Hacking SWITCH NOOB PARADISE - Ask questions here

EpicLink_21

New Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 26, 2021
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
14
XP
21
Country
United States
I can't assume what you do or do not know. For all I know, you may have had a huge misconception about CFW version numbers. Furthermore, you cannot assume everyone else will be able to 'read between the lines' because they simply may not know what you're referring to. Nobody else has complained about my help so I don't see what your issue is. But if you don't want my help, then good luck trying to update your system and not having everything go wrong because updating the firmware gives users the most issues.

Just so you know, I downloaded Checkpoint just to answer this question. Apparently, in the bottom right corner, you will see the icon of whatever user is currently active. Clicking that brings up the menu to change users.
Also, it's my dad who usually does the fancy hacking stuff I pretty much know nothing except for going into file editors (and I also have to ask my dad what does what cuz I'm really dumb) so that can turn on cheats so I'm a big Noob(at game and hacking stuff, also where on the SD card does it keep the save files specifically the breath of the wild save files, because I have a save file on my laptop that I would love to use instead of the one I already have)(and hear is the Link to the save file editor It turns out because I'm a new user I can't put in Links so nevermind.)(Also pun intended Lol)
 

Montz-G

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Nov 28, 2021
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
4
Country
Ireland
Hi,

Could somebody please assist me with my problem?
My switch was working perfectly with Atmosphere 1.2.4 and Switch Firmware 12.1.0, there was a prompt telling me to update my software every time I went into an app or a game, but I was fine with that. Until I pressed it by mistake once, and it gave me an error code saying it cannot connect to the Nintendo servers (as I have a DNS thing) but when I powered my switch off later that day and inserted my SD card into my PC to do something, when I went back to the switch it was updated. I was like "oh that's weird" but expected nothing to change, but now none of my Homebrew applications (error 2144-0001) or the games I've installed via tinfoil are working and giving either a not installed message or saying it cannot open please return to the home menu.
I installed a fresh atmosphere, but it still didn't work and tried again with hetake atmosphere but still not working.

If anyone could help me, it would be very appreciated
Thanks

(Sorry If my English is bad, not my first language)
 

BigOnYa

A Very-Large Member
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2021
Messages
1,417
Trophies
1
Age
48
XP
2,672
Country
United States
Hi,

Could somebody please assist me with my problem?
My switch was working perfectly with Atmosphere 1.2.4 and Switch Firmware 12.1.0, there was a prompt telling me to update my software every time I went into an app or a game, but I was fine with that. Until I pressed it by mistake once, and it gave me an error code saying it cannot connect to the Nintendo servers (as I have a DNS thing) but when I powered my switch off later that day and inserted my SD card into my PC to do something, when I went back to the switch it was updated. I was like "oh that's weird" but expected nothing to change, but now none of my Homebrew applications (error 2144-0001) or the games I've installed via tinfoil are working and giving either a not installed message or saying it cannot open please return to the home menu.
I installed a fresh atmosphere, but it still didn't work and tried again with hetake atmosphere but still not working.

If anyone could help me, it would be very appreciated
Thanks

(Sorry If my English is bad, not my first language)
Did you update your sigpatches also?
https://github.com/ITotalJustice/patches/releases
And when you updated Atmos, did you delete all the folders on SD card except "Nintendo" first, before copying over new Atmos files?
 

Anitsu

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 8, 2009
Messages
41
Trophies
0
XP
143
Country
United States
Hi guys, long time!
I have an old R4 rcm jig, I remember that they game their own payload on their site, but i think their site is dead and the old payload is no good anymore.

do you know if i can just use atmosphere payload?

Thanks
 

BigOnYa

A Very-Large Member
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2021
Messages
1,417
Trophies
1
Age
48
XP
2,672
Country
United States
Hi guys, long time!
I have an old R4 rcm jig, I remember that they game their own payload on their site, but i think their site is dead and the old payload is no good anymore.

do you know if i can just use atmosphere payload?

Thanks
Yes you can put any payload on the R4 that you prefer. You may have to look up how to copy the files to it though, not sure.
Actually the support page explains how to:
http://www.xkit.xyz/support/
 

Montz-G

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Nov 28, 2021
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
4
Country
Ireland
Did you update your sigpatches also?

