Hacking SWITCH NOOB PARADISE - Ask questions here

The Catboy

GBATemp's Official Catboy: *Smug gay sounds*
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
24,724
Trophies
3
Age
30
Location
In front of my Switch
XP
24,966
Country
Antarctica
  • Like
Reactions: laz305

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
17,137
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,436
Country
United States
Thanks, that's the one I found but I was hoping there would be something more up to date. I also found this one
https://nh-server.github.io/switch-guide/
That guide was made after Atmosphere was finally being released albeit in beta status but its writer is strictly anti-piracy so it doesn't offer any guidance with patches and the like. That being said, newer guides aren't really necessary since the same exploit is still being used to hack the vast majority of Switch consoles. The only new exploits are Deja Vu which is covered in the guide I linked and the modchip which isn't covered in traditional guides.
 
  • Like
Reactions: The Catboy

medi01

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 9, 2018
Messages
43
Trophies
0
Age
72
XP
93
Country
Germany
When trying to move from SX OS (on 11.x) to emunand Atmo.

Emunand configuration/atmo install went smoothly.

Upgraded emu firmware to 13 using Daybreak.

Atmo install went well, but majority of games aren't playable ("software needs to be downloaded)
Installed Kefir and regretted it. (what a clusterfruck).


When trying to get back to SX OS, cartridge port stopped working. But it wasn't working on 13 either, so I thought fuses weren't burnt?

Is there any way to figure what state my cartridge is in? It seems like going to emu 13 and back to sys 11 with SX OS somehow corrupted things. =/

-----------------------------------

When SX OS installed game does not work on Atmo (asks to download) is it always sigpatches?
Installed bunch of them (from 4pda), but alas. :(

Is there a way to figure which sigs are used?
 

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
17,137
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,436
Country
United States
When trying to move from SX OS (on 11.x) to emunand Atmo.

Emunand configuration/atmo install went smoothly.

Upgraded emu firmware to 13 using Daybreak.

Atmo install went well, but majority of games aren't playable ("software needs to be downloaded)
Installed Kefir and regretted it. (what a clusterfruck).


When trying to get back to SX OS, cartridge port stopped working. But it wasn't working on 13 either, so I thought fuses weren't burnt?

Is there any way to figure what state my cartridge is in? It seems like going to emu 13 and back to sys 11 with SX OS somehow corrupted things. =/

-----------------------------------

When SX OS installed game does not work on Atmo (asks to download) is it always sigpatches?
Installed bunch of them (from 4pda), but alas. :(

Is there a way to figure which sigs are used?
Unlike SX OS, Atmosphere doesn't have patches built-in to launch backups because the creators of Atmosphere are vehemently anti-piracy. So if your games are not launching, then its probably because you're running vanilla Atmosphere. You can download the patches from this thread. They just go on the root of your SD card.
 

Fnadur

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Nov 27, 2021
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
8
Country
Argentina
Hello!! I installed ATM 1.2.4 with lastest payload, sigpatches and updated to latest firmware. I tested a few games like Pokemon Shining Pearl (it worked fine) but I can't launch New Pokemon Snap 2.0.1, the error that i got is "Game can't start, retry from home menu". I used Goldleaf to install it. What can I try to make it work? Or do anyone knows if New Pokemon Snap won't work with latest ATM? Thanks!! I'm the biggest noob :)
 

medi01

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 9, 2018
Messages
43
Trophies
0
Age
72
XP
93
Country
Germany
Unlike SX OS, Atmosphere doesn't have patches built-in to launch backups because the creators of Atmosphere are vehemently anti-piracy. So if your games are not launching, then its probably because you're running vanilla Atmosphere. You can download the patches from this thread. They just go on the root of your SD card.
Thanks for the prompt answer, I did use sigpatches from 4pda, will try these.

Any clues on the cartrige firmware version? How to check it at all?

Does daybreak update it by default?
 

Tanro

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 15, 2015
Messages
33
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
97
Country
United States
My Game card slot is not working on atmo, current stable version from github, 13.0.1 firmware. I have added nogc=0 to stratosphere.ini and added it to the configs folder.

Also set nogc to off in hekate.

Still cant get cards to read. Well I did get a card to read once, then rebooting forced it back into nogc again.
 

