Hacking Switch error after any update, Please help

ScrumpyJack

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 17, 2019
Messages
32
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
78
Country
United States
I was on 8.1.0 and decided to update. I used Hekate to boot CFW and updated through AIO updater to 12.0.0. After the update I try to boot atmosphere and after the logo it shows an Atmosphere error.
I tried a few different things to try to fix it but alas, it would never boot so restored using my backup i'd made and was back to 8.1.0.

I did this again several times, each time varying the update (trying to do 10.0.0, 9.0.0, etc) each time it would produce the same error on boot. Finally I figured I have nothing to lose burning fuses (I never play online)
I booted sysNAND and updated gracefully through Nintendo's official updater. Booted up and BOOM... the sysNAND boot produced a Nintendo error code 2002-4373 at the same point Atmosphere would produce the same error. Checked Hekate and sure enough the fuses were burned.

Now I can restore to 8.1.0 and boot through fuse bypass, but i'm stuck on 8.1.0, If anyone can help solve this, it would be much appreciated.
 
Last edited by ScrumpyJack,

laramie

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2014
Messages
911
Trophies
0
XP
1,361
Country
United States
I was on 8.0.1 and decided to update. I used Hekate to boot CFW and updated through AIO updater to 12.0.0. After the update I try to boot atmosphere and after the logo it shows an Atmosphere error.
I tried a few different things to try to fix it but alas, it would never boot so restored using my backup i'd made and was back to 8.0.1.

I did this again several times, each time varying the update (trying to do 10.0.0, 9.0.0, etc) each time it would produce the same error on boot. Finally I figured I have nothing to lose burning fuses (I never play online)
I booted sysNAND and updated gracefully through Nintendo's official updater. Booted up and BOOM... the sysNAND boot produced a Nintendo error code 2002-4373 at the same point Atmosphere would produce the same error. Checked Hekate and sure enough the fuses were burned.

Now I can restore to 8.0.1 and boot through fuse bypass, but i'm stuck on 8.0.1. If anyone can help solve this, it would be much appreciated.

Side question: This is probably a noob question, but I always thought sysNAND boot and emuNAND boot from SD raw partition were completely separate boots. When I updated emuNAND, but not sys, I then tried sysNAND and got the same error and vice versa, when I updated sys, I tried to then boot emu and still got an error.
I'd just grab the update from darth's site and use daybreak to update.
 

ScrumpyJack

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 17, 2019
Messages
32
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
78
Country
United States
I've formatted exfat on PC, injected Hekate, formatted through the 'Partition SD card' tool. I use 128GB card to create an emuRAW partition full (29GB) and the rest FAT32 (90ishGB). Then I create emuMMC (tried SD File and SD Partition) and boot with the following .ini config:

[Atmosphere SYS]
emummc_force_disable=1
payload=bootloader/payloads/fusee-primary.bin
[Atmosphere EMU]
payload=bootloader/payloads/fusee-primary.bin
[CFW (emuMMC)]
emummcforce=1
fss0=atmosphere/fusee-secondary.bin
kip1patch=nosigchk
atmosphere=1
icon=bootloader/res/icon_payload.bmp

(config is a bit messy. Still not sure what a good config should look like)

Ive attached a pic of the error that pops up after the Nintendo Switch logo on boot:
 

Attachments

  • 20210628_204301.jpg
    20210628_204301.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 139

laramie

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2014
Messages
911
Trophies
0
XP
1,361
Country
United States
I've formatted exfat on PC, injected Hekate, formatted through the 'Partition SD card' tool. I use 128GB card to create an emuRAW partition full (29GB) and the rest FAT32 (90ishGB). Then I create emuMMC (tried SD File and SD Partition) and boot with the following .ini config:

[Atmosphere SYS]
emummc_force_disable=1
payload=bootloader/payloads/fusee-primary.bin
[Atmosphere EMU]
payload=bootloader/payloads/fusee-primary.bin
[CFW (emuMMC)]
emummcforce=1
fss0=atmosphere/fusee-secondary.bin
kip1patch=nosigchk
atmosphere=1
icon=bootloader/res/icon_payload.bmp

