Gaming Hardware Hacking Emulation Switch Handheld Overclocking Erista Concern

DrippyB

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 23, 2022
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
Florida
XP
36
Country
United States
Hello Ive been searching far and wide all over this website and online in general for an answer on this but cant find anything. I have an Erista model unit and I understand fully that Max OCs being an issue arent a matter of temps but of voltage and the board not being able to sustain high clocks. So I understand a 1785CPU/153GPU/1600 is safe within the range of usage. My question is: Besides battery life being shorter, is there any concern for running these clocks in handheld? I only want them to play Tekken 3 in handheld mode using the PS1 core in retroarch as it requires a max CPU OC and works fine with complete GPU underclock. Much appreciate for any insight, Ive been having a real hard time finding any clear answer on the effect this may have, if any at all besides less battery life. I do get pretty decent battery life handheld even at max CPU overclock playing tekken with the GPU underclocked all the way and ran a test and actually managed to get just under 4.5 hours battery life with max brightness and with the volume slider at half way.
 

DrippyB

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 23, 2022
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
Florida
XP
36
Country
United States
You could try the recent Duckstation test build from retronx discord, apparently it has better performance without/with less overclocking.
I really appreciate the response and Ill definitely look into it. Do you happen to know of any downsides of maxing your CPU in handheld though? Just incase of of any compatibility issues with duckstation, never hurts to have two emulators.
 

bad361

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2018
Messages
1,144
Trophies
0
Location
Moscow
XP
1,875
Country
Russia
I really appreciate the response and Ill definitely look into it. Do you happen to know of any downsides of maxing your CPU in handheld though? Just incase of of any compatibility issues with duckstation, never hurts to have two emulators.
First of all, tekken3 needs max 1.5 CPU in rearmed for fullspeed. Secondly, duckstation port for HOS is on the horizon and it plays t3 at 2x res with geometry corrections without any OC at all (there is already an alpha build available). Thirdly, there are other options like lakka/android, generally ps1 emulation doesn't require full OC, usually 1.2-1.5 max. And lastly, there are no downsides in using allowed overclocking profiles except for shorter battery life in long terms.
 
Last edited by bad361,

hippy dave

BBMB
Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
8,180
Trophies
1
XP
13,055
Country
United Kingdom
I just read your first post again and noticed you specified a low gpu clock, and that makes sense for ps1 emulation. Yes you can run max CPU clock with no GPU overclock without any worries, potential problems would come with high CPU AND high GPU clocks, which could draw more power than the motherboard is designed for. Someone had a handy table of which settings combinations were safe, but max CPU with no GPU overclock is fine.
 

DrippyB

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 23, 2022
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
Florida
XP
36
Country
United States
I just read your first post again and noticed you specified a low gpu clock, and that makes sense for ps1 emulation. Yes you can run max CPU clock with no GPU overclock without any worries, potential problems would come with high CPU AND high GPU clocks, which could draw more power than the motherboard is designed for. Someone had a handy table of which settings combinations were safe, but max CPU with no GPU overclock is fine.
I just read your first post again and noticed you specified a low gpu clock, and that makes sense for ps1 emulation. Yes you can run max CPU clock with no GPU overclock without any worries, potential problems would come with high CPU AND high GPU clocks, which could draw more power than the motherboard is designed for. Someone had a handy table of which settings combinations were safe, but max CPU with no GPU overclock is fine.
I appreciate the insight man Thank you. I actually managed to find the table incase anyone else needs it
 

Attachments

  • 6F8597CB-82D3-479E-AD10-EA7A65D4DBB7.jpeg
    6F8597CB-82D3-479E-AD10-EA7A65D4DBB7.jpeg
    175.9 KB · Views: 5

DrippyB

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 23, 2022
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
Florida
XP
36
Country
United States
First of all, tekken3 needs max 1.5 CPU in rearmed for fullspeed. Secondly, duckstation port for HOS is on the horizon and it plays t3 at 2x res with geometry corrections without any OC at all (there is already an alpha build available). Thirdly, there are other options like lakka/android, generally ps1 emulation doesn't require full OC, usually 1.2-1.5 max. And lastly, there are no downsides for using allowed overclocking profiles except for shorter battery life in long terms.
Thanks for the clarification man I appreciate it. Downloaded the Duckstation Alpha last night, and has indeed ran flawless as far as i can tell without an OC.
 

DrippyB

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 23, 2022
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
Florida
XP
36
Country
United States
I just read your first post again and noticed you specified a low gpu clock, and that makes sense for ps1 emulation. Yes you can run max CPU clock with no GPU overclock without any worries, potential problems would come with high CPU AND high GPU clocks, which could draw more power than the motherboard is designed for. Someone had a handy table of which settings combinations were safe, but max CPU with no GPU overclock is fine.
First of all, tekken3 needs max 1.5 CPU in rearmed for fullspeed. Secondly, duckstation port for HOS is on the horizon and it plays t3 at 2x res with geometry corrections without any OC at all (there is already an alpha build available). Thirdly, there are other options like lakka/android, generally ps1 emulation doesn't require full OC, usually 1.2-1.5 max. And lastly, there are no downsides for using allowed overclocking profiles except for shorter battery life in long terms.
I was examining the table and I noticed 76GPU/1785CPU is adds to to 1943.7mV which puts it just under the 20W limit. Is that cutting it too close to the limit? Any idea if thats safe? I know its under 20w but it seems like it might be pushing it a bit but im unsure, would love insight on this as well.

