Hacking SWITCH NOOB PARADISE - Ask questions here

Mr_P

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 6, 2015
Messages
66
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
179
Country
So guys, looking for a little help here:

The switch was working fine playing a game and was turned off just by pressing the power button im guessing whilst game wasnt closed from main menu. The SD card was removed in order to add some more games to it which was done. However, on putting the SD card back into the system and loading up the following message appeared:

pkg2 decryption failed
is sept updated
failed to launch HOS
press any key to continue.....

After which it boots back to the hekate menu.

Honestly I will try and answer as much as I can regarding setup, but this is what I have and what I have done since.

I first setup the switch a long time ago using this guide https://nh-server.github.io/switch-guide/user_guide/getting_started/ and using SDsetup.com as well.

I power on switch using TegraRcmGui, selecting hekate 5.2.1, choose "CFW (emummc) and this was followed by an "Atmos" logo, then a "sept" logo and it would boot into CFW.

I believe I have the lateset atmosphere and firmware.

I had tried the following:
1 - updating hekate to 5.3.3 as well as using the "update reboot 2 payload" when doing so.
2 -adding / updating sigpatches to see if its that.
3 - Booting using fusee-primary but that gives me a black screen and doesn't boot
4 - Deleted the added games after
5 - Ran Fix Archive Bit and it set 2 items at first now its none
6 - If i go into "more configs" on bootloader screen it says "no ini or boot entries found" if that may be relevant?

Looked into maybe having to delete the whole atmosphere folder and replacing but didnt as I dont know if that will affect anything else such as the "PRODINFO" for hiding the ip etc that you can do

Think that's about it but wanted to avoid a clean install and lose games for now so thought id ask here. I appreciate any help you might be able to provide and if you need some file info from the system loaded you may need to say where to find that info please

UPDATE:
=======

1 - image attached from logs
2- here is my hekate.ipl
[config]
autoboot=0
autoboot_list=0
bootwait=3
backlight=161
autohosoff=1
autonogc=1
updater2p=1


[CFW (emuMMC)]
emummcforce=1
fss0=atmosphere/fusee-secondary.bin
icon=bootloader/res/icon_payload.bmp

[Stock]
emummc_force_disable=1
fss0=atmosphere/fusee-secondary.bin
icon=bootloader/res/icon_switch.bmp
stock=1

UPDATE 2:
=========

Put in my old SD card from when i upgraded and it all works fine other than saying the nyx is old. Sooo...... would I just be able to replace select folders and get it up and running and if so do I then just update atmosphere etc?

thanks again
 

Attachments

  • switch.jpg
    switch.jpg
    42.2 KB · Views: 83
Last edited by Mr_P,

DemonSurfer

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 29, 2006
Messages
19
Trophies
0
XP
251
Country
I haven't used my Switch for a while,probably a couple of months and usually went with AtlasNX Kosmos but believe that's no longer updated... what would be the best option now? Do i need to completely uninstall Kosmos? Need new sig patches etc? Thanks.
 

jy67676

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 26, 2020
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
52
Country
Mexico
I got a switch that has the following version of the software

rcm loader v1.2

9.10 AMS 0.10.5|S

What are the steps to update it to the latest?

Thanks
 

RookieHaxer

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 16, 2020
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
50
Country
United States
Sorry this is my third time posting my issue in this thread but to have no one respond. Is there really no one who can help me out with this? :(

I have a bit of a problem, I haven't used my Switch in awhile and just installed the Smash Bros update two nights ago. All of a sudden though, I'm unable to open the Homebrew menu when holding the R button while launching a game to use the extra bit of ram. I can only open Homebrew when launching the Album application in handheld mode now (pro controller when plugged into the TV didn't work). And when I try to launch RetroArch to play roms, the Switch crashes and gives me an error code for Atmosphere: 2168-0002 (0x4a8)

My Switch is currently on version: 10.0.4|AMS 0.14.0|E
I'm using the Atmosphere fusee-primary.bin payloader



I tried updating Atmosphere and sigpatches last night using the AIO Switch updater app but I'm still having the same issues.
 

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
17,824
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,798
Country
United States
So guys, looking for a little help here:

The switch was working fine playing a game and was turned off just by pressing the power button im guessing whilst game wasnt closed from main menu. The SD card was removed in order to add some more games to it which was done. However, on putting the SD card back into the system and loading up the following message appeared:

pkg2 decryption failed
is sept updated
failed to launch HOS
press any key to continue.....

After which it boots back to the hekate menu.

Honestly I will try and answer as much as I can regarding setup, but this is what I have and what I have done since.

I first setup the switch a long time ago using this guide https://nh-server.github.io/switch-guide/user_guide/getting_started/ and using SDsetup.com as well.