(config is a bit messy. Still not sure what a good config should look like)

Ive attached a pic of the error that pops up after the Nintendo Switch logo on boot:
Exfat is super borked I'd reformat it to FAT32
 
  • Like
Reactions: Lacius

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
18,094
Trophies
2
XP
18,190
Country
United States
I was on 8.1.0 and decided to update. I used Hekate to boot CFW and updated through AIO updater to 12.0.0. After the update I try to boot atmosphere and after the logo it shows an Atmosphere error.
I tried a few different things to try to fix it but alas, it would never boot so restored using my backup i'd made and was back to 8.1.0.

I did this again several times, each time varying the update (trying to do 10.0.0, 9.0.0, etc) each time it would produce the same error on boot. Finally I figured I have nothing to lose burning fuses (I never play online)
I booted sysNAND and updated gracefully through Nintendo's official updater. Booted up and BOOM... the sysNAND boot produced a Nintendo error code 2002-4373 at the same point Atmosphere would produce the same error. Checked Hekate and sure enough the fuses were burned.

Now I can restore to 8.1.0 and boot through fuse bypass, but i'm stuck on 8.1.0, If anyone can help solve this, it would be much appreciated.
What was the Atmosphere error specifically?

What happens if you try to update your sysMMC using Daybreak and a different SD card?
 

ScrumpyJack

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 17, 2019
Messages
32
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
78
Country
United States
you probably have to disable nogc

I haven't heard of this but I can give it a go. Do you know the line that goes in the .ini? I can search a bit for it.

What was the Atmosphere error specifically?

What happens if you try to update your sysMMC using Daybreak and a different SD card?

I posted an image of the error on screen in the 5th post in this thread.

I have tried two SDs - one 64GB and one 128GB, both Samsung. sysNAND produces the same error. It seems when I boot through Atmos, it gives me the 2002-4373 code and when I boot stock, it gives me the same error code but through Nintendos error message instead of atmos.
 

ScrumpyJack

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 17, 2019
Messages
32
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
78
Country
United States
Well I tried adding the line but no luck.
I find it odd that even when I boot 8.1.0 stock and update through official updater, it still produces the error through the Nintendo error message. Thanks for the help so far. If you have any other ideas let me know.
 

Homlet

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2020
Messages
551
Trophies
0
XP
1,998
Country
France
Well I tried adding the line but no luck.
I find it odd that even when I boot 8.1.0 stock and update through official updater, it still produces the error through the Nintendo error message. Thanks for the help so far. If you have any other ideas let me know.
Just delete your atmosphere, Sept and Hekate directories and grab a new atmosphere + Hekate
 

ScrumpyJack

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 17, 2019
Messages
32
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
78
Country
United States
OK Update -
I had previously tried large gaps in updates so I decided to just go from 8.1.0 to 8.1.1 and it worked. So I then went up each single patch and made it up to 9.2.0. Then I went to install 10.0.0 and the same error popped up. I restored and did it again to make sure and again, updating to 10.0.0 through Daybreak(all fat32 updates) using Darthsternie firms, it hit the error.

So something funky is happening between 9.2.0 and 10.0.0 to present the 2002-4373 error code. (Ive also tried updating higher than 10.0.0 and the ones I tried also gave the error.)

Any help is much appreciated.
 

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
18,030
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
New York City
XP
11,952
Country
United States
OK Update -
I had previously tried large gaps in updates so I decided to just go from 8.1.0 to 8.1.1 and it worked. So I then went up each single patch and made it up to 9.2.0. Then I went to install 10.0.0 and the same error popped up. I restored and did it again to make sure and again, updating to 10.0.0 through Daybreak(all fat32 updates) using Darthsternie firms, it hit the error.

So something funky is happening between 9.2.0 and 10.0.0 to present the 2002-4373 error code. (Ive also tried updating higher than 10.0.0 and the ones I tried also gave the error.)

Any help is much appreciated.
You need to perform a system initialization.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Bout to get me a new washer and dryer if my bank approves my loan