Hacking SWITCH NOOB PARADISE - Ask questions here

microchipman

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 1, 2018
Messages
63
Trophies
0
Age
46
XP
99
Country
Canada
I am unable to boot my emu nand but my sysnad cfw boots fine. I keep getting incompatible pkg1 verson and hos version. I made the emmcume nand from my sysnad...
What guide did you follow? So we have an exact idea of how you created it all, and can guide you in the right direction. Thanks in advance. And if you just started. Follow this guide exactly, do not deviate, and also Make sure you follow ALL steps including SIGPatches. This will establish the emuMMC properly and provide the ability to do other things...you probably want to do...

Yes, I'm being political:
https://gbatemp.net/threads/switch-noob-paradise-ask-questions-here.488277/post-9665272

To apply SIGPatches properly:
Look for the same folder names on your SD card, and replace those folders with the patch ones, and the contents, and you'll be good to go.

  • So basically, the: exefs_patches and kip_patches get copied into the atmosphere folder on your SD card
  • Rename your current hekate_ipl.ini to hekate_iplBU.ini, that is in your bootloader folder on your SD card
  • Then copy the SIGpatches hekate_ipl.ini and patches.ini to your bootloader folder on your SD card.
Only apply SIGpatches from GBATEMP. That should be clear in the Link/Guide Above. Thanks. Good Luck and GodSpeed.

NOTE: The SIGpatches in the Guide / Link above, are backward compatible, and have been updated to support up to FW 13.2.0 AND ATMOSPHERE v1.2.5. via the hard work of Wizards and Magicians, who we all owe our lives too :) All hail the Wizards and Magicians of the current era :)
 
Last edited by microchipman,

jkirk

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 20, 2021
Messages
48
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
100
Country
Canada
I know it's not always a popular comment, you can use that guide, BUT

A. Make sure you always apply newest SIGpatches from GBATEMP when done

B. As well, the advice to, "Start Fresh" from many of the Contributors here is a good one. You're not starting fresh from the aspect of loosing functionality [If done properly] (You're CFW / emuMMC partition is still there and intact), your just starting fresh with the SD card files required to to boot your already established CFW / emuMMC. So basically backup what you currently have on the regular root / boot partition of the SD card (the raw root files you see), And follow an updated, and working guide to recreate the, "newest" or upgraded scenario you want. You're basically starting clean with Atmosphere and Hakete, so that you are upgraded and that you have clean files that no other old files are interfering with. Once that is done, and it's Booting you're CFW / emuMMC, you will be, "Upgraded" and you can copy back nay non interfering software (homebrew related or otherwise) but have the data still from previous installs in your CFW / emuMMC. You can also, after that upgrade your emuMMC firmware with daylight if you wish to do so. That's how I would do it anyways. (There are multiple ways you can accomplish CFW firmware update with Daylight.)
Thank you for the suggestions. I did replace all the Atmosphere and Hekate files by erasing the previous ones. Unfortunately I still have the errors I had in my previous post. Could you perhaps be a little more specific on how I can bypass these errors and then boot into my CFW so I can use daylight. Thank you for the suggestions, but I get lost easily without a clear direction to follow.
 

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
17,115
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,421
Country
United States
I have an unhacked and hacked unbanned switch. I run my hacked switch on emunand with exosphere and 90dns and I’m planning to set it to incognito as well.

What I’m wanting to ask is if I setup atmosphere Sysnand on the hacked switch without any sigpatches and just exosphere and then log into my Nintendo account on Sysnand stock to pull my BD Pokémon save and over then switch to atmosphere to backup the save modify it return it using ams Sysnand and then return to stock and upload the save to download back to my unmodded switch I should be fine and not get banned right?

Basically the only time my hacked switch will connect to Nintendo will be when running full stock and when in Sysnand cfw I’ll be blocking connections.

Thanks
Well you can still get banned for even just running CFW regardless if you're offline because it leaves traces in your console but the bigger red flag is transporting a modded save to an unhacked console. Nintendo can tell if its been modified or not so you're risking getting the unhacked console banned.
 

