Swap magic

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by CJL18, Mar 21, 2007.

Mar 21, 2007

Swap magic by CJL18 at 9:05 PM (1,386 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. CJL18
    OP

    Member CJL18 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    866
    Country:
    United States
    was wondering should i get one... are they good...do they work wtih all games, and which verion should i get 3.6 or 3.8, and finally is allmodchip a good store to buy from, becuaes i'm thinking about ordering this http://allmodchip.com/product.php?productid=16181
     
  2. pristinemog

    Member pristinemog GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    381
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Country:
    United States
    I use Swap Magic for my PS2 needs and it works great. Note, however, that DVD9 games will NOT work with it. The games need to be rebuilt using a ripkit or in some cases, can be downloaded pre-fixed. You'll also need a swap method to switch your boot disc out and replace it with the burned game without the PS2 recognizing that they drive was ejected (old PS2) or the lid opened (slim PS2).

    Edit: Also, never ordered from that site, so I can't say how their service is. What kind of PS2 do you have?

    Edit number two: Just noticed the order is bundled with the corresponding tool depending on your version of PS2. In that case, GO FOR IT!

    Third and final edit: I'm pretty sure (not entirely) that v3.8 is the same as 3.6 but includes a built in Action Replay Max for using codes. I noticed the 3.6 is a few bucks cheaper so if you're not a cheater you can go ahead and grab that version.
     
  3. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Some people have said the 3.8 Coder has less compatibilty, but I have one and there isn't any game so far (outside of DVD9 games) that won't work.
     
  4. pristinemog

    Member pristinemog GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    381
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Country:
    United States
    I've got a 3.6 myself. As an aside, how is the integrity of your disc? After a few months (I've had my disc for about a year and a half) the middle of the disc is starting to crack and split. It still boots fine, but it makes me angry that every time I take care of something, it starts to break.
     
  5. shaffaaf27

    Member shaffaaf27 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    310
    Location:
    london, england
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i got the exact same problem. an di have had mine for a year and a half.
     
  6. Gifted1

    Member Gifted1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    488
    Country:
    United States
    I was gonna post a thread about something with swapmagic but i will just post it here.

    What do I look for when downloading games that are pre-fixed and ready to burn without doing all that extra stuff to the iso first before burning? Are they called pre-fixed?
     
  7. thegame07

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you dont need to do anything to the iso for them to work [​IMG]
     
  8. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    most of the time though, some games are bigger then the swapmagic disc itself and thus will boot but hang on a loadscreen [​IMG]

    i remember fifa 07 for example.
     
  9. pristinemog

    Member pristinemog GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    381
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I coined pre-fixed for the sake of having a word. Usually descriptions and such should be available and you'll know because only DVD9 dual layer games need to be rebuilt for a single layer disc that'll work with Swap Magic. Any single layer game will just work without needing to be rebuilt except for those ones that lenselijer mentioned that have a bigger TOC than the Swap Magic disc itself.
     
  10. Gifted1

    Member Gifted1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    488
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I meant those games that have bigger TOC. I ask because I just recieved my swapmagic and I downloaded Ratchet And Clank 3 just so I can try out the SwapMagic when I got it. Apparently this is one of the games with a larger TOC and from my understanding, I have to make a dummy file and unpack the ISO and put the dummy file in it and all this other stuff. So I want to avoid downloading these kind of games because I hate to go through the trouble of doing all that stuff. So when downloading games, how do I know which ones to avoid? Is there a list of games somewhere were I can see which ones have a larger TOC and which ones I can just burn and play?
     
  11. Gifted1

    Member Gifted1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    488
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a list of games somewhere were I can see which ones have a larger TOC and which ones I can just burn and play?
     
  12. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    PS2 TOC List

    Its no where near complete, but its a good indicator.
    If you have a problem with a game and you think the TOC is too large you might be able to rebuild the disc.
    I did this with 24: The Game, it went from roughly 6GB to roughly 3GB. I didn't need to downsample anything.
     
  13. Gifted1

    Member Gifted1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    488
    Country:
    United States
    double post
     
  14. Gifted1

    Member Gifted1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    488
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you.

    Also do you have a tutorial on how to rebuild a disc?
     

Share This Page