Hacking Switch bricked after trying to update via system settings?

smiglo5

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 19, 2018
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
110
Country
Poland
Hey guys!
I was using Reinx on 8.0.1 firmware, today I've decided to switch to Atmosphere, so I turned off my console, removed SD card, turned ON, moved to system settings and attempted a system update via these settings. Update was downloading just fine, then it was installing, also no issues, then Switch was saying "console will restart in x seconds" and there it is. It never restarted, I can still RCM it and inject payloads but I can not manage to make it work again. I did a backup of nand, but after that accident, so I have a backup after install "failure". Is there anything that I can do about it?
 

Aheago

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2021
Messages
330
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
747
Country
United States
Hey guys!
I was using Reinx on 8.0.1 firmware, today I've decided to switch to Atmosphere, so I turned off my console, removed SD card, turned ON, moved to system settings and attempted a system update via these settings. Update was downloading just fine, then it was installing, also no issues, then Switch was saying "console will restart in x seconds" and there it is. It never restarted, I can still RCM it and inject payloads but I can not manage to make it work again. I did a backup of nand, but after that accident, so I have a backup after install "failure". Is there anything that I can do about it?
Download the newest version of atmosphere and extract it to your SD card

Everytime you update the system you will likely need to also update your CFW before it can boot
 

smiglo5

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 19, 2018
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
110
Country
Poland
Download the newest version of atmosphere and extract it to your SD card

Everytime you update the system you will likely need to also update your CFW before it can boot
I can not boot to OFW either. Switch after system update goes black screen, and I can not turn it ON anymore. Even without SD Card
 

Aheago

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2021
Messages
330
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
747
Country
United States
I can not boot to OFW either. Switch after system update goes black screen, and I can not turn it ON anymore. Even without SD Card
Sounds like you have autoRCM on

Both update the CFW files on your SD card and try pushing the fusee payload
 

MasterJ360

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
2,619
Trophies
1
Age
33
XP
2,752
Country
United States
You'll need to look at the latest guide on updating to Atmosphere since 8.01 is extremely old and atmosphere has changed a few file configuration to get it booting.
 

eskinner3742

GBAtemp Professional Lurker
Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2016
Messages
313
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
994
Country
United States
Can you try booting into maitenance mode (turn off - hold both vol. buttons - power on still holding both vol buttons) and see if you can update/initialize that way? Hopefully doing so will debrick your console then and you can do a NAND backup and fresh Atmostphere emuNAND setup
 

Aheago

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2021
Messages
330
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
747
Country
United States
Can you try booting into maitenance mode (turn off - hold both vol. buttons - power on still holding both vol buttons) and see if you can update/initialize that way? Hopefully doing so will debrick your console then and you can do a NAND backup and fresh Atmostphere emuNAND setup
His console isn’t bricked (unless he turned it off during the update?)

OP just needs to update his files and use the new payload
 

smiglo5

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 19, 2018
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
110
Country
Poland
I did a nand backup AFTER that, will do a restore now and will tell you more. Many thanks for answers, much love.
 

smiglo5

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 19, 2018
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
110
Country
Poland
Sounds like you have autoRCM on

Both update the CFW files on your SD card and try pushing the fusee payload
I had autoRCM ON, that's true, but I restored that backup, and turned autoRCM off, and pushed fusee payload, and still same thing. What is even more strange, I still have RCM ON on tegraRCMGUI if I did that.
 
Last edited by smiglo5,

smiglo5

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 19, 2018
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
110
Country
Poland
Can you try booting into maitenance mode (turn off - hold both vol. buttons - power on still holding both vol buttons) and see if you can update/initialize that way? Hopefully doing so will debrick your console then and you can do a NAND backup and fresh Atmostphere emuNAND setup
Tried it, but I can not see any splash logo during that, like its still autorcm, but its not.
 

smiglo5

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 19, 2018
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
110
Country
Poland
Yeah, its probably even a hardware issue, tried to unbrick it with that tutorial:
https://gbatemp.net/threads/switch-unbricking-guide-prodinfo-fix-pikafix.578026/ and still nothing, rebuilding emmc with this tutorial:
https://suchmememanyskill.github.io/guides/unbrick/#mmc-rebuild
Also does not work, nothing really is working. It wasn't mine switch, but just wanted to system update it to migrate to Atmosphere, and it "bricked" after that update. Screen was damage, cracked. The console may have been dropped, even several times. It can be hardware issue
 

Aheago

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2021
Messages
330
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
747
Country
United States
Yeah, its probably even a hardware issue, tried to unbrick it with that tutorial:
https://gbatemp.net/threads/switch-unbricking-guide-prodinfo-fix-pikafix.578026/ and still nothing, rebuilding emmc with this tutorial:
https://suchmememanyskill.github.io/guides/unbrick/#mmc-rebuild
Also does not work, nothing really is working. It wasn't mine switch, but just wanted to system update it to migrate to Atmosphere, and it "bricked" after that update. Screen was damage, cracked. The console may have been dropped, even several times. It can be hardware issue
You’re not bricked dude…update your atmosphere files
 

Aheago

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2021
Messages
330
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
747
Country
United States
I did!
Twice, reformatted my SD card with both FAT32, EXFAT, with some CFW Bundle, with Atmo+Hekate saparately, I can not even boot OFW, mate. Even without SD Card
CFW bundles have almost never worked for me or have caused more problems than they solve

Try to Delete the atmosphere folder from your SD card and download it directly from them. You will also need to get the sigpatches seperate
 

smiglo5

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 19, 2018
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
110
Country
Poland
CFW bundles have almost never worked for me or have caused more problems than they solve

Try to Delete the atmosphere folder from your SD card and download it directly from them. You will also need to get the sigpatches seperate
I did it, mate. Everything is correct on SD Card, but how that will explain that console is not even booting to official firmware? I'm having a blackscreen after pushing power button, without any sd card inserted = any CFW is not present.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    NoobletCheese @ NoobletCheese: ima need to try this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I1h2loTN-zM