Gaming Surround Sound Help

Lanlan

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
So I wanna get a good sound system for my PC. I'm using basic desktop stereo speakers now, but I want more power to the sound. Not saying I want building-rattling bass or anything, I just want a good surround sound system I can plug my PC into and that sounds good and not break the bank. But the thing is, I know next to nothing about this kind of thing. Sure, I can wire something up just fine, but I don't really know any details, or really even what a "sub" is. Anyone wanna give me any tips for looking for sound systems for a PC that is mainly used for music and games? And will I need a sound card? My mobo is this, will it do for a decent system?
Also any EQ tips would be nice, I mainly set my highs to around 60%, mids to really low, and lows to around 70%

Originality

Chibi-neko
Trophies
Website
metalix.deviantart.com
XP
Country
Now, I'm no expert/audiophile in speaker sets, but I do know you don't need surround sound (I.e. 5.1 or 7.1 sets) to get good sound and a powerful bass. 2.1 stereo speakers can do just as well. As far as I know, surround sound only helps with a few audio tricks (directional or environmental effects) and helping to produce a more balanced sound for music. The strength of the sound always comes from te subwoofer... And I typically have to turn that right down or people in my house complain.

Edit: also, you don't need a new sound card. Your motherboard is already equipped for 7.1 surround sound, should you actually want to go for it. I never would - it would be a pain to position all those speakers in my room.

Lanlan

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States