I power on switch using TegraRcmGui, selecting hekate 5.2.1, choose "CFW (emummc) and this was followed by an "Atmos" logo, then a "sept" logo and it would boot into CFW.

I believe I have the lateset atmosphere and firmware.

I had tried the following:
1 - updating hekate to 5.3.3 as well as using the "update reboot 2 payload" when doing so.
2 -adding / updating sigpatches to see if its that.
3 - Booting using fusee-primary but that gives me a black screen and doesn't boot
4 - Deleted the added games after

Looked into maybe having to delete the whole atmosphere folder and replacing but didnt as I dont know if that will affect anything else such as the "PRODINFO" for hiding the ip etc that you can do

Think that's about it but wanted to avoid a clean install and lose games for now so thought id ask here. I appreciate any help you might be able to provide and if you need some file info from the system loaded you may need to say where to find that info please
Try updating Atmosphere to the latest version.

You shouldn't be using exFAT as it can corrupt your SD card. Switch to FAT32

I haven't used my Switch for a while,probably a couple of months and usually went with AtlasNX Kosmos but believe that's no longer updated... what would be the best option now? Do i need to completely uninstall Kosmos? Need new sig patches etc? Thanks.
First off, Kosmos is not a CFW; it is just a package of Atmosphere and Hekate so it was never installed. This also means you can just update Hekate and Atmosphere without relying on Kosmos for future updates. And if you are going to continue using Hekate and Atmosphere, you can get the latest patches from here.
I got a switch that has the following version of the software

rcm loader v1.2

9.10 AMS 0.10.5|S

What are the steps to update it to the latest?

Thanks
Download the latest Atmosphere, remove the old CFW files from your SD card, and place the new ones on there. As for updating your firmware, you can use either ChoiDujourNX or Daybreak.
 

anxo396

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 1, 2020
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
42
Country
Spain
Hi Guys, I wanted to ask a little question:

The thing is: i am willing to install chiaki to play remote PS4 games (the idea of a handheld ps4 just melts me down), but my emuNAND has always been offline to prevent ban (and I have done plenty of ban-justifying stuff).

So here comes my question: If I now go online on my emuNAND, provided that I am using 90DNS/sxstealthmode, is there any “new” chance Nintendo gets me compared to being offline?
 

warlover

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 28, 2010
Messages
12
Trophies
0
XP
81
Country
United States
Hello, I followed NH Switch Guide to load CFW, everything works fine, I have 256GB microSD card and by followed the guide, it formatted FAT32, is there way I can change to exFAT? Thanks
 

Mr_P

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 6, 2015
Messages
66
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
179
Country
Try updating Atmosphere to the latest version.

Thanks - I have done that as in copy and paste the download overwriting any files it needed to but still the same. Have added a little update onto the original post if that makes any more sense too
 

Adran_Marit

Walküre's Hacker
Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2015
Messages
3,174
Trophies
1
Location
42*South
XP
3,300
Country
Australia
Hello, I followed NH Switch Guide to load CFW, everything works fine, I have 256GB microSD card and by followed the guide, it formatted FAT32, is there way I can change to exFAT? Thanks
You want it as fat32, there is less corruption that way while providing the most compatibility with system firmware
 
  • Like
Reactions: warlover

jucaa

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2012
Messages
146
Trophies
0
XP
636
Country
United States
My switch been taking too long to instal nsp, about 2 hours for a 10 gb game, via usb, sd card or internet and using any installer, awoo, goldleaf or tinfoil, is this normal?
I remember it took a lot less time before.
 

reddead95

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 1, 2020
Messages
61
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
120
Country
United States
OK update got a new SD card and now I get this when loading into received_273485760651802.jpeg
I made sure to use a new download of the newest software everything for atmosphere. Right now I just ordered the part for a replacement for the SD card reader. So maybe that should fix that error. Another thing I just found out that's really weird when I try to boot up and launch the system it will go completely black on the screen but then I found out something weird if I try to replug in my switched it shows are rcm but instead of launching into the switch it goes back to the main page being ready to launch up the screen20201026_151743.jpg.... sigh it acts like it stuck in recovery mode.
 

Mr_P

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 6, 2015
Messages
66
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
179
Country
Hi again,

so I have finally resolved that my sd card is corrupted and I cannot get the cfw to boot. I have tried an old cfw sd card and it works. Originally followed this guide https://nh-server.github.io/switch-guide/ so I have backups of the NAND and prodkeys and prodinfo, etc. What method would I use to completely clean the SD card and start again using emummc so that nothing is affected and I can restart from scratch.
Attached is how my setup looked before as a reference
I would've thought things may be more refined since the guide I used :lol:

thanks all
 

Attachments

  • switch.jpg
    switch.jpg
    134.8 KB · Views: 40

Adran_Marit

Walküre's Hacker
Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2015
Messages
3,174
Trophies
1
Location
42*South
XP
3,300
Country
Australia
My switch been taking too long to instal nsp, about 2 hours for a 10 gb game, via usb, sd card or internet and using any installer, awoo, goldleaf or tinfoil, is this normal?
I remember it took a lot less time before.

bad sd card?


