Hacking Switch crashed in game while using SX OS now it won't charge or turn on

bjostwick

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
5
Trophies
0
XP
13
Country
United States
Hey Everybody,

I was playing Ys VIII in SX OS and the game suddenly crashed. After that, the switch wouldn't turn on and there is no indication that it's charging.
Any similar experiences or any advice?

Thanks!
 

bjostwick

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
5
Trophies
0
XP
13
Country
United States
It's not bricked. A simple google search will tell you how to fix your problem.
Thanks for responding. I guess I'm just not exactly sure what to search for.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I've tried turning it on with the volume up button held, both with and without the dongle. Are there any other options?
Thanks for your time everybody. I feel like a knob.

I plugged it into my PC with a cable into the dongle, held the volume up button and power and it booted me into the SX OS menu. It wasn't bricked, just like you said. Sorry for taking up your time folks.
 
Last edited by bjostwick,

elm

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
618
Trophies
0
XP
1,671
Country
United States
If you have auto RCM on, just plug in the dongle (make sure it’s charged) and press the vol + and power button, it should come back on.
 
Last edited by elm,
  • Like
Reactions: bjostwick

Soluble

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2017
Messages
609
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
568
Country
If the battery is flat...
Hold switch power button for 12+ seconds, even 20 to be sure. Put it in the dock for an hour, pull it out, insert SX dongle and press power, as soon as it boots up, put it back in the cradle and let it charge.

Once that's done, power off, insert dongle, boot up using vol+ and remove autoRCM so it never happens again.

(Or you said you can boot into SXOS with it plugged into PC, so do that and remove autoRCM and put it in the dock to charge.
 
Last edited by Soluble,
  • Like
Reactions: bjostwick

bjostwick

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
5
Trophies
0
XP
13
Country
United States
Thanks for responding. I guess I'm just not exactly sure what to search for.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I've tried turning it on with the volume up button held, both with and without the dongle. Are there any other options?
Thanks for your time everybody. I feel like a knob.
If the battery is flat...
Hold switch power button for 12+ seconds, even 20 to be sure. Put it in the dock for an hour, pull it out, insert SX dongle and press power, as soon as it boots up, put it back in the cradle and let it charge.

Once that's done, power off, insert dongle, boot up using vol+ and remove autoRCM so it never happens again.

(Or you said you can boot into SXOS with it plugged into PC, so do that and remove autoRCM and put it in the dock to charge.
Yes, this is the best course of action. This worked. Thank you so much!
 

bjostwick

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
5
Trophies
0
XP
13
Country
United States
Hey wow yet another "autorcm is the devil!" post.
Since it is the devil, have you tried sacrificing a chicken and drinking it's blood to appease our satanic overlord?

Nah, I have no feelings about autorcm one way or the other, I just needed some technical help. I'll try the chicken sacrifice route for my next issue.
 

Soluble

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2017
Messages
609
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
568
Country
Hey wow yet another "autorcm is the devil!" post.
Since it is the devil, have you tried sacrificing a chicken and drinking it's blood to appease our satanic overlord?
Judging by the amount of threads we get, it kinda is the devil... Its all good if you're the only person using your switch, not so good if you travel a lot or people lacking knowledge also use your switch.
 

Mr. Wizard

Ending the spread of bullshit one thread at a time
Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2015
Messages
1,814
Trophies
0
Location
E8 lattice
XP
1,485
Country
Canada
Judging by the amount of threads we get, it kinda is the devil... Its all good if you're the only person using your switch, not so good if you travel a lot or people lacking knowledge also use your switch.
Of every thread, it has been 100% user error, like leaving it in rcm, or not having a charged dongle, etc etc etc.
And saying autorcm bricked your console is like saying the sky is blue, autorcm in itself is a bootloader brick. That's all, triggers rcm.

It doesn't steal your breath while you sleep, it doesn't impregnate your virgin sister, and it sure as hell doesn't stop your switch hardware from working.


Nah, I have no feelings about autorcm one way or the other, I just needed some technical help. I'll try the chicken sacrifice route for my next issue.
Eh, that was meant more for the people telling you autorcm is bad and to uninstall it or your switch will explode.
 

Canna

Bad Ass Poisonous Mushroom
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2018
Messages
1,396
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
AZ
XP
1,514
Country
United States
Hey wow yet another "autorcm is the devil!" post.
Since it is the devil, have you tried sacrificing a chicken and drinking it's blood to appease our satanic overlord?

Nah, I have no feelings about autorcm one way or the other, I just needed some technical help. I'll try the chicken sacrifice route for my next issue.

Judging by the amount of threads we get, it kinda is the devil... Its all good if you're the only person using your switch, not so good if you travel a lot or people lacking knowledge also use your switch.


If you are using auto rcm then you should know of what you are using and how it works...
and not blame it for improper use period.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mr. Wizard

farcky

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 2, 2017
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
31
Country
Canada
Hello, not sure to understand what to do... I was playng and got error. Now nothing...My switch dosn't want to turn on. I try reset pressing the button for 12 seconds ( i press longer) I tried press the power button and volume +/- at the same time, I tried while holding + with the dongle insert. And still have nothing, only a black screen.

Any idea? Please help.
 

Soluble

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2017
Messages
609
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
568
Country
Hello, not sure to understand what to do... I was playng and got error. Now nothing...My switch dosn't want to turn on. I try reset pressing the button for 12 seconds ( i press longer) I tried press the power button and volume +/- at the same time, I tried while holding + with the dongle insert. And still have nothing, only a black screen.

Any idea? Please help.
Put in dock, hold power for 15 seconds, go away for an hour, come back, pull it out, insert dongle, press power, should boot, put it back in the dock, let it charge, then reboot with dongle holding vol+ and turn off autoRCM so it doesn't happen again.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    Tits in high res, along with many the actresses having them, do not look so great
    +1
    Gift
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    It was a noted problem even in the shift to HD according to various purveyors of such films
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    The more resolution, the better
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    And framerate. I know people are against a framerate above 24fps in movies, because it betrays that it's fictional, but I prefer high framerate
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Of course, higher resolution only betrays the false boobs - which could lead to a revolution in the acceptance of the unadulterated bodies
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    I know this falls somewhat into the realm of porn - but I'm encompassing the overarching scope of all movies
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Got free food cause they messed up the order
    +1
    Gift
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    Always found that bizarre in the US
    Gift
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    One time was there and they had forgotten to get it out of the freezer. Manager came over, said that and gave it to us for free still frozen to take home and eat later
    Gift
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    In the UK they would be all nah mate we don't have it, do you want something else?
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Well in some places we aren't total dicks to each other
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Order gets messed up they make up for it without fuss
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    I found a great subreddit for memes yesterday... and I forgot the name
    Gift
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    great subreddit? Is that not a contradiction in terms? Bit like pleasant twitter conversation.
    Gift
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    Anyway shilling my own threads. Lord of the Rings (and various related properties) bought by Embracer group
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    I don't look for intellectual plenitude on the internet...
    Gift
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    Pity. There is plenty of it.
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Mostly it seems literate people on the internet....
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    The pain on the planes, comes mostly from the stains?
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    The rain in Spain stays mainly in the plain
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Moses supposes all toeses are roses, Moses supposes erroneously
    +1
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    The chains in bed frames causing mostly pains
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Pains au chocolat
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Bonjour
    Gift
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    Why so formal?
    Gift
    FAST6191 @ FAST6191: Why so formal?