Gaming Swap DL SSBB with Retail DVD

hasteveha

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 1, 2006
Messages
41
Trophies
0
XP
218
Country
Is it possible or does anyone know a way to bootup with DL Brawl DVD9 and swap it with a Retail DVD of it. I tried with the DL dvd9 with a layer break and it didn't work.
 

FoulPlay

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
458
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
271
Country
United States
...It doesn't work if you swap the discs?
Well.. that sucks balls...
I just made a thread about this a little while ago in the hacking section...

I'm as well buying a freeloader then =[
 

katsuce

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2007
Messages
345
Trophies
0
Location
Here and there
Website
Visit site
XP
76
Country
France
is your dvd9 copy working or not?
because if it is, swapping it with the retail dvd should work without any problem
I could even make a video of that with my retail and backup no more heroes tomorrow
 

hasteveha

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 1, 2006
Messages
41
Trophies
0
XP
218
Country
My dvd 9 works perfect. When the game is booted up in the main menu. I eject it, put in the retail, and it asks to put in the original disc.

Posts merged

I have a wiikey by the way. 1.9g
 

katsuce

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2007
Messages
345
Trophies
0
Location
Here and there
Website
Visit site
XP
76
Country
France
so, tested the swap method with no more heroes (3.1U, backup and retail copies), when I ejected the backup and put the legit disc, it asked me to put the no more heroes disc in the system: failure. ejected the retail and inserted it again, and it worked: winnar. swapped 5 more times, it still worked.
I'll put a video on youtube tonight showing proof.

Guess it'll work with smash too, since the only problem with wiikey is that it can't recognize the legit disc. I got my copy today, will download the iso next monday, and make a video if it works
 

hasteveha

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 1, 2006
Messages
41
Trophies
0
XP
218
Country
I have 3.2u . I have burnt 2 versions of wiizard brawl one with layer break, one without. When I swap it looks like it will work for a few seconds, then it will ask can you insert smash bros brawl disc.I wonder if the name of the burnt version of the dvd is named differently from the retail brawl disc.
 

clazzi

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
5
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
United States
just because NMH works doesn't mean SSBB will...

i also tested it out using a DVD5 backup and swapping with retail. doesn't work. the wiikey won't read the retail one. if i try it again, eventually i get an error message not just the 'please insert original disc'.

i've read on another thread that this does work but the guy who claims it works has not verified it.
 

nirow

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
24
Country
Brazil

clazzi

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
5
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
United States
katsuce said:
Knocks said:
What's the point of swapping for the retail disc if you already have a working DVD9 backup?
I'll be burning the game on a DVD5 instead of DVD9
then I'll swap

DVD9 are too expensive over here to risk a bad burn


tell me if it works for you because it didn't for me.
 

katsuce

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2007
Messages
345
Trophies
0
Location
Here and there
Website
Visit site
XP
76
Country
France
clazzi said:
katsuce said:
Knocks said:
What's the point of swapping for the retail disc if you already have a working DVD9 backup?
I'll be burning the game on a DVD5 instead of DVD9
then I'll swap

DVD9 are too expensive over here to risk a bad burn


tell me if it works for you because it didn't for me.
I'll tell you guys next wednesday/thursday
 

Pici

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2007
Messages
101
Trophies
0
XP
25
Country
France
nirow said:
No its not...
you wont get full ssbb game cause the all the videos have to be replaced with the intro video!

But you get full play, i mean online , multi, sse.
you just have to skip the videos, cause its always the same!

Here's the tutorial on how to do it!

http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=78029


This One will help you as well (trucha signer tutorial)

http://gbatemp.net/index.php?act=ST&f=...=76657&st=0

i have a little problem about this.
i have a dvd5 that i made myself and a dvd 9 that doesn't work
So i can do the swap thing, but the odd thing is that even with the dvd9 I have the intro video only, it is very odd because i can ear the drive loading stuff grom the dvd9 but it is still the same stupid intro video! (i know it by heart know)
 

FoulPlay

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
458
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
271
Country
United States
...I thought the WiiKey, no matter what we did unless it was corrupt, COULD NOT read the Retail copy? And using the DVD9 to boot and swapping to the original doesn't work? :/

Someone with a WiiKey and the Retail SSBB should try this, theres probably hundreds of you on this board alone!
 

katsuce

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2007
Messages
345
Trophies
0
Location
Here and there
Website
Visit site
XP
76
Country
France
the problem isn't that wiikey can't read the original disc. in fact it can read it just fine. it just won't recognize it as a retail disc, and will try to launch it as a burnt copy... from what I've read, that's the real problem
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Adults have earned the nick name lil