Hacking SWITCH NOOB PARADISE - Ask questions here

Hammyface

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2006
Messages
689
Trophies
0
Age
48
Location
Vermont
XP
964
Country
United States
When I boot into hekate and choose launch, there is an option for "Fusee" all the way to the right. What is that? And how is it different than booting into CFW (emuMMC)?
 

emilin_rose

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 5, 2015
Messages
56
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
197
Country
United States
incredibly stupid question probably, but what are the possibilities of emulating games from other systems on the Switch in the future, would such a thing be possible? i have a few games i'd like to play from like, the ps1/2 era on the switch i think would be fun.
 

Hayato213

( -_・) ︻デ═一' * (/❛o❛)/
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
10,887
Trophies
1
Location
Vector Industry
XP
5,955
Country
United States
incredibly stupid question probably, but what are the possibilities of emulating games from other systems on the Switch in the future, would such a thing be possible? i have a few games i'd like to play from like, the ps1/2 era on the switch i think would be fun.

too weak to emulated PS2, but you can emulate PS1 game with lakka.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ILeo

elm

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
609
Trophies
0
XP
1,444
Country
United States
Can anyone figure this out.

Metroid Dread has been working fine for a week now using Goldleaf (0.9) and then I tried to do the update (but it says I need a higher Firmware) so it didn't install the Update. So now I get an error message and It won't run the Metroid game anymore. I tried deleting the game and re-downloaded another .nsp and it still gives me an error and won't install the game!

(Error - 2002-45180) (0x234C02) Invalid NCA

-- ALL my other games work, but Metroid Dread won't even install !!


Any help will be great, Thanks
 
Last edited by elm,

elm

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
609
Trophies
0
XP
1,444
Country
United States
Can someone please help!!

After trying unsuccessfully to figure out why Metroid Dread just stopped working. Now my Switch won't boot after this screen.

Any suggestions??
 

Attachments

  • IMG_8864.jpg
    IMG_8864.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 22

ngoctung91

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 24, 2018
Messages
50
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
212
Country
Vietnam
I'm using Atm with a rcx right now. So everytime I want to inject or modify something on my SD card I have to take out the card and turn off my Switch. Is there any method that can help me connect my (sd card) Switch to my laptop using just a cable? Because it always takes a lot of time.
 

ILeo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2016
Messages
100
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
233
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, so my switch has like 50-55°C TEMPS while docked I check the temps from album homebrew menu is there a better way to check temps on the switch?
Are those normal temps or should it be lower? if so should I change the thermal paste and replace it with Artic MX-4 or Grizzly kryonaut?

 
Last edited by ILeo,

AkGBA

Nope
Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2007
Messages
345
Trophies
0
XP
1,186
Country
France
Hey. Just switch from SXOS to Atmosphère.
What's the difference between booting straight to Atmosphère and using Hekate to inject fusée ?

Thx in advance.
 

NeoGranzon

シュウ 「グラビトロンカノン 発射!」
Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2019
Messages
1,052
Trophies
0
XP
1,415
Country
Italy
Hmm, well then I apologize as I have no idea what the issue is or how to fix it. What you can do is try and contacting the creator of Hekate, CTCaer, either on Hekate's GitHub page or via the RetroNX Discord Server where he frequents from time to time.

Make sure you are also using new Hekate .bin file as the payload.

Technically yes. While the Rekado Android app can replace the function of the RCM Loader, you do still need something to enter RCM with. It doesn't have to be a jig per se but you need something conductive like a paperclip or SIM card remover to insert into the right Joy-Con rail.
@Draxzelex thanks for reply,if i understand correctly i just need a jig.
Another question: with Rekado can i install both Hekate and Atmosphere?
 

Tremo

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 22, 2021
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
23
Country
United Kingdom
I used to think keeping a clean SysNAND and only ever having a "dirty" EmuNAND posed an almost guaranteed ban risk, however I think I'm coming to learn this isn't the case. How many of you go online perfectly fine using a clean SysNAND but mod away to your hearts content on EmuNAND and haven't been banned? I will definitely do the same at some point if I can prevent a ban that way and still get to play online. On my EmuNAND I'd want to use homebrew such as emulators and be able to play backups.