And when you updated Atmos, did you delete all the folders on SD card except "Nintendo" first, before copying over new Atmos files?
Yes, I’ve updated my sigparches and completely wiped my SD card (except the “Nintendo” folder) and did a fresh install of atmosphere and done the whole jailbreak process from scratch but it still won’t work.
 

medi01

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 9, 2018
Messages
42
Trophies
0
Age
72
XP
91
Country
Germany
Maan: for other newbs like me.

My issue of SXOS stuff not running on ATM was caused by... me not realizing that with EMU, Nintendo folder is located in emu related folder and not in root.

Now things seem to work fine.
 

BigOnYa

A Very-Large Member
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2021
Messages
1,417
Trophies
1
Age
48
XP
2,672
Country
United States

pajion

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Nov 28, 2021
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
4
Country
United States
So I've been rummaging through multiple google searches and I keep running into multiple errors. I finally got my switch to load again after trying to update several times by deleting my contents folder in Atmosphere. I'm back to Firmware 11.0 and I've been trying to update to 13.1 along with updating anything I can but it just keeps giving multiple different errors, when trying to update my firmware I am encountering "The downloaded file is not a firmware archive. This is most likely due to a broken link." And have finally exhausted my google searches as they're leading me nowhere so now I'm here. I just want to be able to play pokemon BD on my CFW switch.

For extra information I have a mod chip modded switch.

Edit 1: Someone on reddit told me to search for the firmware from darthsternie, and put it on my SD Card
As I extracted to my sd card I got this error:

! A device which does not exist was specified.

Furthermore 021b9e670a8e86126803e9ba511180e.nca write error
 
Last edited by pajion,

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
17,094
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,412
Country
United States
It's not the cable or the OS. I have used some OS and cable before and it worked perfectly. However, just now after I reinstalled Tegrarcmgui, it decided to not work.
Well its still worth exploring because otherwise, you're not going to be able to send a payload.
If I'm running 12.1.0 on my hacked switch from the emuMMC, is it alright to use the nintendo download for the newest firmware? I'm still not clear on how I go about doing the updates... And admittedly the feature of being able to use bluetooth audio as of version 13 would be fantastic for me to use the system on my break at work.
No, its better to use the homebrew application Daybreak to update the firmware of your emuMMC.
Can I install atmosphere and use that for homebrew and still log onto my system nand and play retail game’s I’ve purchases online?

Or is it once you’ve installed emunand you can’t go online?
First, Atmosphere is never "installed" anywhere. At most, its technically 'installed' on your SD card but you have to send a payload in order to launch Atmosphere. Secondly, you risk getting banned if you go online after using any CFW or homebrew.
Hi,

I am going to install atmosphere and emunand today.

Once I install it,

Can I still use my sysnand to play retail game’s online or does this get me banned?
Going online with CFW & homebrew gets consoles banned.
I'd add to that question: is there anything, besides payload and SD card content, that is changed in the system by hekte/atmo?

AutoRCM, I was told, is essentially slightly corrupted bootloader, but besides that?
CFW & homebrew leaves traces that Nintendo use to ban people.
How do you click it I tried navigating with the buttons AND clicking it using the touchscreen it didn't work.
The touch screen should work.
So I've been rummaging through multiple google searches and I keep running into multiple errors. I finally got my switch to load again after trying to update several times by deleting my contents folder in Atmosphere. I'm back to Firmware 11.0 and I've been trying to update to 13.1 along with updating anything I can but it just keeps giving multiple different errors, when trying to update my firmware I am encountering "The downloaded file is not a firmware archive. This is most likely due to a broken link." And have finally exhausted my google searches as they're leading me nowhere so now I'm here. I just want to be able to play pokemon BD on my CFW switch.

For extra information I have a mod chip modded switch.

Edit 1: Someone on reddit told me to search for the firmware from darthsternie, and put it on my SD Card
As I extracted to my sd card I got this error:

! A device which does not exist was specified.

Furthermore 021b9e670a8e86126803e9ba511180e.nca write error
Pokemon BDSP should run just fine on firmware 11.0. Does the game not install/run?
 
  • Love
  • Like
Reactions: pajion and codezer0

pajion

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Nov 28, 2021
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
4
Country
United States
Well its still worth exploring because otherwise, you're not going to be able to send a payload.

No, its better to use the homebrew application Daybreak to update the firmware of your emuMMC.

First, Atmosphere is never "installed" anywhere. At most, its technically 'installed' on your SD card but you have to send a payload in order to launch Atmosphere. Secondly, you risk getting banned if you go online after using any CFW or homebrew.