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
17,137
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,436
Country
United States
Hello!! I installed ATM 1.2.4 with lastest payload, sigpatches and updated to latest firmware. I tested a few games like Pokemon Shining Pearl (it worked fine) but I can't launch New Pokemon Snap 2.0.1, the error that i got is "Game can't start, retry from home menu". I used Goldleaf to install it. What can I try to make it work? Or do anyone knows if New Pokemon Snap won't work with latest ATM? Thanks!! I'm the biggest noob :)
What firmware are you currently on?
Thanks for the prompt answer, I did use sigpatches from 4pda, will try these.

Any clues on the cartrige firmware version? How to check it at all?

Does daybreak update it by default?
Unfortunately there is no way to check what firmware your cartridge is on. Daybreak doesn't directly update the cartridge slot. The only thing that updates the cartridge slot is the console's own bootloader and it only updates it when it detects the current firmware is higher than the cartridge slot's.
My Game card slot is not working on atmo, current stable version from github, 13.0.1 firmware. I have added nogc=0 to stratosphere.ini and added it to the configs folder.

Also set nogc to off in hekate.

Still cant get cards to read. Well I did get a card to read once, then rebooting forced it back into nogc again.
Well there's no need to modify both stratosphere and Hekate since you only need to edit one to disable nogc. Do you use Hekate or fusee to launch Atmosphere?
 

Tanro

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 15, 2015
Messages
33
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
97
Country
United States
What firmware are you currently on?

Unfortunately there is no way to check what firmware your cartridge is on. Daybreak doesn't directly update the cartridge slot. The only thing that updates the cartridge slot is the console's own bootloader and it only updates it when it detects the current firmware is higher than the cartridge slot's.

Well there's no need to modify both stratosphere and Hekate since you only need to edit one to disable nogc. Do you use Hekate or fusee to launch Atmosphere?
I've tried both. I use hekate most of the time.

At this point it doesn't really matter, switch was banned from eshop so its a useless brick now.
 

C7XL

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 27, 2020
Messages
60
Trophies
0
Location
Around the World
XP
469
Country
United States
Is there a way to disable this from popping up everytime I launch a game?
 

Attachments

  • Update.jpg
    Update.jpg
    90.1 KB · Views: 17

codezer0

Gaming keeps me sane
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
3,191
Trophies
0
Location
The Magic School Bus
XP
3,123
Country
United States
If I'm running 12.1.0 on my hacked switch from the emuMMC, is it alright to use the nintendo download for the newest firmware? I'm still not clear on how I go about doing the updates... And admittedly the feature of being able to use bluetooth audio as of version 13 would be fantastic for me to use the system on my break at work.
 
  • Like
Reactions: laz305

aofelix

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2013
Messages
1,011
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
1,112
Country
Can I install atmosphere and use that for homebrew and still log onto my system nand and play retail game’s I’ve purchases online?

Or is it once you’ve installed emunand you can’t go online?
 
  • Like
Reactions: laz305

aofelix

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2013
Messages
1,011
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
1,112
Country
Hi,

I am going to install atmosphere and emunand today.

Once I install it,

Can I still use my sysnand to play retail game’s online or does this get me banned?
 
  • Like
Reactions: laz305

medi01

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 9, 2018
Messages
43
Trophies
0
Age
72
XP
93
Country
Germany
Hi,

I am going to install atmosphere and emunand today.

Once I install it,

Can I still use my sysnand to play retail game’s online or does this get me banned?

I'd add to that question: is there anything, besides payload and SD card content, that is changed in the system by hekte/atmo?

AutoRCM, I was told, is essentially slightly corrupted bootloader, but besides that?
 

EpicLink_21

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Nov 26, 2021
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
14
XP
22
Country
United States
I can't assume what you do or do not know. For all I know, you may have had a huge misconception about CFW version numbers. Furthermore, you cannot assume everyone else will be able to 'read between the lines' because they simply may not know what you're referring to. Nobody else has complained about my help so I don't see what your issue is. But if you don't want my help, then good luck trying to update your system and not having everything go wrong because updating the firmware gives users the most issues.

Just so you know, I downloaded Checkpoint just to answer this question. Apparently, in the bottom right corner, you will see the icon of whatever user is currently active. Clicking that brings up the menu to change users.
How do you click it I tried navigating with the buttons AND clicking it using the touchscreen it didn't work.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0_4nmW5GZhQ