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
17,115
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,421
Country
United States
Noob question. I have a V1 that I'll hack. Its safe to update to 13.2? Just buyed this V1 yesterday
If its an unpatched console, you can update your firmware 13.2 but no games require that high of a firmware plus you will burn fuses if update it before you hack it so unless you have a reason you wish to update, I would hold off.
 

jkirk

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 20, 2021
Messages
48
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
100
Country
Canada
If its an unpatched console, you can update your firmware 13.2 but no games require that high of a firmware plus you will burn fuses if update it before you hack it so unless you have a reason you wish to update, I would hold off.
Hey Draxzelex!

the other day you were helping me with an issue, I didn't reply to your post properly so you probably didn't see my ongoing issue, could you maybe give me a little more guidance? thanks!

thanks for the help. I did as you asked and I still get the following errors. in the launch icon of hekate It says I have No main boot entries (check that bootloader/hekate_ipi.ino has boot entries

more configs says I have no .ini boot entries found. check that ini file exists in bootloader/ini/

and in payloads I use to use fusee-primary, but I was reading that it does not work on the latest version? I have uploaded the payload from hekate file to my RCM loader. Also, I initially tried updating using this guide and followed it in order https://nh-server.github.io/switch-guide/extras/updating/#updating-atmosphere. I don't know if I should of updated my OFW to 13.1 first? thanks for your help.
 

microchipman

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 1, 2018
Messages
63
Trophies
0
Age
46
XP
99
Country
Canada
Thank you for the suggestions. I did replace all the Atmosphere and Hekate files by erasing the previous ones. Unfortunately I still have the errors I had in my previous post. Could you perhaps be a little more specific on how I can bypass these errors and then boot into my CFW so I can use daylight. Thank you for the suggestions, but I get lost easily without a clear direction to follow.
https://gbatemp.net/threads/switch-noob-paradise-ask-questions-here.488277/post-9678065 (Follow the link that goes to the guide)
 

DoctorBagPhD

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 16, 2008
Messages
84
Trophies
0
XP
755
Country
Ireland
I know this is an extremely uncommon use case but does anyone know if there's a way to use the attached controllers while the console is docked? I have a mini-dock so if this was possible I could use my non-wireless pads alongside the detached joycons for multiplayer stuff. I have the latest Atmosphere.
 

HellsBoyz

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 12, 2021
Messages
60
Trophies
0
XP
182
Country
Vietnam
ATM has released newer version supports latest HOS (13.2.0). But where can I be able to download it? Darthsternie has not upload it.
 

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
17,115
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,421
Country
United States
ATM has released newer version supports latest HOS (13.2.0). But where can I be able to download it? Darthsternie has not upload it.
Nintendo Switch firmware files are copyrighted material so they are treated the same as pirated games meaning it is against the rules to help you find them or even ask where to locate them.
 
  • Like
Reactions: HellsBoyz

elm

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
609
Trophies
0
XP
1,452
Country
United States
Hi, can someone help me with updating Atmosphere. I bricked my Switch on the last update and I had to buy another Switch, so I don’t want to mess this one up.

I am using Hektate and have Goldleaf installed. I know people say to use updated Sigpatches, I have no clue what they are or where to place them on my SD card.

Any help is appreciated, Thanks
 

jkirk

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 20, 2021
Messages
48
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
100
Country
Canada
Hey Microchipman,

i am still a little confused, as your links led me to the guide I have already used and did not work for me?

https://nh-server.github.io/switch-guide/extras/updating/

I am still not understanding how I can load a bootloader like fusee-primary or something in my launch button to get me going? what am I missing? or is there another guide? do you want me to completely erase my microsd? how would i retrieve my saves and games? sorry for being tedious, but I am still not sure what direction your trying to point me in here.
 

GoldenMew

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 2, 2021
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
7
Country
United Kingdom
I was wondering if anyone knows how the switch syncs the clock with the internet (eg what url) or how to find this out. Also if it would be possible to run a dns to redirect this to a url with a custom date/time to get around games that punish you for changing date. Was trying to Google to figure this out but couldn’t find any resources
 

microchipman

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 1, 2018
Messages
63
Trophies
0
Age
46
XP
99
Country
Canada
Hey Microchipman,

i am still a little confused, as your links led me to the guide I have already used and did not work for me?

https://nh-server.github.io/switch-guide/extras/updating/

I am still not understanding how I can load a bootloader like fusee-primary or something in my launch button to get me going? what am I missing? or is there another guide? do you want me to completely erase my microsd? how would i retrieve my saves and games? sorry for being tedious, but I am still not sure what direction your trying to point me in here.
DISCLAIMER: Only try this if you understand what I am explaining.

