Switch from R4 to CycloDS?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by SpaceJump, Mar 6, 2008.

Mar 6, 2008

Switch from R4 to CycloDS? by SpaceJump at 8:14 AM (5,172 Views / 0 Likes) 33 replies

  1. SpaceJump
    OP

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    Currently I have an R4 (which works great!) and I have the chance to switch to a CycloDS. What I like about my R4 and what I want from the CycloDS:

    - easy to use: no settings, no save type entering, just drag'n'drop roms onto microSD
    - cheat support (thanks Rayder [​IMG] )
    - lots of skins available
    - Castlevania POR doesn't crash with my Kingston jap.
    - fast updates when major games don't work
    - great built quality
    - every homebrew I tried works perfectly with built in auto-DLDI

    Can the CycloDS also do these? What more can it do?

    And do you think it's worth switching?
     


  2. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    The CycloDS does all that.

    If you don't care about the in-game menu (real-time saving, slow motion, in-game brightness adjust), you can get the EDGE for about half as much.
     
  3. JPH

    Banned JPH Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6,892
    Country:
    United States
    I say keep the R4.
    Not much different from the CycloDS (who needs 8gb of NDS ROMs anyways?).

    Not really worth spending 50 or so dollars for a new flashcart with a few more features than your current flashcart has.
     
  4. tomqman

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i switched from r4 to cyclo ds and im so glad i love my cyclo [​IMG] i say go for it
     
  5. KaliKot

    KaliKot Newbie

    I wanna have the real time saves for cheating
    and sdhc too for future games

    but cyclo is still to expensive especially compared to the new flashcarts...
    hopefully they cut down on prices
     
  6. Kaos

    Member Kaos Good show!

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    558
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    The CycloDS is definitely worth it if you have the chance. It does everything the R4 does and more, although that isn't saying very much as, pretty much any Slot-1 flash cart is better than the R4 now.

    Except for the DS-X. Everything is better than that piece of crap.
     
  7. SpaceJump
    OP

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    I can switch my R4 with someone's CycloDS, because he doesn't care. So I can take the Cyclo and give him my R4. That simple, no buying. What do you say? Should I do it?
     
  8. Trulen

    Member Trulen GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    United States

    Oh. If that's the case, jump on the offer.
    Jump on it fast.

    As long as he doesn't have one of those defective ones/
     
  9. Defiance

    Member Defiance oh my god.. it's full of trading cards...

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,504
    Location:
    Terminus
    Country:
    United States
    Lol like what Trulen said. =p
     
  10. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    yup for sure get the cycloDS
     
  11. ackers

    Member ackers GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I made thew switch and am very glad I did.

    -Nicer GUI
    -RTS (comes in a lot more handy than you think sometimes!)
    -Slow Mo (not really useful)
    -SDHC support (main reason I switched so I could get 4gb card)
    -In-game brightness change (from the Enhanced menu)
    -Hold L + R at boot up to load last played game (loading games is also quicker than R4)
    -Team Cyclops great support (they post on the forums and let you know what's going on)
    -In-game guide planned for next release.

    And numerous other stuff like the fact you can now boot hb from DSO browser w/o problems.
     
  12. sk3tch

    Member sk3tch GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    316
    Country:
    United States
    I have kind of gone full circle. [​IMG]

    I bought an R4 when it originally came out, then sold it late last year. Then this year I picked up a CycloDS. Just yesterday, I bought an R4 again from RealHotStuff. I'm going to keep both. I like the idea of owning the most feature rich card and the most popular card. Team Cyclops supports the CycloDS very well and the R4 gets a ton of support because a huge percentage of the scene owns it.

    For all the bashing the R4 gets...it is a really solid card.
     
  13. sueil

    Newcomer sueil Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    Except that the R4 gets pretty much no support. They haven't done anything besides updates to fix 1 or 2 games.. in maybe half a year now. It's a good card for what it does, but saying it "gets a ton of support" is untrue.
     
  14. sk3tch

    Member sk3tch GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    316
    Country:
    United States
    I was referring to support in the scene.
     
  15. DaMummy

    Member DaMummy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,265
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Country:
    United States
    the r4 has features?
     
  16. iritegood

    Member iritegood GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    759
    Country:
    United States
    Does anyone KNOW where you can get an EDGE? DealExtreme is sold out every time I check.
     
  17. Twiffles

    Member Twiffles танковые победы

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    Germany
    It does what it says it does on the box and like it was promised. And it does fairly well, can't go wrong with that.
    I really don't see a use for RTS or SDHC. Seriously, is the space needed? You're going to have to buy the 8GB card anyways. And RTS... That's just useless pretty much.
     
  18. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    RTS will come in handy for Command & Destroy, which I understand will use a lame password save.

    As for swapping the R4 for the Cyclo......let me ask you this:

    How long have you had the R4? Do you have scads & wads of skins, utilities and whatnot for it already? Do you really want to start all over again with all of that?

    If you have the old R4 with the spring, has the spring been acting flaky?

    Does SDHC support matter to you?

    Do features like RTS, Slo-mo and real time cheats matter to you?

    Depending on the answers to those questions, that should tell you whether to swap or not.
     
  19. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    The CycloDS isn't just superior feature-wise, it also has a much nicer and more responsive GUI. Same with the EDGE.
     
  20. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    Plus it loads fast. And if you're a theme freak, you know that the R4 can only have 12 in total, but for like the Cyclo you can have as many as you want. Good for people like me. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page