Hacking Switch crashed in game while using SX OS now it won't charge or turn on

bjostwick

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
5
Trophies
0
XP
13
Country
United States
Hey Everybody,

I was playing Ys VIII in SX OS and the game suddenly crashed. After that, the switch wouldn't turn on and there is no indication that it's charging.
Any similar experiences or any advice?

Thanks!
 

bjostwick

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
5
Trophies
0
XP
13
Country
United States
It's not bricked. A simple google search will tell you how to fix your problem.
Thanks for responding. I guess I'm just not exactly sure what to search for.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I've tried turning it on with the volume up button held, both with and without the dongle. Are there any other options?
Thanks for your time everybody. I feel like a knob.

I plugged it into my PC with a cable into the dongle, held the volume up button and power and it booted me into the SX OS menu. It wasn't bricked, just like you said. Sorry for taking up your time folks.
 
Last edited by bjostwick,

elm

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
601
Trophies
0
XP
1,389
Country
United States
If you have auto RCM on, just plug in the dongle (make sure it’s charged) and press the vol + and power button, it should come back on.
 
Last edited by elm,
  • Like
Reactions: bjostwick

Soluble

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2017
Messages
609
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
568
Country
If the battery is flat...
Hold switch power button for 12+ seconds, even 20 to be sure. Put it in the dock for an hour, pull it out, insert SX dongle and press power, as soon as it boots up, put it back in the cradle and let it charge.

Once that's done, power off, insert dongle, boot up using vol+ and remove autoRCM so it never happens again.

(Or you said you can boot into SXOS with it plugged into PC, so do that and remove autoRCM and put it in the dock to charge.
 
Last edited by Soluble,
  • Like
Reactions: bjostwick

bjostwick

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
5
Trophies
0
XP
13
Country
United States
Thanks for responding. I guess I'm just not exactly sure what to search for.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I've tried turning it on with the volume up button held, both with and without the dongle. Are there any other options?
Thanks for your time everybody. I feel like a knob.
If the battery is flat...
Hold switch power button for 12+ seconds, even 20 to be sure. Put it in the dock for an hour, pull it out, insert SX dongle and press power, as soon as it boots up, put it back in the cradle and let it charge.

Once that's done, power off, insert dongle, boot up using vol+ and remove autoRCM so it never happens again.

(Or you said you can boot into SXOS with it plugged into PC, so do that and remove autoRCM and put it in the dock to charge.
Yes, this is the best course of action. This worked. Thank you so much!
 

bjostwick

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
5
Trophies
0
XP
13
Country
United States
Hey wow yet another "autorcm is the devil!" post.
Since it is the devil, have you tried sacrificing a chicken and drinking it's blood to appease our satanic overlord?

Nah, I have no feelings about autorcm one way or the other, I just needed some technical help. I'll try the chicken sacrifice route for my next issue.
 

Soluble

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2017
Messages
609
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
568
Country
Hey wow yet another "autorcm is the devil!" post.
Since it is the devil, have you tried sacrificing a chicken and drinking it's blood to appease our satanic overlord?
Judging by the amount of threads we get, it kinda is the devil... Its all good if you're the only person using your switch, not so good if you travel a lot or people lacking knowledge also use your switch.
 

Mr. Wizard

Ending the spread of bullshit one thread at a time
Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2015
Messages
1,814
Trophies
0
Location
E8 lattice
XP
1,485
Country
Canada
Judging by the amount of threads we get, it kinda is the devil... Its all good if you're the only person using your switch, not so good if you travel a lot or people lacking knowledge also use your switch.
Of every thread, it has been 100% user error, like leaving it in rcm, or not having a charged dongle, etc etc etc.
And saying autorcm bricked your console is like saying the sky is blue, autorcm in itself is a bootloader brick. That's all, triggers rcm.

It doesn't steal your breath while you sleep, it doesn't impregnate your virgin sister, and it sure as hell doesn't stop your switch hardware from working.


Nah, I have no feelings about autorcm one way or the other, I just needed some technical help. I'll try the chicken sacrifice route for my next issue.
Eh, that was meant more for the people telling you autorcm is bad and to uninstall it or your switch will explode.
 

Canna

Bad Ass Poisonous Mushroom
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2018
Messages
1,379
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
AZ
XP
1,458
Country
United States
Hey wow yet another "autorcm is the devil!" post.
Since it is the devil, have you tried sacrificing a chicken and drinking it's blood to appease our satanic overlord?

Nah, I have no feelings about autorcm one way or the other, I just needed some technical help. I'll try the chicken sacrifice route for my next issue.

Judging by the amount of threads we get, it kinda is the devil... Its all good if you're the only person using your switch, not so good if you travel a lot or people lacking knowledge also use your switch.


If you are using auto rcm then you should know of what you are using and how it works...
and not blame it for improper use period.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mr. Wizard

farcky

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 2, 2017
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
21
Country
Canada
Hello, not sure to understand what to do... I was playng and got error. Now nothing...My switch dosn't want to turn on. I try reset pressing the button for 12 seconds ( i press longer) I tried press the power button and volume +/- at the same time, I tried while holding + with the dongle insert. And still have nothing, only a black screen.

Any idea? Please help.
 

Soluble

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2017
Messages
609
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
568
Country
Hello, not sure to understand what to do... I was playng and got error. Now nothing...My switch dosn't want to turn on. I try reset pressing the button for 12 seconds ( i press longer) I tried press the power button and volume +/- at the same time, I tried while holding + with the dongle insert. And still have nothing, only a black screen.

Any idea? Please help.
Put in dock, hold power for 15 seconds, go away for an hour, come back, pull it out, insert dongle, press power, should boot, put it back in the dock, let it charge, then reboot with dongle holding vol+ and turn off autoRCM so it doesn't happen again.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    L @ Lopt: Thanks I don’t play animal crossing :(