SwiftKey Predictions Broken

Joom

 ❤❤❤
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2016
Messages
6,023
Trophies
1
Location
US
Website
mogbox.net
XP
5,923
Country
United States
When submitting a post, the post field messes with SwiftKey's autocorrect and predictive typing. This isn't a bug with SwiftKey as it only happens with GBATemp's post submission field. I have to type really slow for it to not happen. Here's an example:
Screenshot_20171220-184719.png
SwiftKey is free, so anyone can test this. The Chrome build is 64.0.3282.123.

Edit: The fix has been pushed to the stable build. Update now.
 
Last edited by Joom,

Sicklyboy

#JOYCONBOYZFOREVER
Global Moderator
Joined
Jul 15, 2009
Messages
6,271
Trophies
1
Location
[̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
XP
7,089
Country
United States
I do remember seeing this issue before but it had happened on multiple sites, not just gbatemp. Anyway I'm using SwiftKey now on my phone (and also typing out this pointlessly long message just to test this stuff, making plenty of errors along the way) after doing a clean install of LineageOS 15 the other day and it's fine for me. You SURE it's not just in your end? Have you tried clearing SwiftKey cache and appdata?
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20171220-202955.png
    Screenshot_20171220-202955.png
    170.5 KB · Views: 163

Kioku_Dreams

Hi, I'm Cynical!
Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2007
Messages
11,222
Trophies
1
Location
In the Murderbox!
Website
www.twitch.tv
XP
13,560
Country
United States
I do remember seeing this issue before but it had happened on multiple sites, not just gbatemp. Anyway I'm using SwiftKey now on my phone (and also typing out this pointlessly long message just to test this stuff, making plenty of errors along the way) after doing a clean install of LineageOS 15 the other day and it's fine for me. You SURE it's not just in your end? Have you tried clearing SwiftKey cache and appdata?
Could also be the browser he's using. I'm also using SwiftKey and don't have these issues.
 

Issac

Iᔕᔕᗩᑕ
Supervisor
Joined
Apr 10, 2004
Messages
6,975
Trophies
1
Location
Sweden
XP
6,744
Country
Sweden
Can't see your screenshot since ESET has blocked the host page.
I am using SwiftKey too though, and haven't noticed anything weird.
 

Joom

 ❤❤❤
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2016
Messages
6,023
Trophies
1
Location
US
Website
mogbox.net
XP
5,923
Country
United States
Welp, it's happening again, but this time with the stable build of Chrome. This still seems to be the only site it happens on, too. Tested on XDA and Pastebin.
Can't see your screenshot since ESET has blocked the host page.
I am using SwiftKey too though, and haven't noticed anything weird.
Fixed. Sorry about that.
 
Last edited by Joom,

Shadowfied

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2014
Messages
2,404
Trophies
1
Age
27
XP
3,608
Country
I can't imagine how a site would be the cause of the issue. If anything other than SwiftKey or your browser, I'd check another site that uses the Redactor WYSIWYG editor. Not sure if that's a XenForo standard.
 

Joom

 ❤❤❤
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2016
Messages
6,023
Trophies
1
Location
US
Website
mogbox.net
XP
5,923
Country
United States
I can't imagine how a site would be the cause of the issue. If anything other than SwiftKey or your browser, I'd check another site that uses the Redactor WYSIWYG editor. Not sure if that's a XenForo standard.
Redactor has a live demo on their site, and it doesn't have any problems. Maybe the XenForo plugin is just dated, because Chrome is the actual culprit.
 

Kioku_Dreams

Hi, I'm Cynical!
Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2007
Messages
11,222
Trophies
1
Location
In the Murderbox!
Website
www.twitch.tv
XP
13,560
Country
United States
Redactor has a live demo on their site, and it doesn't have any problems. Maybe the XenForo plugin is just dated, because Chrome is the actual culprit.
Yes, it has to be Chrome. Using Firefox and Swiftkey works as intended. Starting having the issue last night on Chrome. Guess I'm switching over.
 

Joom

 ❤❤❤
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2016
Messages
6,023
Trophies
1
Location
US
Website
mogbox.net
XP
5,923
Country
United States
Yes, it has to be Chrome. Using Firefox and Swiftkey works as intended. Starting having the issue last night on Chrome. Guess I'm switching over.
My God, Firefox is slow. I forgot that it waits to load a page until it caches everything. I honestly don't understand why Chrome would have this problem. I'm willing to wager that it has something to do with the Javascript used by the editor.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Kioku_Dreams

Joom

 ❤❤❤
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2016
Messages
6,023
Trophies
1
Location
US
Website
mogbox.net
XP
5,923
Country
United States
I'd still be hard pressed to believe it's the site. I had it happen to me in the Facebook app yesterday for the first time ever, and not again since.
I'm sure that's unrelated. Like I said, this is most likely a problem with the JS used by the editor, and how Chrome processes it now. I've ackacknowled that Chrome is the problem here. This started after the latest update to it.
 
