Hacking Switch 3.0.0 Samsung 256 Evo Sd Card

Amino

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 10, 2016
Messages
75
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
218
Country
Gambia, The
How to use my 256GB Sd Card on my Switch 3.0.0 without System Update ??
if only work 32Gb SDHC on Switch 3.0.0 thats not funny
 

Amino

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 10, 2016
Messages
75
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
218
Country
Gambia, The
i format to fat32 dont work system will update tu use sd card....i try this with 16gb sd card and it work
 

Lumince

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2015
Messages
2,242
Trophies
1
XP
3,035
Country
United States
The switch has to update to use a SDXC card. No formatting will change the fact that its a SDXC card :/ I had to reupdate my new switch to use mine :/
 

Deathscreton

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2009
Messages
826
Trophies
0
XP
1,072
Country
United States
Same. I have a 256GB Evo that I got with my S7 Edge that I wanted to use. I also had to update, which is fine because I planned on doing that anyways.
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,062
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
11,340
Country
Norway
i format to fat32 dont work system will update tu use sd card....i try this with 16gb sd card and it work
Then it's not formatted to FAT32.
Windows won't let you format to FAT32, you have to use a 3rd party tool like guiformat or minitool partition wizard.
The switch has to update to use a SDXC card. No formatting will change the fact that its a SDXC card :/ I had to reupdate my new switch to use mine :/
The Switch doesn't know the difference between SDHC and SDXC, it just needs an update to recognize ExFAT. Many people have formatted their cards to FAT32 and confirmed that it works without the update.
 

leonmagnus99

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2013
Messages
3,695
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
Seinegald
XP
2,755
Country
Iraq
i would also like to use my mSD , i still have it in its box.
but guys isnt exFat the format the switch is actually using by default ?

if we were to format the mSD to exFat on our pc, will the switch not recognize it?
 

bostonBC

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2011
Messages
1,292
Trophies
0
XP
1,283
Country
United States
That's a good question. With the influx of Switch users, we've noticed a high count of people purchasing fake cards online.
I had a friend who brought me his 3ds to 'fix'. He bought a 128GB card from ebay. It died after writing about 2gb of data to it. Locked up the card and write protected it. Only use a name brand reseller or you will be toast.
 

Wuigi

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2012
Messages
727
Trophies
0
XP
1,766
Country
United States
If you want to format it to FAT32 use something like Easeus, Windows explorer doesn't allow FAT32 formatting of cards that are above 32 GB.
 

leon315

POWERLIFTER
Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2013
Messages
4,018
Trophies
1
Age
122
XP
3,753
Country
Italy
if u are on Microzzoz, get any Disk format software and format ur SD in Fat32. In Linux, thing is even more simple.
 

Amino

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 10, 2016
Messages
75
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
218
Country
Gambia, The
Before people start discussing this in detail....
OP @Amino Did you buy it on Ebay?
No Bro,
Sc card is from Amazon...i format in fat32 with wizardfree and system will update the switch...i try later with another tool maybe it works...please tell me somebody that he use a big sdcard on Switch 3.0.0..If no sdcard bigger than 64gb work on Switch 3.0.0 AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH thats Bad
That's a good question. With the influx of Switch users, we've noticed a high count of people purchasing fake cards online.
 

Lumince

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2015
Messages
2,242
Trophies
1
XP
3,035
Country
United States
What version do you have to be in to use SDXC cards?
hmm, the switch I got that was most likely updated to 4.1.0 via transfer when I had to send mine in asked to update to use my SDXC 256gb samsung evo. So I am not quite sure. I was going off the fact that if the switch did not have the update necessary for SDXC cards that formatting it most likely would not work... But if its just a exfat update then I would understand why it would work. Odd that mine said SDXC when I had to update it :wacko:
Then it's not formatted to FAT32.
Windows won't let you format to FAT32, you have to use a 3rd party tool like guiformat or minitool partition wizard.

The Switch doesn't know the difference between SDHC and SDXC, it just needs an update to recognize ExFAT. Many people have formatted their cards to FAT32 and confirmed that it works without the update.
It should know the difference lol I have mistaken. Mine asked to update for SDXC support thats why I said that.
 

TheCyberQuake

Certified Geek
Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Messages
5,012
Trophies
1
Age
26
Location
Las Vegas, Nevada
XP
4,386
Country
United States
i would also like to use my mSD , i still have it in its box.
but guys isnt exFat the format the switch is actually using by default ?

if we were to format the mSD to exFat on our pc, will the switch not recognize it?
No, it requires an update to use exfat, which never installs with any firmware version. The system detects an exfat card and prompts for an update to install the necessary software to run exfat. If you never insert an exfat SD it will never download that update to use it.
The exfat update is an entirely separate update from standard firmware updates
 
Last edited by TheCyberQuake,

leonmagnus99

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2013
Messages
3,695
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
Seinegald
XP
2,755
Country
Iraq
No, it requires an update to use exfat, which never installs with any firmware version. The system detects an exfat card and prompts for an update to install the necessary software to run exfat. If you never insert an exfat SD it will never download that update to use it.
The exfat update is an entirely separate update from standard firmware updates

you think Fat32 will be okay for future usage ? (for most type of data) as it is limited to 4gb.
 

ootnes2

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2015
Messages
219
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
779
Country
United States
What version do you have to be in to use SDXC cards?

Previously people have reported that you need to be on the latest firmware (or that opting to get the update for SDXC also updated switch to the latest firmware). Back when 2.0.0 was the latest version, the SDXC update could be downloaded for use on 2.0.0.
 

Amino

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 10, 2016
Messages
75
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
218
Country
Gambia, The
it workssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss use Wizard free and change to typ primary fat32.....yes Baby yes
 
  • Like
Reactions: RichKK
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    DEMONGreninjaPG @ DEMONGreninjaPG: oooh pizzza can i get a all meat pizza with pineapple