Ive just made aware of haku33, is this a good alternative to use to getting your Sysnand back to stock??

The only way I would fully trust is having an original clean backup you took yourself. They even say it may not 100% work on the github. - in saying that its probably better than messing with a tonne of files manually. Make a backup first.

SO, how to put games or files greater than 4GB if FAT32 is the best option?

Use usb/network install with tinfoil or awoo installer.

OK update got a new SD card and now I get this when loading into View attachment 231223
I made sure to use a new download of the newest software everything for atmosphere. Right now I just ordered the part for a replacement for the SD card reader. So maybe that should fix that error. Another thing I just found out that's really weird when I try to boot up and launch the system it will go completely black on the screen but then I found out something weird if I try to replug in my switched it shows are rcm but instead of launching into the switch it goes back to the main page being ready to launch up the screenView attachment 231224.... sigh it acts like it stuck in recovery mode.

You might have a damaged pin on the actual motherboard side of the microsd card connector, which I've found is the more common issue over the actual card reader itself. There are people that can repair it based on your location, however.

Hi again,

so I have finally resolved that my sd card is corrupted and I cannot get the cfw to boot. I have tried an old cfw sd card and it works. Originally followed this guide https://nh-server.github.io/switch-guide/ so I have backups of the NAND and prodkeys and prodinfo, etc. What method would I use to completely clean the SD card and start again using emummc so that nothing is affected and I can restart from scratch.
Attached is how my setup looked before as a reference
I would've thought things may be more refined since the guide I used :lol:

thanks all

Use guiformat to put the sd card to fat32, redownload all the cfw files and place them from the new download on the fresh formatted microsd card. do not use the ones already on there as they are likely corrupted. Then follow the guide like normal for setting up emunand
 

Mr_P

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 6, 2015
Messages
66
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
179
Country
bad sd card?

Use guiformat to put the sd card to fat32, redownload all the cfw files and place them from the new download on the fresh formatted microsd card. do not use the ones already on there as they are likely corrupted. Then follow the guide like normal for setting up emunand

So just show how my sd is currently partitioned - should i delete all partitions then setup the same way or just use guiformat on a specific partition?
 

Attachments

  • sd setup.jpg
    sd setup.jpg
    176.4 KB · Views: 28

simsimsim

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 16, 2018
Messages
244
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
717
Country
Canada
So I fully charged my NS to 100% this morning because I'm boarding a flight. 2 hours later when I'm on the plane, I tried turning on the NS and it won't turn on at all. After I got back home, apparently the reason why it won't turn on it's because it had no battery...Has this happened to anyone before? This is really weird because I'm sure the NS should be fully charged. It's running on CFW with auto RCM enabled. Could this have caused the battery to drain for some reason? (even though this rarely happens, only happened once before in my memory).
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    We have layaway
    Gift
  • SAIYAN48 @ SAIYAN48:
    what's with muricans
    and their guns?
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Stereotype
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    215 shootings in the US just this year, according to the BBC
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    That's almost a shooting per month in each state
    +1
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Nice improvement
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    dangerously close to buying a miyoo mini :/
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    I was just looking at those the other day
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    But $50 could get a retroid that does some ps2
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    $50 more*
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Then $100 more added to that $100 could get you an Odin 🤷‍♂️
    Gift
  • Noctosphere @ Noctosphere:
    I want a gun to kill all
    guns, then make this gun commit suicide
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    60 bucks is pretty good deal, i mainly play gba and gb anyway
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    using a gb micro and v1 gb sp, be nice to get a bigger brighter screen
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    I still like my powkiddy v90
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    got tempted by that too, and mainly the ambernic woodgrain gameboy, almost bought that
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Powkiddy quality control is pretty trash and software glitchy but the screes nice
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    The ANBERNIC RG280V looks nice
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    i like the v90, i dig clamshells, love my sp but it's the old version with the dull-ass screen
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    and my micro has a sharp screen but it's tiny and i have old person eyes
    Gift
  • M @ MrWhosHacking:
    i need help with my switch can anyone help me
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Saw powkiddy.com had the on sale for $35
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    The Retroid Pocket 2+ is great value for money, $99, it's still in the "budget" range somewhat but it has a nice large screen and can run a whole lot of platforms.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    The Myoo Mini is cyoot, but mini :P
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    The Funkey S is even cuter and mini-er :tpi:
    Gift
    Veho @ Veho: The Funkey S is even cuter and mini-er :tpi: