1. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    Hello,

    I got a V1 Switch, is there an up to date guide i can follow to get CFW working?

    Thanks!
     
  2. bloodpancake

    bloodpancake Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Canada
    This is the guide I followed just this week. It is very thorough.
    https://switch.homebrew.guide/gettingstarted/beforestarting.html

    It covers everything you need to get going from setting up your sd card to backing up your nand to installing atmosphere.

    I would say your first step is back up your SD card and make sure it's formatted in FAT32. If it's formatted in exFAT that can cause problems with data corruption later on. Easier to just make sure it's FAT32 right from the start.

    *edit*

    If you're using Windows 10 you are gonna have problems formatting your sd card to Fat32. For whatever reason the folks at Microsoft decided that anything over 32gb should be exFAT or NTFS. You can use guiformat to format your SD card.

    https://gbatemp.net/download/gui-format.33869/

    You will want to use 32kb cluster size as well.
     
    Last edited by bloodpancake, Mar 2, 2021
    Deleted User likes this.
  3. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    14,545
    Country:
    United States
    You do not understand how Hekate works. The launch profiles "CFW sysNAND" and others are being read from the hekate_ipl.ini file. Unless you name a launch profile "fusee-primary", you will not see such a thing. If you want to load fusee-primary via Hekate, either setup a launch profile in the hekate_ipl.ini file or chainload it from Hekate.

    How is your SD card formatted? And there is only a difference if you use fss0. Fusee is slower than fss0 and fusee can only boot emuMMC or sysMMC, not both unlike fss0 which makes fss0 the objectively better option.
     
  4. bloodpancake

    bloodpancake Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Canada
    It is formatted in FAT32 and also has a emuMMC partition.

    I have a theory though... When I took my switch off the dock after playing some games, I turned it off. I took it over to my computer and when I plugged in the USB cable, it turned on. Either by me bumping the power button by accident (I don't think I did though), or maybe it turns on when it gets plugged in? Not sure. Either way it started booting into ofw. I held the power button down right away to turn it back off and then entered rcm and loaded hekate. The nintendo switch splash screen was up for a second or two before I managed to turn it off again.

    Is it possible that by my switch starting to load ofw, it detected that there were nsp files installed that weren't there before and erased them? It's the only thing that makes any sense to me.

    I ended up just reinstalling them all and they work fine now. I also changed my Nintendo folder back to emummc/raw1/Nintendo (I had changed it to just Nintendo cause I had some eshop games in there already) just in case that happens again.
     
  5. jimbo11

    jimbo11 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    I have a Switch and SX OS on a 200GB microsd, and the SX pro dongle. I've felt like this is not enough for me, and the card is also pretty slow on write speeds, so I'm thinking of upgrading my capacity and switching to atmosphere since SX OS seems to have a questionable future in front of it and is still stuck on the last firmware. At the same time, I want to set up an emunand - possibly play a few games online on sysnand, and maybe use emunand for online local multiplayer of a few games (there are utilities for this, right? which spoof local multiplayer but over the internet?). My Switch has not touched the internet since I got it, so I'm almost fully certain it is not banned unless I screwed something up. I do have AutoRCM set up on the switch.

    So, I haven't really looked much into the current status of everything, but what would be the best way for me to achieve these goals? To have a sysnand for normal online play, an emunand that can possibly spoof local multiplayer for online use of some games (this isn't super necessary, but seems like fun to try out), and homebrew that will be able to update when new firmwares come out? Are there any potential pitfalls that I wouldn't know about or that have cropped up in the last few years of me not paying much attention other than just updating my SX OS and firmware when necessary? Am I right to think that this is possible, or should I expect to have one of the nands fully offline at all times?

    Thanks in advance.
     
    Last edited by jimbo11, Mar 3, 2021
  6. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    I have an SX pro dongle, which i'd like to use for atmo when im on the go. However it seems that whenever i get the splash screen it stays black/reboots in rcm mode (autorcm). And when i use the usb cable + laptop i have zero issues. Any reason why the sx os dongle is acting up?
     
  7. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    14,545
    Country:
    United States
    In order go online, you need a clean eMMC backup made before ever running any sort of CFW or homebrew. Without one, you cannot go online safely and there is no way to forge one nor clean your eMMC to the point that you will not risk getting banned going online. If you do have one, you can restore that clean backup either before or after setting up emuMMC. Note that emuMMC is initially just a copy of sysMMC so whatever state it is in before emuMMC is created will dictate the initial state of emuMMC. Once you have setup emuMMC, you only go online with the clean partition whether that is sysMMC or emuMMC. Contrary to popular belief, emuMMC is safe to go online with so it does not matter whether you go online with emuMMC or sysMMC.

    Which splash screen? And what payload do you send with your laptop?
     
