Swap Magic Problem

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by wohoo, Sep 27, 2007.

Sep 27, 2007

Swap Magic Problem by wohoo at 6:38 PM (2,459 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. wohoo
    OP

    Member wohoo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    490
    Location:
    Uppsala
    Country:
    Sweden
    Here's the deal, I'gotten myself a PS2 and Swap Magic 3.6 plus and a flip top case (the website told me it was 3.8 coder but whatever) The first time i tried it I booted up and got the menu booted but I never say any screen that shuld say "SWAP" (DVD version) and then i saw two plastic parts in a tiny plastic bag. So I took appart my PS2 to put the peaces in it. But then the stupid flip top case is almost impossible to fit the PS2, took out the plastics again, too try some more without them.

    And now when I try to boot the Swap Magic discs, both the CD and DVD, noone is working, I see the Playstation logo, and then the screen turn black. A few seconds after that, the disk stops spinning... Anyone have a clue of what it might be?

    Edit: Might help to say that i just tried out Guitar hero: Rock the 80s and it works like a charm

    Second Edit: On my friend's PS2, the DVD disc is giving me a DRE while the CD one is booting on the same way as on my PS2
     
  2. thieves like us

    Member thieves like us chaos personified

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,057
    Location:
    left of the pond
    Country:
    United States
    ok, here's how the swap magic disc(s) work:
    you boot with either one (cd / dvd) depending on the media that your import/back-up is. a swap magic splash screen will appear, and then a menu screen prompting you for the method of loading (normal, special, etc...)

    note: if you don't get this far, then your swap magic discs may be defective.


    at this point, the swap magic disc will have stopped spinning, and you can swap it out with your import original/back-up.
    if you have a newer, slimline ps2, the easiest method is to replace the lid with the dual lid design version (where you open the inner lid and perform the swap). otherwise, you will need to use the pieces of plastic to cover the 2 internal sensors that the ps2 uses to detect when the lid is opened.

    if your disc spins up after you've swapped and closed the lid prior to pressing a button on the controller then you haven't installed the plastic bits correctly.

    check the install guides on the sites selling the kits for proper installation (I have the flip top lid on mine, so I've never had to bother with this).

    hope this helps you out.
     
  3. wohoo
    OP

    Member wohoo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    490
    Location:
    Uppsala
    Country:
    Sweden
    "note: if you don't get this far, then your swap magic discs may be defective."

    Oh.. I was afraid of that.. Damn! so the discs have stopped working? I mean, i got to the splash screen yesterday but not further... and next time i tried it (on another TV because the first one stopped working just like the Swap magic Discs)... Spookey [​IMG]
     
  4. Disizdream

    Newcomer Disizdream Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    France
    Easy way to know if you put plastic bits correctly :

    -Launch an original game
    -Open the lid
    -If the disc is still spinning and you can still play then you put the plastic bits correctly .
     
  5. wohoo
    OP

    Member wohoo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    490
    Location:
    Uppsala
    Country:
    Sweden
    So you need to have those plastic parts in? because i just tried Guitar hero: Rock the 80s and it works like a charm
     
  6. Disizdream

    Newcomer Disizdream Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    France
    yes you need the plastic parts to block the lid detector, your PS2 mustn't know that you swapped disc.
     
  7. wohoo
    OP

    Member wohoo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    490
    Location:
    Uppsala
    Country:
    Sweden
    Ok, but when I have the plastic piece under the power/eject buttons (Picture) in the PS2, I can't close the damn thing for some reason, it feels like something is blocking a millimeter or two. It's just enough to give me problems

    Edit: I didn't have any of the parts when I at least got into the menu the first time [​IMG] but i suppose they are required in the swapping process?

    Second edit: Tried to use the plastic parts a minute ago, it was possible to acctually close the case with massive amount of force and then one of the screws held it on place with just a bit (1/2 to 1 millimeter or so) of "sticking out"
     
  8. wohoo
    OP

    Member wohoo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    490
    Location:
    Uppsala
    Country:
    Sweden
    Sending my discs back to the shop after having tried them on another PS2, you can close the thred if you want to.

    Oh, and sorry to double post.
     

Share This Page