Don't completely erase the microSD card yet, back it up first (Copy all the files from the root of it to somewhere safe). Do you have an emuMMC folder on the root of your card?

If so, DON'T recreate, format or partition the card, don't do that part of the guide. Since it's backed up up now, try just deleting these folders on the microSD:

  • atmosphere
  • bootloader
  • switch
  • hbmenu.nro
Now follow ONLY THIS PART OF THE GUIDE:

https://nh-server.github.io/switch-guide/user_guide/emummc/sd_preparation/

Stop after you do that part since you probably have an emuMMC. RCM and inject the Hekate payload. Choose Launch, and then choose Atmosphere FSS0 EmuMMC. See if your switch boots into your emuMMC. If it boots, install the SIGpatches. There are many posts on how to do this from me and from many others.

This is a good lesson as well going forward. Ask yourself, from my setup, what can I live without, in my situation the biggest thing I want back is my software and my saves, dosen't matter if it's home-brew or otherwise, those are the things I need. So I have backups of that and my saves. I can LOOSE everything else, because I can quickly replicate everything else, and be running again. I can't quickly replicate all of my collected software and saves. So backup, backup, backup.
 

NeoGranzon

シュウ 「グラビトロンカノン 発射!」
Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2019
Messages
1,067
Trophies
0
XP
1,424
Country
Italy
Question for the expert of this thread:last Atmosphere require minimun firmware stock or isn't necessary?
 

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
17,115
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,421
Country
United States
Hi, can someone help me with updating Atmosphere. I bricked my Switch on the last update and I had to buy another Switch, so I don’t want to mess this one up.

I am using Hektate and have Goldleaf installed. I know people say to use updated Sigpatches, I have no clue what they are or where to place them on my SD card.

Any help is appreciated, Thanks
Considering how hard it is to actually brick a Nintendo Switch and the many ways to recover from a theoretical brick, I am doubtful you bricked your last console but I digress. As long as you make an eMMC backup with Hekate, you can recover from 99% of all potential bricks. You need BOOT0, BOOT1, and either eMMC raw GPP or eMMC SYS. Keep in mind if you only dump eMMC SYS, you will be missing any content installed to your internal memory which includes any save data or games/updates/DLC.
I was wondering if anyone knows how the switch syncs the clock with the internet (eg what url) or how to find this out. Also if it would be possible to run a dns to redirect this to a url with a custom date/time to get around games that punish you for changing date. Was trying to Google to figure this out but couldn’t find any resources
While I don't know what servers are used to determine the date and time, people within the community developed tools to change the time without being punished. The first one is called switch-time; its an older homebrew application though so it may not work on the higher firmware versions. The other one is called QuickNTP and it uses the overlay Tesla to sync the time. Both of these should be able to accomplish what you are looking for.
How do i make a secure Nand Restore ?

I had AoutRCM enabled as i did the Backup of the Nand, nothing more .

THX
Well Hekate not only verifies the eMMC backups it makes but it also verifies them when you restore it so as long as Hekate doesn't throw any errors, that's all you need.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Blauhasenpopo

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
17,115
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,421
Country
United States
So, i don't have to mind about those "fuses"?
Fuses only matter if you want to be able to boot the console normally in order to use a better exploit that may be discovered in the future that only works on certain firmware versions. Fuses in relation to recovering from a brick by restoring an old eMMC backup are a minor inconvenience. The same principal that allows us to update without burning fuses can literally also be applied to booting lower firmware versions than the fuse count; all custom bootloaders bypass the fuse check. However if you try to boot the console normally while on a higher fuse count, you may encounter a soft brick because the console will not proceed past a black screen. This is where having something like AutoRCM is handy because it ensures you will be able to always use a custom bootloader to bypass the fuse check no matter what your firmware is. That being said, this doesn't mean that we can freely downgrade because using a custom bootloader is still using an exploit to boot the console on lower firmware versions with high fuse counts so it would be redundant to combine this with an exploit on lower firmware versions.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Blauhasenpopo
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: He just added a decent tip for quicker delivery