Swap Magic Assistance

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by Venko, May 28, 2008.

May 28, 2008

Swap Magic Assistance by Venko at 7:15 PM (1,989 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. Venko
    OP

    Member Venko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've been looking around lately and come to the conclusion that a HDD loader for a phat PS2 is not a viable option as it requires a network adapter which is no longer produced. As such I figure the next best thing is loading burned games and accepting that it'll eventually wear my PS2's laser out.

    It seems the only option for this without using a modchip is using a Swap Magic disc. For this I'll require a PAL swap magic 3.6 disc (latest version?) disc and a Slide Tool. What are the best places to be these online in the UK?

    Oh, and does Swap Magic support PS1 games? I've been unable to find a definitive answer on the matter.

    Thanks to anyone who can help [​IMG]

    [edit] See my latest post for current information. Decided to use a HDD instead and need help with loading from it.
     
  2. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,663
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Yes, you'll need these things. Be careful with the Slide Tool as it's pretty fragile [​IMG]

    And no, the Swap Magic doesn't support PS1 games... Only PS2 ones. To use PS1 games you'll need another swap disc (IIRC, GameBreaker, or something like that) [​IMG]
     
  3. Venko
    OP

    Member Venko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is this what I want?

    I found the Swap Magic 3.6 here with a Slide Card for €17.95.

    No, I don't speak Dutch but I don't want to buy the stuff from an untrustworthy site either and that's the only site listed in the Wii section that's trustworthy in Europe which seems to sell Swap Magic discs. If someone in the UK knows of a better service they've used it would be much appreciated. Otherwise I think I'm going to try my hand at speaking a little Dutch.

    [edit] I feel a complete fool... they have an English option for their site.

    Breaker Pro: http://www.futuravideogames.co.uk/e-tienda...h6ij615ef283ek0
    Swap Magic 3.6 + Slide Tool: http://www.futuravideogames.co.uk/e-tienda...h6ij615ef283ek0

    I'm guessing the breaker pro is what you suggested I need but it's out of stock and I have a feeling it may have been that way for a long time.
     
  4. Bloodgod

    Member Bloodgod 嵐の王

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    just figure out how to do the PSX exploit and run Free MC on it. That way you don't have to pay for a swap magic when you can just use cogswap.
     
  5. Venko
    OP

    Member Venko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It seems I need a copy of Swap Magic to install Free MC in the first place though. What's more is I only have one 8 MB memory card - I need an additional 64 MB one, right?

    The folks in #GBAtemp suggested that it's a better idea to use the HDD option as my laser is likely to die. So I'm trying to buy a network adapter on EBay (I hate bidding, wish I could just but one) and then after that I'll need to buy a Maxtor HDD (anyone have any idea which one I need to buy?)

    Lastly I need some way to boot the games off of the HDD and that's when I need something like a HD Loader disc or Memor32, yeah?
     
  6. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just get one of those memory card modchip thingys, if you had a slim ps2 it would have been much easier to use the swap magic.
     
  7. Venko
    OP

    Member Venko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    But I hear that the Slim PS2s have naff lasers so although it would have been easier it wouldn't have lasted very long. The Memor32 is 50 Euros - that's a lot of cash to spend out on top of the Maxtor HDD I'm going to have to buy and the network adapter.
     
  8. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    nope, i've had my slim ps2 since 2004, still going strong, you will find that it's actually the fat ps2's that have weaker lasers, if you look up disc read errors on google most of the cases will be on fat ps2s.

    as for the memory card thing i think that would be your only option if you want something easy to use, it ain't going to get any easier than that.

    unless you get your ps2 modded professionally, that would be your other option, only problem with that there are less people out there that mod ps2s anymore.
     
  9. Venko
    OP

    Member Venko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can I not just use a Swap Magic disc to boot games off of a HDD once I manage to acquire one along with the network adapter? I would never have to remove the Swap Magic disc if I just used it to boot games from HDD, right? So it should be a decent solution.
     
  10. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i would have thought when you buy the hard drive you get a cd or dvd with it to load the OS so you can boot your games, i've never used one of those hard drives personally.

    the only option i know of in swap magic that it boots is from the memory cards and usb pens, not hard drives?
     
  11. Bloodgod

    Member Bloodgod 嵐の王

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
  12. Fellow

    Member Fellow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    It may not be produced anymore but there are numerous amounts of them up on eBay and Amazon.
     
  13. Venko
    OP

    Member Venko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I now have a network adaptor in the mail and am about to buy this 80GB Maxtor HDD. I checked it on the PS2 HDD list and it seems OK. So now all that remains is a method of booting the HDD games. I hear there's different options including a HD Loader disc and a Memor32 application. What would you guys recommend?
     
  14. Saturnplanet5

    Member Saturnplanet5 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    652
    Country:
    Australia
    Don't waste your time with 80GB get at least 320GB.
     
  15. Venko
    OP

    Member Venko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The software only supports up to 120GB though [​IMG]
     

Share This Page