    Deleted User likes this.
  8. froginator

    froginator Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Chad
    howdy all, since there is no dumb questions in this thread i was just wondering why my mods are not loading?
    i put them in my sd card as follows:
    >atmosphere>contents>(game id)>romfs>(mod content)
    any idea why they refuse to load?
    I also tried using simple mod manager but that didn't work either. I loaded up the sd card as follows for using s.m.m:
    /mods/(game name)/(mod folder)/titles/(game id)/romfs/( mod content)
     
    Last edited by froginator, Mar 3, 2021
  9. jimbo11

    jimbo11 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    I do have a backup, somewhere, and thanks for reminding me of that since I had forgotten about it. I'm talking about "going online" with emunand as in not actually touching nintendo's servers (using stealth mode or the like) and having limited connectivity for other homebrew features perhaps. Or even being able to connect to my local network so I can possibly access the switch for network installs or that sort of thing, instead of just keeping wireless off at all times. And then leaving sysnand with the possibility of going online if I wanted to get just a few games that would use nintendo's servers theoretically.

    Anyway - is there some sort of starter package to make atmosphere as easy to use as sxos? I can figure things out, but I just want to make sure I'm getting all the things I need to have the features I've gotten used to.
     
  10. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    14,545
    Country:
    United States
    No I understood your question but you also have to understand that emuMMC wasn't created to be used offline and sysMMC isn't meant to be used online. Either setup works just as fine because as I stated earlier, emuMMC can be safely used online contrary to what people believe. If you want a package for beginners, I recommend SDSetup as it also includes a guide for setting up Atmosphere.
     
    jimbo11 likes this.
  11. jimbo11

    jimbo11 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    Theoretically, is it possible to have sysnand and emunand, and to go online onto nintendo's servers on emunand, and get banned, and not have that affect sysnand? Like, does emunand spoof hardware identifiers? Obviously it would still affect the nintendo account, just wondering what exactly emunand does in that circumstance. I'm not even sure if I want to do any of this, I just like to understand what's possible and what's not.

    Thanks for the SDSetup suggestion, that's exactly what I was looking for.
     
  12. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    Is there a way to install nsp files over USB? Due to fat32 i reach a limit due some big files.


    Also, i like to use an ftp client for smaller file transfers, how can i block the nintendo servers?
    I read something about incognito or deleting ur serial number, but i'm not sure whats relevant or old.
     
    Last edited Mar 3, 2021
  13. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    14,545
    Country:
    United States
    emuMMC is a copy of sysMMC. Therefore if one is banned, then technically both are banned because emuMMC is no different than sysMMC. Furthermore, it would actually NOT affect the Nintendo Account. In fact, people have used Nintendo Accounts from banned consoles on unbanned consoles without issues. Banning Nintendo Accounts accomplishes very little as one can easily make a new one at no charge while consoles are more expensive to replace hence why bans are primarily placed upon consoles.

    Yes, all you do is use any homebrew application that supports installing USB files which most, if not all, support as well as a program on your computer to push the .NSP files to your Switch. And if you want to block Nintendo servers while using FTP, you can use 90DNS.
     
    Deleted User likes this.
  14. SkyDX

    SkyDX Anime Signature Creator, PM me if you want one! :)
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    526
    Country:
    Germany
    Quick question, I'm getting new Joycons, what does that mean for Hekate and Android? I recall I had to dump something from my current Joycons at some point, will Android still work with the new ones?
     
  15. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    14,545
    Country:
    United States
    I know for a fact Hekate doesn't care what combination of Joy-Cons and Switch tablets but since I have never used Android before, I am unsure if it would make a difference. My gut is telling me that they should work but this is the first time I am ever hearing anyone saying they had to dump something from their Joy-Cons.
     
  16. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie


    Thanks! I tried several tools/pc clients. Like Awoo for example, but they always mention that they cant detect an usb connection.
    I do have the correct drivers via Zadiq, any clue what im missing?
     
  17. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    14,545
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tried using other ports and/or cables?
     
  18. Sora Takihawa

    Sora Takihawa GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Messages:
    3,490
    Country:
    Germany
    my switch suddently starts to autoeject my sd card....i even reseated my sd slot....still same ....i boot and after 10 min it says sd removed......i need help
     
  19. Sora Takihawa

    Sora Takihawa GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Messages:
    3,490
    Country:
    Germany
    its super weird .....i have a 400gb sd with stuff on it....formatted fat32 cluster 32.....if i insert it either hekate or hos wanna reboot because i "removed" the sd.....after 5 mins.....i reseated sd slot...still same so i thought my sd may be faulty...but if i format another sd my switch cant read it......ams always ged sd cant be initialized error
     
  20. Czupakabra

    Czupakabra Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Poland
    Hi all

    I turnon my switch after a year ? and right now im on 9.0.1 ams 0.9.4. I'd like to update to start new releases, do you have any step by step how to do it and what to choose ? i use RCM loader and still want to be able to play my current games . Somebody can help please :)
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, PARADISE, SWITCH