Last edited by Joom,

Joom

 ❤❤❤
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2016
Messages
6,023
Trophies
1
Location
US
Website
mogbox.net
XP
5,923
Country
United States
So, is this even being looked into? It's incredibly inconvenient. I know from being a designer for other forums that the JS version used for editors can be easily changed by modifying a single line. Even though I'm part of a niche set of users, site operators should prioritize comfort of use. My keyboard of choice shouldn't make it harder to use the site.
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,124
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
11,457
Country
Norway
This issue seems to have come and gone for me a few times in the past year, but lately it's there all the time, and it's really annoying.
I thought it was just me, since I hadn't heard anyone else mention it until now.

It goes away when I turn off the WYSIWYG editor, so the problem is definitely related to that. Whether it's related to some custom code GBAtemp is using or a general Xenforo issue that affects other forums as well, I have no idea. I doubt it'd be a SwiftKey issue, since to SwiftKey a text field is a text field, having the WYSIWYG editor enabled or disabled shouldn't make a difference. Could be a Chrome issue though.
 
Last edited by The Real Jdbye,

Minox

Thanks for the fish
Former Staff
Joined
Aug 27, 2007
Messages
6,931
Trophies
1
XP
5,831
Country
Japan
This issue seems to have come and gone for me a few times in the past year, but lately it's there all the time, and it's really annoying.
I thought it was just me, since I hadn't heard anyone else mention it until now.

It goes away when I turn off the WYSIWYG editor, so the problem is definitely related to that. Whether it's related to some custom code GBAtemp is using or a general Xenforo issue that affects other forums as well, I have no idea. I doubt it'd be a SwiftKey issue, since to SwiftKey a text field is a text field, having the WYSIWYG editor enabled or disabled shouldn't make a difference. Could be a Chrome issue though.
Surely it could be some kind of combination of a Chrome + Swiftkey error? Chrome is after all what interprets the received content and makes it available to the end user.

And please correct me if I'm wrong, but it only happens in Chrome with Swiftkey? If it would happen with other browsers and other input methods it would most likely be a more urgent issue.
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,124
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
11,457
Country
Norway
Surely it could be some kind of combination of a Chrome + Swiftkey error? Chrome is after all what interprets the received content and makes it available to the end user.

And please correct me if I'm wrong, but it only happens in Chrome with Swiftkey? If it would happen with other browsers and other input methods it would most likely be a more urgent issue.
Like Subtle Demise said, the stock LG keyboard also has issues. It wouldn't surprise me if there are others other than those two that have issues with the WYSIWYG editor.
Anyway, SwiftKey is one of the most popular software keyboards on Android, and Chrome is the most popular browser on Android AFAIK, so it's a potentially large user base that could be experiencing this problem.
Thankfully it's fixed by disabling the WYSIWYG editor, otherwise it would be impossible to post from my phone.
If the WYSIWYG is indeed Redactor as someone mentioned, isn't there an update available for it that could potentially fix this issue?
 

Joom

 ❤❤❤
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2016
Messages
6,023
Trophies
1
Location
US
Website
mogbox.net
XP
5,923
Country
United States
Like Subtle Demise said, the stock LG keyboard also has issues. It wouldn't surprise me if there are others other than those two that have issues with the WYSIWYG editor.
Anyway, SwiftKey is one of the most popular software keyboards on Android, and Chrome is the most popular browser on Android AFAIK, so it's a potentially large user base that could be experiencing this problem.
Thankfully it's fixed by disabling the WYSIWYG editor, otherwise it would be impossible to post from my phone.
If the WYSIWYG is indeed Redactor as someone mentioned, isn't there an update available for it that could potentially fix this issue?
How do you disable it? Also, I've tested Redactor's live demo, and it's fine. It seems to be the XenForo plugin specifically, which apparently hasn't been updated in nearly 4 years.
 

linuxares

I'm not a generous god!
Global Moderator
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
9,835
Trophies
1
XP
11,971
Country
Sweden
Same here, I think it have to do that "this part" is acting like a password field. I've gotten Lastpass to popup on it.

EDIT: I also use Chrome Beta to add. I haven't tried Firefox or Chrome on it
 
Last edited by linuxares,
  • Like
Reactions: Joom

Joom

 ❤❤❤
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2016
Messages
6,023
Trophies
1
Location
US
Website
mogbox.net
XP
5,923
Country
United States
Same here, I think it have to do that "this part" is acting like a password field. I've gotten Lastpass to popup on it.
It definitely has something to do with auto-completion, punctuation, and spacing (with SwiftKey specifically since it auto-completes after these).
 
Last edited by Joom,
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: https://www.cnn.com/2022/09/27/business/mcdonalds-adults-happy-meal/index.html