SWF files as avatars

Discussion in 'Site Discussions & Suggestions' started by The Teej, Mar 26, 2005.

Mar 26, 2005

SWF files as avatars by The Teej at 6:06 PM (1,523 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. The Teej
    OP

    Former Staff The Teej Also known as The Tjalian

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,210
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why aren't we allowed SWF Files as avatars anymore? I quite enjoyed having the ability to have mini games in avatars, or higher quality animated and even on animated avatars.

    So what's the deal? My new avatar, The Pink Jelly Dude looks better in SWF form...
     
  2. deduce

    Member deduce GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    341
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Country:
    United States
    I think you can't have swf avatars anymore is because it's possible for someone to embed a virus in a flash file.
     
  3. The Teej
    OP

    Former Staff The Teej Also known as The Tjalian

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,210
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Seriously?

    That's f**king retarded.
     
  4. pitman

    Member pitman Addicted to Magical Girls

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,080
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Where rockets don't fall.
    Country:
    Israel
    Little of topic: how can i save a flash game\movie from a site like newgrounds ?
     
  5. The Teej
    OP

    Former Staff The Teej Also known as The Tjalian

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,210
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    FlashSave, or SaveFlash, google it.

    Its a trial period, though.

    Now back on topic.
     
  6. deduce

    Member deduce GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    341
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Country:
    United States
    Nevermind, I thought flash files were not allowed at all but they are allowed in sigs. I remember a forum I use to visit had a problem when someone put a virus in their flash sig so the forum banned the use of flash.

    This post that gives a brief explantion to why you can't have a flash file as an avatar.
     
  7. Mr.Curlynose1

    Member Mr.Curlynose1 HI ASL PLS

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,568
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Country:
    United States
    You don't need a program to save flash, you just look into the source and search for .swf. You get the link to that and put it into the address bar and then you press file -> save as.
     
  8. alexp2_ad

    Member alexp2_ad Certified Smart Ass

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    829
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    We cant anymore??? Dammit... is pong gone from mine then...?

    No... it's still there... I take it we just arent allowed to set them anymore... but old ones have stayed? Please leave my pong... no viruses! [​IMG]
     
  9. lutomes

    Member lutomes GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    306
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Maybe its too early in the morning for me to "interpret" what you said. But this forum had a problem when someone put a virus in their flash sig. I remember becuse I was online (and got hit by it) when it happened, I used another linux computer without flash installed to come online, work out who had the flash sig. Then contact a forum mod who was on IRC to come and fix the problem without viewing the sig becuase on of the other forum mods that was online at the time got infected too and couldnt do anything.
     
  10. deduce

    Member deduce GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    341
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Country:
    United States
    I thought it may have been another forum I visited, but I guess this was the forum that was hit with a virus. All I remember I was that I was lucky because I didn't have flash installed at the time.

    EDIT: Great avatar alexp2_ad. I have lost my pong skills; that game is seriously kicking my ass. I've had to modify my goal from beating the AI to just scoring one goal on the AI. [​IMG]

    EDIT2: I finally scored a point. I can continue on with my life now. [​IMG]
     
  11. remisser

    Member remisser GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    237
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    twitter.com/tipsforguys
    Country:
    United States
    I thought the issue was with avatars that used audio at the startup. Like... people were putting the "YOU ARE AN IDIOT HA HA HA HA" audio loop as an avatar... who wants to hear audio when they start up a thread? Ones like mine and alex's... you need to click something for any audio.
     
  12. IxthusTiger

    Member IxthusTiger Cruddy's Buddy

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,610
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    awwwww I should have kept my Tetris Ava! Now i can't put it on anymore?
     
  13. Tempest Stormwin

    Former Staff Tempest Stormwin Kweisatz Haderach

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    5,834
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    On temporary hiatus.
    Country:
    Canada
    You can, actually, as long as three conditions are met.

    1) Filesize. SWF or not, it still has to be under 15k.
    2) Startup. No autoplay on startup. (I had a problem once when people were using the Numa Numa dance as an avatar. My god, was that ever annoying.)
    3) Clean. No viruses or other malicious software embedded.

    If you conform to those three, go ahead. They shouldn't be too hard, eh?

    (I should have been clearer before -- my clock reads those posts as after midnight. I can see why they were troublesome.)

    -Tempest out.-
     
  14. The Teej
    OP

    Former Staff The Teej Also known as The Tjalian

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,210
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well I've got 1 and 3 checked, Condition 2 is a pain in the ass. My Flash is being really annoying, I can't seem to create Stop and Play Buttons.

    Any advice?
     
  15. Kyoji

    Member Kyoji ウッーウッーウマ

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5,474
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    :'(
    Country:
    United States
    I uh..think hes referring to flash files with audio.
    If thats your case and you still need help, pm me and i'll help you out.
     
  16. The Teej
    OP

    Former Staff The Teej Also known as The Tjalian

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,210
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    With sound only? Oh, mine doesn't have that.

    Well I guess I've had all of them checked, yet it wouldn't let me have them...


    lemme try again
     
  17. dice

    Former Staff dice pansy-ass ex-staff member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    9,541
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You should add them to the forum rules, there's no point posting and enforcing it here when it's it's not there. Everyone'll just say that they didn't know.
     
  18. The Teej
    OP

    Former Staff The Teej Also known as The Tjalian

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,210
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    But guys, I can't actually add an swf file, its not in the list of accepted formats.

    That's the main problem...
     

Share This Page

Loading...