a very nice guide and it worked fine, but my emuNAND was in version 9.0.2 so I tried to update to the latest 13.1 firmware. I downloaded it from darthsternie and used Daybreak to install it, but after rebooting Hekate now just prints an error when loading into Atmosphere. I can still load Hekate and go into sysNAND (which is in version 7) so I assume I haven't completely fucked things up

Is there any way to fix my emuNAND? If not, I still have my old emunand backup from SX OS that I could copy into the SD card and migrate using Hekate. Will that fix things? Would a new emuNAND created from my sysNAND be better?

Thanks in advance

EDIT: Fixed, I just needed to upgrade Hekate to the latest version as well. Sorry for bothering.
 
Last edited by pyrospade,

elm

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
611
Trophies
0
XP
1,577
Country
United States
Considering how hard it is to actually brick a Nintendo Switch and the many ways to recover from a theoretical brick, I am doubtful you bricked your last console but I digress. As long as you make an eMMC backup with Hekate, you can recover from 99% of all potential bricks. You need BOOT0, BOOT1, and either eMMC raw GPP or eMMC SYS. Keep in mind if you only dump eMMC SYS, you will be missing any content installed to your internal memory which includes any save data or games/updates/DLC.

While I don't know what servers are used to determine the date and time, people within the community developed tools to change the time without being punished. The first one is called switch-time; its an older homebrew application though so it may not work on the higher firmware versions. The other one is called QuickNTP and it uses the overlay Tesla to sync the time. Both of these should be able to accomplish what you are looking for.

Well Hekate not only verifies the eMMC backups it makes but it also verifies them when you restore it so as long as Hekate doesn't throw any errors, that's all you need.

Well my last Switch was messed up and I couldn't get anyone to help me with fixing it on this forum, so to me it was "bricked" and so I bought another and started over. Even on this Noob forum you get people that won't help you, so why even bother answering people if YOU'RE NOT GONNA HELP!!!
 

elm

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
611
Trophies
0
XP
1,577
Country
United States
So, can someone help me with updating Atmosphere. I bricked my Switch on the last update and I had to buy another Switch, so I don’t want to mess this one up.

I am using Hektate and have Goldleaf installed. I know people say to use updated Sigpatches, I have no clue what they are or where to place them on my SD card.

Any help is appreciated, Thanks
 

anthonyplep

(´ε` )
Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2010
Messages
344
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Ohio
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
941
Country
United States
Not sure where to start. I am looking to migrate from SX OS to Atmosphere. My Switch is a day one unit running SX OS V3.1.0

On the SX OS menu, "Boot custom FW" and "Boot original FW" both boot into 11.0.0. I don't believe I have an EmuNAND of any kind installed. I have updated my firmware using ChoiDujourNX. I'm not sure what my next step is so any help would be appreciated
 

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
17,827
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,804
Country
United States
Well my last Switch was messed up and I couldn't get anyone to help me with fixing it on this forum, so to me it was "bricked" and so I bought another and started over. Even on this Noob forum you get people that won't help you, so why even bother answering people if YOU'RE NOT GONNA HELP!!!
I am helping people contrary to what you may think if you scrolled up and see me responding to everyone's messages. Clearly, they appreciate my assistance as evidenced by some of the users even liking my posts. But if you want to bite the hand that fed you, then I hope you don't brick your other console because you don't deserve any help with that attitude.
Not sure where to start. I am looking to migrate from SX OS to Atmosphere. My Switch is a day one unit running SX OS V3.1.0

On the SX OS menu, "Boot custom FW" and "Boot original FW" both boot into 11.0.0. I don't believe I have an EmuNAND of any kind installed. I have updated my firmware using ChoiDujourNX. I'm not sure what my next step is so any help would be appreciated
Well since you don't have an emuMMC, the process is much simpler. All you really need to do is just put the Atmosphere files & folders on your SD card. I recommend downloading them from the SDSetup.com as it lets you customize what additional tools and homebrew you want alongside the CFW. As a bit of advice, you don't have to use this but you should also download Hekate from SDSetup as Hekate is one of the most important tools in the entire Switch scene. Now as for launching Atmosphere, it depends on how you launch SX OS. If you use the dongle, you can convert either Hekate or fusee into boot.dat and replace the one on your SD card with that. You can convert either of those payloads into boot.dat here. If you don't use the dongle, just send Hekate/fusee as the payload instead of SX Loader. Lastly, Atmosphere doesn't come with patches built-in like SX OS so you will need to download them separately which you can do in this thread. And one more thing, ChoiDujourNX has been replaced with Daybreak. It comes bundled with Atmosphere automatically.
 