Also, I've seen a few different resources linked that are suggested for people to follow when wanting to mod their switches. Which resource would you guys recommend more, switch.homebrew.guide or nh-server.github.io ?
 

HeartFullaNapalm

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 16, 2021
Messages
15
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
66
Country
United Kingdom
When I boot into hekate and choose launch, there is an option for "Fusee" all the way to the right. What is that? And how is it different than booting into CFW (emuMMC)?
In my very limited experience, choosing to boot using the "Fusee" option on the right was the only way I could install NSPs or Tinfoil. When I booted using the left option "CFW (sysMMC)" (which is what the guide I followed told me to do), I couldn't install NSPs (using Goldleaf or Awoo) or Tinfoil no matter how many times I updated the sigpatches (both manually by copying the files from Github and also by using HamletDuFromage's AIO Switch Updater homebrew app).
 
  • Like
Reactions: Hammyface

NIGELH7086

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 17, 2018
Messages
41
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
1,301
Country
United Kingdom
In my very limited experience, choosing to boot using the "Fusee" option on the right was the only way I could install NSPs or Tinfoil. When I booted using the left option "CFW (sysMMC)" (which is what the guide I followed told me to do), I couldn't install NSPs (using Goldleaf or Awoo) or Tinfoil no matter how many times I updated the sigpatches (both manually by copying the files from Github and also by using HamletDuFromage's AIO Switch Updater homebrew app).
I Have been trying to install Super Smash Ultimate with latest update and dlc I get an error saying try again from the home menu I have downloaded it from a few places installed it with a few installers but still the same.
I have launched my Switch with fusee made sure the fusee sig patches were up to date and tried exactly the same with hekate all the other games work fine even dying light
 
  • Like
Reactions: Hammyface

andyboy

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 19, 2021
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
28
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I have got these and added them to the switch but I now get a message about updating my bootloader and dragons. I downloaded the zip file from hekate for the bootloader and added that too, overwriting files but the same error comes up. Any ideas?

Thanks
Andy

Have you tried deleting the bootloader folder and putting the new one on your SD card? Make a backup of your old bootloader folder first before trying this.

I have done this and got an error about the ipl not having entries, so I copied my original ipl onto the card and am now back to a red screen shortly after injecting the payload. Sorry, not sure what to try!
 

ZazenNoir

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 11, 2018
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
104
Country
France
Hi guys,
All the .nsp I install with tinfoil or goldleaf that are recent won't install properly.
The installation process goes smoothly but when trying to launch the newly installed nsp I get an error message and it wont launch.
sometimes The nsp icon on the switch menu shows as broken after trying to launch it once.
I tried different sources, and nothing; always for the same nsp files.
And yet , updates for nsp already installed work perfectly fine when installed via tinfoil.


IV1 switch
firmware 13.0
atmosphere 1.1.1 updated via aio updater
sigpatches are up to date and the payload I use is fusee.bin.
micro sd formated in exfat.
 

impeeza

¡Kabito!
Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
757
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
1,146
Country
Colombia
incredibly stupid question probably, but what are the possibilities of emulating games from other systems on the Switch in the future, would such a thing be possible? i have a few games i'd like to play from like, the ps1/2 era on the switch i think would be fun.
You can use RetroArch has a Homebrew, you can boot a Lakka system or even you can boot Android with any emulator. so is just mather of reading a few on the net.
 

HeartFullaNapalm

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 16, 2021
Messages
15
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
66
Country
United Kingdom
So you are supposed to boot into Fusee to install games? And then go back to your emuNAND to play them?
I just use Fusee for everything, and haven't encountered any issues yet.