Going online with CFW & homebrew gets consoles banned.

CFW & homebrew leaves traces that Nintendo use to ban people.

The touch screen should work.

Pokemon BDSP should run just fine on firmware 11.0. Does the game not install/run?
Correct the game does install, I cannot download/install the patch, nor can I run the game.
 

pajion

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Nov 28, 2021
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
4
Country
United States
What are you using to update your firmware?
Originally I was using AIO Switch Updater, but I'm struggling to get things to transfer from my pc to my SD card, its horribly difficult right now. I feel like there is corruption? But repairing my SD card, only made it so I can't enter Atmosphere right now, I'm trying to figure out how to reinstall CFW from the ground up, but I'm scared of screwing it up, so I'm bouncing between reddit and here hoping for an answer.

This is what a redditor responded to me:
You have (Corruption). Delete the atmosphere folder and pull down the latest from GitHub. Push the payload associated with that version

But I HIGHLY suggest you backup the entire card to your PC, do a fresh format of fat32 then copy it all back.
 

codezer0

Gaming keeps me sane
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
3,170
Trophies
0
Location
The Magic School Bus
XP
3,106
Country
United States
Okay, this is frustrating.

Got the switch updated, and finally wanted to pop in saint's 4 since I'd been sitting on it, unable to play all this time because I was hoping I could have jailbroken my Mariko by now. Anyways, since updated the emuMMC to 13.1.0 and...

it won't let me launch. I know the game will run on a stock switch, but it's demanding that I download additional content before it'll play. But since I have the dns settings to block nintendo OTA, it won't update. So it won't let me play at all.
 

OrGoN3

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2007
Messages
3,133
Trophies
0
XP
2,415
Country
United States
Okay, this is frustrating.

Got the switch updated, and finally wanted to pop in saint's 4 since I'd been sitting on it, unable to play all this time because I was hoping I could have jailbroken my Mariko by now. Anyways, since updated the emuMMC to 13.1.0 and...

it won't let me launch. I know the game will run on a stock switch, but it's demanding that I download additional content before it'll play. But since I have the dns settings to block nintendo OTA, it won't update. So it won't let me play at all.
You need the updates. That is what it is bugging you about. Each firmware had a version list of games to know which update is the latest. Either reset the required version, or get the update somehow.
 

codezer0

Gaming keeps me sane
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
3,170
Trophies
0
Location
The Magic School Bus
XP
3,106
Country
United States
You need the updates. That is what it is bugging you about. Each firmware had a version list of games to know which update is the latest. Either reset the required version, or get the update somehow.
This is all new to me, so I really don't know where to get updates other than to disable the DNS blocking.
 

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
17,094
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,412
Country
United States
Originally I was using AIO Switch Updater, but I'm struggling to get things to transfer from my pc to my SD card, its horribly difficult right now. I feel like there is corruption? But repairing my SD card, only made it so I can't enter Atmosphere right now, I'm trying to figure out how to reinstall CFW from the ground up, but I'm scared of screwing it up, so I'm bouncing between reddit and here hoping for an answer.

This is what a redditor responded to me:
You have (Corruption). Delete the atmosphere folder and pull down the latest from GitHub. Push the payload associated with that version

But I HIGHLY suggest you backup the entire card to your PC, do a fresh format of fat32 then copy it all back.
I feel like part of your problem is actually using the AIO Switch Updater. Its notoriously given many users issues before and I always tell other people to stay as far away as possible from it. Instead, use Daybreak to update the firmware. It comes bundled with Atmosphere.
This is all new to me, so I really don't know where to get updates other than to disable the DNS blocking.
You can always pirate the updates.
 
  • Like
Reactions: codezer0 and pajion

pajion

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Nov 28, 2021
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
4
Country
United States
I feel like part of your problem is actually using the AIO Switch Updater. Its notoriously given many users issues before and I always tell other people to stay as far away as possible from it. Instead, use Daybreak to update the firmware. It comes bundled with Atmosphere.

You can always pirate the updates.
Alright, I formatted my SD card, and now I'm using my switch as an SD card reader restoring my back up, after I achieve that I will attempt to use Daybreak to update everything. Thank you so much for all your help so far
 
  • Like
Reactions: Draxzelex
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Veho @ Veho: Jared Fogle.