DatKanaalHier

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 17, 2017
Messages
33
Trophies
0
XP
146
Country
Netherlands
I'm unable to open any legit games and Tinfoil on Emunand, I already have tried to install sigpatches.
My firmware and Atmosphere are up-to-date and Exosphere is active
With Tinfoil it says that it's corrupt.
 

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
17,827
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,804
Country
United States
I'm unable to open any legit games and Tinfoil on Emunand, I already have tried to install sigpatches.
My firmware and Atmosphere are up-to-date and Exosphere is active
With Tinfoil it says that it's corrupt.
I would highly recommend switching to another title installer. My personal choice is TinWoo Installer. Its what I personally use and have never run into any issues.
 

Seanh

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 2, 2021
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
14
Country
Ireland
I am having an issue with DOOM (game installed using tinwoo and gold leaf with same issue) It starts up and then once it gets to a certain point it says an "error has occurred please update your system". My system is 13.1 which should be high enough for this particular game.
When using flight mode I can start the game no problem, so the error seems to be caused by the game trying to connect to some server and when it can't it thinks the cause is outdated firmware?
Is there any was I can make it so that DOOM thinks I have no WiFi connection and therefore not try to perform this check?
 

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
17,827
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,804
Country
United States
Best e-reader for Switch? When it comes to e-books and e-comics? Found a treasure trove on certain sites.
eBookReaderSwitch seems to be the most recent e-reader for the Nintendo Switch.
@ Draxzelex


You're being an sarcastic ASS so I don't want your help so MOVE on troll !!!!
Bold of you to assume I'm being sarcastic which I can safely assure you I'm not. And given that everyone else is rather appreciative, I'm also inclined to believe I'm not a troll. But maybe you are since you don't have any interest in getting help on your console but instead responding to me. I'll just continue playing pirated games using the widely available patches on my Switch.
I am having an issue with DOOM (game installed using tinwoo and gold leaf with same issue) It starts up and then once it gets to a certain point it says an "error has occurred please update your system". My system is 13.1 which should be high enough for this particular game.
When using flight mode I can start the game no problem, so the error seems to be caused by the game trying to connect to some server and when it can't it thinks the cause is outdated firmware?
Is there any was I can make it so that DOOM thinks I have no WiFi connection and therefore not try to perform this check?
From the short reading I did, its something Bethesda implemented into their game. The bypass is to use Airplane Mode because otherwise, the game is always going to try to connect online. So there isn't any other way around other than Airplane Mode.
 

Seanh

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 2, 2021
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
14
Country
Ireland
From the short reading I did, its something Bethesda implemented into their game. The bypass is to use Airplane Mode because otherwise, the game is always going to try to connect online. So there isn't any other way around other than Airplane Mode.
Thanks for that, was hoping there might be something that could bypass it ...Guess flight mode isn't a huge deal :)
 

SuperDan

Im Aware ... Im Unaware
Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2016
Messages
3,099
Trophies
1
Location
Londoner , Living In Louisiana ...
XP
4,898
Country
United States
OK im curious im going to buy my 1st switch in about 2 weeks probably from Facebook market place since i only want to spend $200 on it .. i know only certain ones are patchable ect .... what i'd like to know is the other method's on the way I.E a Bluetooth hack or something in the pipeline >? to hack in the future .. also on a non hacked switch can i play my own movies files mp4 ect ... ive always wanted a switch just did not have the $$ i have a wife & kids mortgage ect ect so money is super tight all the time but im going to try and grab one with my Xmas bonus lol i have a long flight next year from USA to Ireland & back i want to be playing switch games ...
 

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
17,827
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,804
Country
United States
OK im curious im going to buy my 1st switch in about 2 weeks probably from Facebook market place since i only want to spend $200 on it .. i know only certain ones are patchable ect .... what i'd like to know is the other method's on the way I.E a Bluetooth hack or something in the pipeline >? to hack in the future .. also on a non hacked switch can i play my own movies files mp4 ect ... ive always wanted a switch just did not have the $$ i have a wife & kids mortgage ect ect so money is super tight all the time but im going to try and grab one with my Xmas bonus lol i have a long flight next year from USA to Ireland & back i want to be playing switch games ...
The only other exploits are a firmware-specific browser exploit called Deja Vu which was patched out after firmware 4.1 and the modchips. As for the pipeline, nobody has stated that they are looking for another exploit so chances are there may never be another exploit in the future. However the future isn't set in stone so anything could happen but I would not hold out any hope. Anyway, if you are able to hack a console, there are homebrew applications that can play video files.
Did you do anything before this issue started happening?
 
  • Like
Reactions: SuperDan
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Well my mind just got blown the kid that played Charlie bucket played as Norman Bates never...