Also I realise from you mentioning emuMMC in your original post and reading some other threads that I completely got emuMMC and sysMMC mixed up. Good thing I wasn't concerned about keeping my sysMMC clean!
 

foreverimages

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 13, 2020
Messages
35
Trophies
0
XP
84
Country
United States
Greetings all -- Recently updated my Switch to latest version of Atmosphere/DeepSea and FW 13.0 -- A few quick questions:

1 - I updated all the sigpatches to 13.0 hekate package but no matter what I do the XCI or NSP for Dying Light Platinum Edition installs but also shows as corrupted data. I have tried Tinfoil, DBI, etc and nothing works.

2 - Since Dying Light is a brand new game and this looks like a sigpatch error, how do you get sigpatches for the newest 0 day games?

3 - I used to boot hekate to fusee directly but with 13.0/newest Atmosphere, I don't see an option to boot directly to fusee. What am I missing?

Thanks in advance!
 

Codify

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 11, 2009
Messages
46
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
201
Country
Hi,
I have been running Kosmos/Hekate on emuNAND on my switch for a couple of years now. It works fine but my emuNAND is on firmware 9.1 and newer software does not run on it. Kosmos is discontinued and from what I've read it is better to switch to vanilla Atmosphere anyway.

Can anyone tell me how to switch over to atmosphere without losing any of my installed games? I think my setup is a bit of a mess after downloading various sigpatches and hacks to keep Kosmos running and stop blawar from detecting kosmos in tinfoil etc. Is it safe just to download Atmosphere over what I have at the moment? Should I update emuNAND firmware first or do the Atmosphere upgrade first?
Thanks
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • phalk @ phalk:
    Assembler is something I always wanted to learn
    Gift
  • phalk @ phalk:
    but.... nah
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    No point really.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Even the simplest device these days runs some sort of high level language.
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Veho all the IT stuff i've learned in school has been extremely basic... i knew most of it already
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it's better to learn on your own, it goes much faster than the snail pace they teach you at in school
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    assembly is actually great, gets you to run everything about 80% faster than C massaged code
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    assembler syntax is dead easy, but "how to put pieces together" logic requires to have in mind the original idea, and the CPU layout, and that's like double the work of C stuff. It's best to write C first, add some unit tests, then go assembly, then run the unit tests
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it can run faster than compiled code, but modern compilers are really good at optimization and you need to be even better at assembly to do a better job
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    with that all your assembler base will actually work
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    even on embedded systems, without a damned debugger
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    syntax is easy but the code is hard to read, you can't look at a piece of code and expect to understand it without looking at all the code around it to see how it all works together so it takes much longer to read the code, it takes longer to write it too because what might be 1 line of code in C might be 20 lines of assembly
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    the language is very simple to understand (because it's barely a language at all) understanding how all the instructions work together to form a whole is another matter, in general it's such a pain to work with that i would never recommend it unless you have a need for it. don't listen to this guy and learn assembly just because you want to make your code run faster, you are wasting your time, but if you run into a situation where your code isn't fast enough even after you enabled -Ofast and you NEED it to be faster, then you can consider assembly
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Coto have you tried -Ofast btw? ;)
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I have o fast before but I suspect we are talking different Os lol
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    @The Real Jdbye quite idiotic and frankly, bu
    llshit points as usual you make. Not only because you have no idea what you're talking about, but also because there is proof (both i've seen and maintained) in regards to C and hand-written assembler code, and the speed gain is simply over half the framerate.
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    gbaemu4ds's C ARM and THUMB CPU emulator and GBARunner2's ARM and THUMB handcoded assembly. Just run Yoshi's Island GBA and compare it by yourself.
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    or SnemulDS's C CPU Core vs SnemulDS SnezziDS ARM core. The first running at about 45% (half the speed) vs ~105% (full speed)
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    yeah, keep believing -Ofast will make everything faster.
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    Must ambulate quickly! ~Sonic (a hedgehog)
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Gotta Go Fast diarrhea makes a horrible sound, blue skin and super sick... Probably food poisoning from bad chili dogs.
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Huh Betty white was born on mlk day
    Gift
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: Huh Betty white was born on mlk day