Edit: This just crossed my mind as well. The table doesnt include anything on RAM and im unsure of how much a RAM OC would affect the 20W limit as well. This is purely out of curiosity as i dont see a need to OC the RAM for retroarch, but would a 1600mhz RAM OC in handheld be safe as well with the same settings listed previously? (76GPU/1765CPU)
 
Last edited by DrippyB,

bad361

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2018
Messages
1,144
Trophies
0
Location
Moscow
XP
1,875
Country
Russia
I was examining the table and I noticed 76GPU/1785CPU is adds to to 1943.7mV which puts it just under the 20W limit. Is that cutting it too close to the limit? Any idea if thats safe? I know its under 20w but it seems like it might be pushing it a bit but im unsure, would love insight on this as well.

Edit: This just crossed my mind as well. The table doesnt include anything on RAM and im unsure of how much a RAM OC would affect the 20W limit as well. This is purely out of curiosity as i dont see a need to OC the RAM for retroarch, but would a 1600mhz RAM OC in handheld be safe as well with the same settings listed previously? (76GPU/1765CPU)
You are definitely overthinking it... You can safely run your switch at 1.7 CPU/460 GPU/1600 RAM pretty much always. The only downside is battery life. If your switch doesn't have any overheat related issues, you can safely use max available OC profile for erista. GPU overclocking is what generates the most heat and eats most of the power. So as long as you are not running your switch at 460+ gpu in handheld 24/7, you are fine.
 

DrippyB

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 23, 2022
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
Florida
XP
36
Country
United States
I appreciate it man I definitely am overthinking it. Im just trying to be as cautious as I can with this switch because Erista consoles will probably be hard to come by in the future and I want mine to last at least until the OLED model is softmoddable which by the looks of it will be either a very long time or maybe even never.
Thanks again a ton for the clarification.
 

DrippyB

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 23, 2022
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
Florida
XP
36
Country
United States
You are definitely overthinking it... You can safely run your switch at 1.7 CPU/460 GPU/1600 RAM pretty much always. The only downside is battery life. If your switch doesn't have any overheat related issues, you can safely use max available OC profile for erista. GPU overclocking is what generates the most heat and eats most of the power. So as long as you are not running your switch at 460+ gpu in handheld 24/7, you are fine.
I appreciate it man I definitely am overthinking it. Im just trying to be as cautious as I can with this switch because Erista consoles will probably be hard to come by in the future and I want mine to last at least until the OLED model is softmoddable which by the looks of it will be either a
You are definitely overthinking it... You can safely run your
153? the only time its plausible to run the gpu that low is something like gba any proper psx emulator (unless you love pixels meaning below 720P) would need 768. 1785 cpu is also overkill in most cases on switch in general
Rearmed in Retroarch actually runs every game Ive played with the Gpu completely underclocked to 76mhz, with CPU overclocked of course. Its running at the PS1s native resolution though. Loving the duckstation alpha, first time Ive been able to play PS1 games upscaled on switch.
 

deathblade200

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
958
Trophies
0
XP
882
Country
United States
Rearmed in Retroarch actually runs every game Ive played with the Gpu completely underclocked to 76mhz, with CPU overclocked of course. Its running at the PS1s native resolution though. Loving the duckstation alpha, first time Ive been able to play PS1 games upscaled on switch.
like I said unless you love pixels. games look horrible in rearmed and still look horrible in duckstation unless set to 3x which is 720p
 

DrippyB

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 23, 2022
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
Florida
XP
36
Country
United States
like I said unless you love pixels. games look horrible in rearmed and still look horrible in duckstation unless set to 3x which is 720p
Once I saw duckstation running I decided Ill probably never run rearmed again unless I run into any compatibility issues but honestly I think native PS1 resolution still looks pretty sharp on the switchs screen, obviously not as crisp and smooth as upres, but still, pretty sharp for my eyes.
 

deathblade200

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
958
Trophies
0
XP
882
Country
United States
Once I saw duckstation running I decided Ill probably never run rearmed again unless I run into any compatibility issues but honestly I think native PS1 resolution still looks pretty sharp on the switchs screen, obviously not as crisp and smooth as upres, but still, pretty sharp for my eyes.
I just can't stand the pixels anymore I already lived through that lol. as for overclocking realistically in real world 1785/921/1600 would hit around 20 Watts in a demanding game such as Wolfenstein or Doom while hitting around 15 Watts at stock docked speeds in the same games
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Veho @ Veho: Works for me.