switch firmware 3.0.0

aak

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 28, 2016
Messages
83
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
318
Country
United States
hi wanted to ask advice here on gbatemp


i have a switch kept not updated still on 3.0.0

already have one with custom firmware and the new oled one too


is there any reason to keep that one on 3.0.0 anymore??

i know it has pegascape and caffeine for jigless method of going into rcm and hekate

but will there be a full permanent custom firmware like the one 3ds and vita have on lower firmwares?


thanks in advance
 

FanNintendo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2018
Messages
1,258
Trophies
0
Age
49
XP
1,542
Country
United States
I have switch still on 3.0.0. and Emunand is at 11.0.1 stay offline all time if you want to get 2nd switch go online will be good idea
 

aak

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 28, 2016
Messages
83
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
318
Country
United States
hi thanks for the quick replies

i already have a custom firmware switch and a OLED switch for online

I am asking it there is any reason why i should i save a unused 3.0.0 switch besides the low firmware

i know there is pegascape and caffiene but do you think there will be a coldboot method like 3ds or vita in the future for 3.0.0

thanks in advance
 

hippy dave

BBMB
Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
7,231
Trophies
1
XP
8,832
Country
United Kingdom
Untethered coldboot is basically a solid no on anything over 1.x, and still highly unlikely on that (source: SciresM). Keep the 3.0 if you like the software entry point, otherwise update as you see fit.

Most direct option for coldboot on this nice old Switch model is to install a trinket-style modchip. Cheap, available and easy install compared to the modchips for newer models.
 
  • Like
Reactions: peteruk

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
16,694
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,242
Country
United States
hi wanted to ask advice here on gbatemp


i have a switch kept not updated still on 3.0.0

already have one with custom firmware and the new oled one too


is there any reason to keep that one on 3.0.0 anymore??

i know it has pegascape and caffeine for jigless method of going into rcm and hekate

but will there be a full permanent custom firmware like the one 3ds and vita have on lower firmwares?


thanks in advance
You can also just update the firmware without burning fuses.
 

aak

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 28, 2016
Messages
83
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
318
Country
United States
You can also just update the firmware without burning fuses.
that is for emunand.

but my main question is if i already have a latest firmware cfw atmosphere enabled switch do i need to keep another one at 3.0.0? Will a full coldboot or something better will come out on 3.0.0 or is the modern caffeine/pegascape the best there is?
 

Milenko

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2017
Messages
2,936
Trophies
1
XP
3,799
Country
Australia
that is for emunand.

but my main question is if i already have a latest firmware cfw atmosphere enabled switch do i need to keep another one at 3.0.0? Will a full coldboot or something better will come out on 3.0.0 or is the modern caffeine/pegascape the best there is?
It's not just for emummc, I have a switch on the latest firmware with 1.0.0 fuses just in case of a future exploit and I don't use emummc
 

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
16,694
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,242
Country
United States
that is for emunand.

but my main question is if i already have a latest firmware cfw atmosphere enabled switch do i need to keep another one at 3.0.0? Will a full coldboot or something better will come out on 3.0.0 or is the modern caffeine/pegascape the best there is?
You can update the firmware without burning fuses and using emuMMC. But its up to you if you want to keep a console with a fuse count for firmware 3.0. Nobody knows what the future will hold and some people are willing to wait for a better exploit.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Coto @ Coto: holy crap, getting VS Code to work in NDS development is something I should've done years ago...